214832 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Dauphin Island, Alabama (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.69 miles NW
23.16 miles NE
23.91 miles N
24.72 miles E
27.28 miles NE
28.19 miles NW
28.98 miles NE
29.30 miles NE
32.68 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Dauphin Isle Cg Rec
3.32 miles E
Fort Morgan
6.55 miles SE
Alabama Port
7.58 miles N
Bellingrath Gardens And
13.21 miles N
Alabama
Dauphin Island
Most Recently Reviewed
Dauphin Island Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-25 22:16:49
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Dauphin Island, Alabama
Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   9   7   8   4   7   8   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$43
Great location, a short walk thru woods to the beach. Sites are shaded, and dirt and are very close together. They are fine if its dry but if it rains our site flooded and were walking thru 4 inches of water during tear down. The rest rooms and showers are in need of a remodel and were often dirty. They advertise Wi-fi but is only available at the shelter house. Would consider staying here again but only for the beach. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$47
This is definitely a campground. I wouldn't stay longer than a few days...just enough time to visit the Estuarium, Fort and beaches. This island is definitely a bird lovers paradise and the campground is well situated for that. The sites are very uneven and heavily rooted. The wifi was down when we got there and remained down all week and the management didn't seem to care. The laundry is outdoors and was dirty and rusted. After the rain our sites and our neighbour's were filled with water - we were ankle deep at one point. Great area for family camping and birders but I would stay in Gulf Shores and take the ferry for a day trip. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$39
We loved this campground. It is older and has lots of enormous live oak trees with accompanying roots. However, the utilities all worked, and a beautiful beach is just a very short walk away. The campground adjoins the Audubon Bird Sanctuary and is a short walk from the Estuarium and Fort Gaines. Most of the island has wide, paved bike paths. A great seafood store, a general store and several restaurants are a short bike ride away. We were here during the transition between the snowbirds and the vacationers. The snowbirds come back year after year, they like it so much. We had intended to stay 4 days, and stayed 11. You get a price break the longer you stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Display older reviews for Dauphin Island Campground
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   10   4   8   2   10   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$46
Don't let the pictures fool you. This "RV Park" has 12 sites crammed into less than 1 acre. Space between sites may not allow awnings. The hosts are friendly and the beach across the street is wonderful. But, in all honesty, this place should be your choice only if you have no other options. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
Very small mom pop park. Level and utilities including Wifi were okay. Beach is across the two lane city street (about 1,000' to water). Would stay here again. There is a restaurant next door that had live music on Friday night that was a little too loud. Depends what you like. Nice laid back small parking lot campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
This is a different kind of camping experience, but one we prefer. The small campground is quiet and clean with no bells and whistles, but everything we needed. The older couple that owns the place are native to the island and have lots of interesting stories to share about its history and the affects of hurricanes, one being a positive as the beach is growing tremendously. The two bathroom/shower combinations were very clean. The laundry area is convenient. Level concrete pads. We were at the first site near the road which was easy to get into and convenient. Wi-Fi was good. Cable TV. Full hookups. All this was good. However, the big attraction is the beauty of the island and beach just across a street with little traffic. We loved the beach, almost like having a private island. Our 3 small dogs had a blast running and romping with only a few people at a distance. We stopped in for a night, but hung out longer. I can't figure the previous bad review. It is not a resort area, rather a place to relax away from the hustle bustle. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Pelican Nest RV Resort and Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com