206876 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Dauphin Island, Alabama (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.69 miles NW
23.16 miles NE
23.91 miles N
24.72 miles E
27.28 miles NE
28.19 miles NW
28.98 miles NE
29.30 miles NE
32.68 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Dauphin Isle Cg Rec
3.32 miles E
Fort Morgan
6.55 miles SE
Alabama Port
7.58 miles N
Bellingrath Gardens And
13.21 miles N
Alabama
Dauphin Island
Most Recently Reviewed
Dauphin Island Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-04 14:14:07
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Dauphin Island, Alabama
Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   4   7   8   7   4   8   9   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
This park is conveniently located to so many things - Fort Gaines, the Estuarium, the paved walk/bike path, beach access, the Audubon Bird Sanctuary trails and the Mobile Bay ferry to Fort Morgan/Gulf Shores are all within walking distance. It is a birder's paradise, especially during the spring and fall seasons. There is an excellent seafood store on the island, but larger grocery stores are at least 20 minutes away. The park itself is nothing special, narrow paved interior roads lead through mostly well-trimmed trees to sandy/dirt sites that are fairly level with decent spacing between them. Be aware that sites along the main road are exposed not only to vehicle traffic noise, but also a lot of racket as the ferry docks and loads several times every day. This is not an issue farther into the park. We were assigned site #41, which was "borderline noisy". The 50-amp power and water were strong, and most sites include sewer and a sturdy table on a concrete patio. Only a few sites have fire pits. Our amplified MiFi Internet worked well here, but our Verizon phones were very weak and we had to walk to the park's "hotspot" for reliable service. The laundry "room" was outdoors, with 4 washers and 4 dryers - only 2 of the washers provided hot water. The bathrooms and showers were very old, but cleaned daily. There are only 2 RV parks on Dauphin Island, and we've stayed at both. We prefer this one for its convenient location to everything; if your goal is to spend maximum time at the public beach you may want to investigate the other park. The city recently imposed an 11% "lodging fee" on the parks here, which brought our weekly rate above $40/day. A bit steep for this park, but what can you do? We love Dauphin Island and will stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$44
To say the sites were uneven would be an understatement. After squeezing between 4 trees and overly large roots, we stopped at 5 blocks to level out. But, the island makes the short stay bearable. A must is to take the ferry there from Fort Morgan. It's a fun ride. We also were there for the birding. This is one of the top spots. Sadly, the birds are late in migrating this year, but it was a great walk and 1 new bird to our list. We would have rated higher, but they had a live country band that played way past our bedtime. Check other spots first. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2014
$49
Okay park but haphazard. Cable TV lines run across the roads and have been taped to the road by long term residents that make up the biggest part of guest list. We had no cable available to us. WiFi is available only in the community building. Sites aren't well maintained but the low monthly rate may make it a good option for some. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Dauphin Island Campground
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   10   4   8   2   10   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$46
Don't let the pictures fool you. This "RV Park" has 12 sites crammed into less than 1 acre. Space between sites may not allow awnings. The hosts are friendly and the beach across the street is wonderful. But, in all honesty, this place should be your choice only if you have no other options. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Very small mom pop park. Level and utilities including Wifi were okay. Beach is across the two lane city street (about 1,000' to water). Would stay here again. There is a restaurant next door that had live music on Friday night that was a little too loud. Depends what you like. Nice laid back small parking lot campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This is a different kind of camping experience, but one we prefer. The small campground is quiet and clean with no bells and whistles, but everything we needed. The older couple that owns the place are native to the island and have lots of interesting stories to share about its history and the affects of hurricanes, one being a positive as the beach is growing tremendously. The two bathroom/shower combinations were very clean. The laundry area is convenient. Level concrete pads. We were at the first site near the road which was easy to get into and convenient. Wi-Fi was good. Cable TV. Full hookups. All this was good. However, the big attraction is the beauty of the island and beach just across a street with little traffic. We loved the beach, almost like having a private island. Our 3 small dogs had a blast running and romping with only a few people at a distance. We stopped in for a night, but hung out longer. I can't figure the previous bad review. It is not a resort area, rather a place to relax away from the hustle bustle. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Pelican Nest RV Resort and Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com