206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Andalusia, Alabama (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.11 miles E
22.87 miles SE
28.77 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Dothan Municipal Airport
1.24 miles NW
Wal-Mart
540 W Bypass
1.36 miles SW
Crystal Orchard (Approx)
10.28 miles N
Frank Jackson State Par
11.03 miles E
Alabama
Andalusia
Most Recently Reviewed
Open Pond Recreation Area
Latest Review Submited On
2013-12-02 02:37:39
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Andalusia, Alabama
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
April 2009
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
Owned by the Alabama/West Florida Conference of the United Methodist Church. Located near MM 8.5 north of the AL/FL line on SR 137, just north of Wing. Pros: Extremely quiet (although during camp events, that might change). Restrooms and showers very clean. Bicycling along camp roads easy, fun. Beautiful swimming pool, bathhouse. Lake canoeing and paddle boats. Sand beach across lake in Conecuh National Forest. Internet available in lobby. Staff extremely friendly. Food service during camp events (fee). Sites grassy to leafy. Cons: Sites nearest the gymnasium have sewer, those opposite do not. Sewer holes, dump station in need of major upgrade. Pine cones everywhere. Some sites would be difficult to negotiate with trailer or big rig due to narrows and trees. Cell phone coverage spotty at best, better out near the highway. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
March 2010
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2010
$27
This is not a destination campground, it is more of a trailer park. Almost all the sites are for long term sites with some folks seeming to live there. The sites are very close to each other and some are quite messy with too much lawn furniture, etc. The people are nice, but its just not a campground, its more of trailer park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$27
This is a nice park for someone looking for a fishing get away. The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful, wonderful people to meet. The park is very cramped, very small lots, but there are a few lots big enough for large RV's. The campground also has a number of long term guest. The showers had what looked like some of the long term campers personal shampoo's and liquid soaps left in them. There is ice available on site, did not try the Wi-Fi so can't comment on that. We found this campground to be quiet even with the large number of guest, and everyone we met were very friendly. The do have a washer and dryer available. We stayed there on a memorial weekend, so the park was packed, out neighbors slide out was only a few feet from our door. Although it was cramped, we did enjoy our stay and would recommend it to someone interested in fishing the lake. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   2   10   7   6   10   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$12
We have camped here several times in a pop-up camper and a Travel Trailer. We recommend fall or winter camping here as there are no water activities to do during the summer. There are walking trails, fishing, and paved roads for bike riding. It is great for families and group camping. There are open areas that accommodate group camping and there are more private areas that can accommodate privacy if desired. No reservations available for camp sites, so on long/holiday weekends be prepared for it to fill up quickly. Fire pits are great! Bathrooms are clean but are not in controlled temperatures. When extremely cold outside, sometimes the top is boarded up to help maintain heat. There are not stores close for those "last minute things" so make sure you have what you need. If you do not, you will have to travel about 15 miles to the closest Wal-Mart. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$12
We camp here once every few years, and it is still a great, clean campground. Water and electric worked fine. Sites spacious, fairly level to level. Trails are extensive and abundant. Excellent bicycling roads. Camp hosts friendly. Cannot beat the price. C-Spire phone service was one or two bars with back and forth 1x/3G service. Stargazing very good, easy to see the Milky Way, and galaxies looked bright in my telescope. Unlike a few years ago, the place has been discovered by residents of Pensacola, Fort Walton/Destin, Panama City, Montgomery, and Dothan, and is a packed weekend getaway. With no reservations available and a first come/serve campsite system, arriving early on Friday may be a must, or you might be dry camping in the A Loop, which would not be that bad in nice weather, and it would only be $6.00. About 70% of all campers left by noon on Sunday morning, causing a camper-jam at the only dump station. As an earlier reviewer noted, law enforcement does come through. An irritating part of this particular outing was people playing radios full blast while U of Alabama and Auburn U were playing football. The volume could have been a bit lower. Another nuisance is a handful of motorcyclists revving their motors for the sake of revving. More unnecessary noise. Nevertheless, the Great Horned Owls ruled the night. We will come again, but may take a weekday or two off to avoid the weekend crowds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$12
This is one of the best maintained camp grounds I have used. Access to each camp site is easy and the sites on the water side are superb. If you are an angler, try the fishing. I understand there is good bass fishing in the pond and the boat ramp is good. There are two small ponds just down the road that have even better fishing. I would have given this campground a much higher rating if not for the way I was treated by the Alabama State Highway Patrol (ASHP) and the USDA Forest Service. The ASHP patrols the campground around 9:30 PM and 8:30 AM and checks each campsite. If there is no clear evidence that someone is physically on your site the first night you stay in the campground, the ASHP will issue you a ticket in the name of the USDA Forest Service. I was out late having dinner with friends in Andalusia on my first night in the campground and left at sunrise to do photography at nearby Blue Lake. When I got back to my campsite, I found a citation attached to my travel trailer. Needless to say, it ruined my day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Open Pond Recreation Area
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
Camp host very friendly. Restrooms and showers very clean. Overall, will go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$21
We have once again stopped here on our way to Florida for the winter. Since the new ownership has taken over a few years ago, the place has really changed for the better. They now have cable and wi-fi and set up a disc golf course and even for us old folks, it was fun to play. A nice way to get a little exercise and have a little fun. Camp host was most helpful and helped us back in to our site, as we arrived after dark. They also have pull-through sites available, we wanted a waterside site. We will definitely drop by again on our way back north and will stay a little longer also. Fishing should be better in March. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
This was a great little park. The parking sites are as wide as any park I have ever been in, with plenty of nice grass for you and your pets. Out site was level and free of trees that might interfere with a satellite antenna. I let the manager know I had a satellite dish so he made sure to give us a suitable parking area. All of the interior roads and parking areas are paved asphalt. It was a very quiet and clean place to relax for a night or a week or so. The manager is very friendly and helpful. The only problem we had was following the GPS directions. They wanted to take us down a road with a 2 ton limit bridge. IF your GPS tries to take you using any road other than county road 59, you may have to turn around and go regroup. Click on the map on this review and you can find your way there. We will stay at this park again and would be willing to drive out of our way to stay here again. It truly is a jewel. I would have rated it higher, but it does not have sewer for a full hook up. There is a dump station as you exit the park. Our cost includes the Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for The Sweet Home Alabama Campground & RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com