214403 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Fort Payne, Alabama (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
4.43 miles NE
12.69 miles NE
19.00 miles W
20.07 miles SW
21.02 miles E
23.06 miles NW
25.71 miles SE
27.76 miles NE
31.56 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
I-59 Exit 218
2001 Glenn Blvd Sw
4.00 miles NW
Little River Canyon Nati
5.51 miles SE
Cloudmont Ski And Golf R
8.67 miles NE
Alabama
Fort Payne
Most Recently Reviewed
DeSoto Resort State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-15 20:15:35
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Fort Payne, Alabama
Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   10   10   9   10   9   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
Enjoyed our stay at Desoto. We like the trails and the little river canyon area is always a treat. Its almost like a uncommercialized Gatlinburg. Try the Ice Cream shop on the corner. You can't miss it. Staff at campground was friendly and helpful when needed. Sites were large enough for our 5th wheel. I would have given it a ten but the roads once you turn by the big rock can get a little snaky and the edges need some grade work so the drop offs are not so extreme. Once you get in the campground there is plenty of room. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
We stayed here for a night. The park is located on top of Lookout Mountain. The access involves a steep climb up a state highway and then along a narrow, windy county road with short steep grades. For the longer motor homes (like our 40’), there is a sharp 90 degree “S” as you approach the park which makes it difficult to stay in the lane of travel. There are large rocks on each corner of the “S” curve and a slight down grade so there is no visibility through the corners. Good luck if you’re driving a long RV. Once you reach the office/camp store, there is very little parking for larger RV’s. Then there is yet another climb on a windy paved road to reach the campground. The interior roads and sites are paved. The roads & sites were narrow. The pull through sites were just long enough for our coach with the toad attached. This is another location that doesn’t understand the importance of a level site and that sewer doesn’t flow up hill. The parking sites had a slight slope so we were able to level using our automatic air levelers. They have full hook ups – water, electricity (50 AMP), & sewer connections that were towards the rear of our site. They had an outside table and a fire pit. Part of the park is covered with trees and another portion is open to the sky. The trees encroach on some of the sites. Opening slides was easy in the site without tree encroachment. Some sites offer a view of the southern sky to get satellite reception so be sure to ask for a satellite friendly site at check in. Our Verizon hotspot reception was good. No designated pet area but there was sufficient distance along the park roads to walk dogs. There were no bag dispensers around the park to pick up waste and the only garbage collection point was the dumpster at the entry to the campground. For being in a hazardous/severe weather area, there was no underground storm shelter. The bathhouses were recommended as shelters because they are more “substantial” than camping units. Be sure to ask for senior discount if you qualify. Would not recommend this park for long RV’s. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We agree with the good reviews . Our check in was handled very efficiently We had reservations. We were given a handout with local attractions and a good map of the hikes in the park. We took several nice hikes that started right from the campground. Our site was in the newest area and was a long wide, level, fully paved pull through. The cost included excellent CATV. Many sites like ours could even receive SAT (until the leaves grow back). WiFi was not available. We used our Verizon 4G MiFi. Our site had a raised sewer connection which would have made getting a complete dump difficult. Other sites had lower sewer connections. We could not find where to recycle our aluminum cans. The State Park is located up a 1-2 mile hill and is away from road noise. The eight mile drive from I-40 was well worth it. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for DeSoto Resort State Park
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   9   10   9   10   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$13
Rate is the Passport Rate which I was given even though it was a Saturday and Sunday stay. Mainly self service. Owner was very accommodating. Not a good place for a large rig. The park is very hilly and terraced. I stayed in site #4 which was fairly level and I was able to get a satellite signal with a portable dish. It is about 7 miles off the interstate on a 2 lane road on the top of Lookout Mountain. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
This park is only 3-4 years old and has recently expanded. Our pull-through site easily accommodated our 40' big rig with towed Jeep, and entrance/exit access was very easy. Exceptionally friendly owners/managers, but they work in town and are only available by cell phone during the day. The only negative was the distance from the freeway (about 7 miles, up a very windy road) although the road was in good condition and accommodated 18-wheelers. Counterbalancing the drive up was the nearby Desoto State Park with gorgeous waterfalls, hiking trails and scenic drive. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
I would not call this park big rig friendly. A 40 foot motorhome would have difficulty passing another regular vehicle on the narrow road into the park and negotiating roads in the park. Gravel sites are HILLY and getting level could be a problem on some sites. Roads curve in and around the park. You definitely would not want to tow your car into the campground. It's a pretty park but really more suitable for smaller RV's. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Little River RV Park & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   7   6   8   8   7   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$17
Good for overnight stop. Gravel pads and pull through. WiFi fair and Verizon good. Would stop again for overnight stop. No road noise. Rate was Passport rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
Basic place to overnight. Sites very close together. No shade. Looks like lots of long term residents. Wifi had marginal reception in most of park but good speed. Excellent cable tv. Quiet location about 2 miles from I-59. Narrow roads but layout works OK for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$17
As noted before, this is a Passport America rate. Must take 50 amp service which was a few dollars extra per night. Sites are long and gravel. Good water pressure and electricity. Includes cable TV with quite a few channels. Easy access from expressway. Good place to stop for a night or two and we would stop here again and recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Wills Creek RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com