214502 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Mccalla, Alabama (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.40 miles NW
15.57 miles SW
18.56 miles SE
18.74 miles NE
18.99 miles E
19.73 miles E
22.77 miles NE
25.86 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Tannehill Historical Stat
3.82 miles NE
Flying J
I-20 X104
6.69 miles NE
Rest Area On Al I-20 At Mile Marker 84 Verified On 08/04
11.72 miles SW
Bob Sykes Bar-B-Que
14.08 miles NE
Bright Star
14.36 miles NE
Super Wal-Mart
I-59 Exit 108
750 Academy Dr
14.51 miles NE
Rv Repair & Sales 15 2 0
14.83 miles NE
Alabama
Mccalla
Most Recently Reviewed
Tannehill Ironworks Historical State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-05 00:57:01
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Mccalla, Alabama
Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   4   3   4   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
Okay overnight stop for us, though it's a little past its prime. Friendly, helpful owner. Wi-Fi works well (after resetting router), good cable TV. Gravel roads in fairly good repair and our gravel site was "levelable" with a bit of lumber. Some have park model utility set-ups, but ours was standard RV style. Shaded, but pretty noisy. Kind of hard to find. It's behind the Love's truck stop. Apparently, the State has plans for the right-of-way, so the sign is pretty much invisible. Call park for directions. Wouldn't make a point of going back, but okay for a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
Very friendly host. That was the best park of this park. Many rundown permenent sites. We had a long pull through so we did not need to unhook, and we are about 55 feet long. It is tight getting through the park. It's about 1/4 mile off interstate, so a good overnight stop. There is a nice small pool. Cable TV was good. Way overpriced, even with the Good Sam discount. If this were a half price campground, we might consider staying here again, just for an overnight. They are building a Loves truck stop that backs right up to the park. This could add to the already loud noise from the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Ranks up there with one of the worst campgrounds we have stayed in. Mostly permanent residents with lots of junk around their rigs. We used 3 1/2" blocks to get rig level on sides within 2". Power is very low and could not run any appliances with A/C running on 99 deg. day. Water pressure is low. Grass was very high. Picnic tables were rotten and fell apart when I tried to move it. Roads are winding and sharp turns are required to get in and out. Trash was everywhere and we were within 500 feet of interstate and heard traffic noise all night. Sewer connection was pvc pipe mand too high to drain hoses. No Wi-Fi available. Camped here for 1 night and would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for McCalla Campground
Camp Information
Sites
256
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   9   7   7   7   7   7   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  no  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  no  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$23
Nice historic park, however campsites are tight and somewhat un-level. Not every site can except a big rig, many can. When you come into the full hookup area you must dodge trees and kids on bikes. Our site was very wet with leaves everywhere from last fall making it rather sloppy. The electrical system was being upgraded while we were there. Would we stay again, possibly, but will be in no real rush to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
This is a charming, woodsy campground with a museum, grist mill, pioneer farm, and other historical buildings. We were here during the week, and there were plenty of sites available. It appeared as if a few of the locals came in, parked their RVs, and left. I suspect they're coming back for the weekend. This place probably fills up quickly on the weekends. A few of the sites have 50 amp,and all in the loop we were in (#1) have sewer. The 50 amp sites are on the first driveway and have ample space between sites. Some of the sites on the water seemed closer together. The WiFi worked really well. We were unable to get satellite TV due to the trees and used our antenna, so our channel choices were limited. The sites are gravel, but ours wasn't very level. There are hiking/biking trails and lots of places to walk and take the dog. Hard to beat the price for FHU. It includes a 15% senior discount. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$17
We spent a day here to check out the restored ironworks. It's a great place for a restful stop, not too far off the highway and definitely "in the woods". FHU sites are pretty close together along a stream, but we had a 50Amp pull through (no sewer) that was roomy and outstanding. The steel/iron museum was excellent as was the ironworks blast furnace and all the restored buildings. Highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Tannehill Ironworks Historical State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com