223417 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Pelham, Alabama (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
0.96 miles SW
7.35 miles N
11.86 miles NW
12.41 miles SE
18.40 miles SW
19.73 miles SW
23.52 miles NW
23.65 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
I-65 Exit 246
2181 Pelham Pky
1.76 miles NE
Oak Mountain State Park
2.91 miles NE
Wal-Mart
3500 Pelham Pky
3.22 miles S
Sams Club?I-459:13 3053 John Hawkins Pky (Located To Block)
4.10 miles N
Meadow Lark Restaurant
4.16 miles SW
Grady'S American Grill
4.21 miles N
Winston'S - Birmingham
4.37 miles N
Wal-Mart
1855 Montgomery Hwy
4.73 miles N
Riverchase Galleria Shop
5.27 miles N
Formosa Chinese Restauran
5.31 miles N
Super Wal-Mart
I-65 Exit 255
209 Lakeshore Pky
9.07 miles N
Sams Club 201 Lakeshore Pky (Located To Block)
9.07 miles N
Salvatore'S Italian Res
9.46 miles N
Connie Kanakis' Cafe
9.60 miles NE
Golden City Chinese Rest
9.70 miles NE
Wal-Mart
5291 Hwy 280 S
9.74 miles NE
Bessemer Civic Center
10.04 miles NW
Samford University
10.23 miles N
Super Wal-Mart
I-59 Exit 108
750 Academy Dr
10.36 miles NW
Bright Star
10.38 miles NW
Bob Sykes Bar-B-Que
10.87 miles NW
Birmingham Zoo
11.79 miles N
Southeastern Bible Colleg
11.84 miles N
Wal-Mart
7100 Aaron Aronov Rd
12.13 miles NW
Arman's
12.42 miles N
Burton Campers, Inc
12.51 miles SE
Cobb Lane
12.56 miles N
Super Wal-Mart
5100 Hwy 31
12.79 miles SE
Arlington Antebellum Home
12.93 miles N
Alabama State Fairground
13.18 miles NW
University Of Alabama At
13.21 miles N
Michael'S Sirloin Room
13.33 miles N
Legion Field
13.55 miles N
Bombay Cafe
13.55 miles N
Bogue'S Restaurant
13.57 miles N
Romeo's
13.70 miles N
Birmingham Civil Rights
13.81 miles N
La Paree
13.98 miles N
Miles College
14.02 miles NW
Birmingham-Southern Coll
14.05 miles NW
Boutwell Municipal Audito
14.18 miles N
Birmingham Museum Of Art
14.22 miles N
Christian'S Classic Cui
14.48 miles N
Birmingham-Jefferson Conv
14.74 miles N
Rv Repair & Sales 15 2 0
15.56 miles NW
Alabama
Pelham
Most Recently Reviewed
Oak Mountain State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-16 20:22:46
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Pelham, Alabama
Camp Information
Sites
114
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   7   6   8   4   6   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
Listen, it's not a bad place. Just not a great place. It needs some serious repaving and the spaces are tight for a big rig to get into (but I did it!) because one side is flanked by random concrete (broken up) and the other by railroad ties that encompass the hookups. The power was steady, and we can pull some amps, but the Wi-Fi was like most and slooooow. We didn't use the bathrooms. Nice staff, delivered a package for us after hours. We will likely stay again, but I'm gonna gripe about being too expensive for what it is. If they paved the place and removed the barriers to getting into a site it would easily be worth the $42. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$21
This is our 5th time at this former KOA park. It honors the Good Sam discount now. Our 1st time was in June 2011 and it has gotten better on each visit. We have stayed in 7 different sites. On this visit we were in a long term back-in site and the rate reflects their monthly charge (30 days) for a 50 amp site. It was $627, and that includes a state tax of $75. The asphalt site was in fair shape and almost level. The surfaces of the sites we have stayed in have been fair to good. Some are gravel, some are asphalt, some have concrete walks, but it has been a while since the sites have been worked on. A lot of the concrete is broken and a lot of the asphalt sites need resurfacing. There are a few sites that look unusable. Water and electric and sewer has always worked fine. There has been a lot of asphalt patching and the roads are much better. The Wi-Fi has recently improved too. We have always been able to get a good shot with our DirecTV portable dish. Verizon 4G works fairly well too. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. When we pulled in we had a problem with the site next to us and as soon as we brought it to the attention of the office, they took care of it. There are some negatives. Propane sales stopped being available while we were there. They have a large tank and we have purchased propane many times. Management told us there was a leak, it was shut down and that it would be at least 2 weeks before it was repaired. The only dog "run" is a quite small fenced area on the extreme north side. It would be nice if there was another one on the south side. The park cable is very bad. There are signs up acknowledging that and stating that it will be upgraded soon. Long term residents told us that the signs had been up since April. We will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Nice, clean restrooms. Laundry and all facilities were nice and clean. Pool was very nice. Roads need paving. Some lots not level. Cable not to working in some areas. Internet sketchy. Some long term campers in the back but they were friendly, well kept and nicely decorated. Not a problem there. They should invest some money in the roads and parking. Other than that, I would definitely recommend the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Birmingham South Campground
Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   8   8   10   7   3   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$28
This park is a great place to visit! So many activities to enjoy here such as horseback riding, fishing, canoeing, hiking, a waterfall, etc. There is no weekly rate, only monthly during their off-season. The daily rate increases over the weekend, $28 is the average we're paying for water/elec only. Sewer is $3 extra, but there is a dump station if you don't need FHU. Electric is 30 amp. There are many volunteers who live here and they keep the place immaculately clean, and have been very friendly and helpful (had a couple of issues happen in our RV). Every site has a picnic table and metal firepit with grill cover, sites are pretty level and most are paved. There is lots of shade parking and plenty of bath houses so no one is walking too far to use one. Only 2 of the houses on the B campground has coin-operated laundry, this is the only area I noticed that doesn't get cleaned often. The layout of the campsites allow you to feel more private - not too cramped. We parked in B19 which is at the very end of the row, with a short walk to the bath house w/ laundry and the lake. We can actually see the water through the trees from this spot. For those with Verizon, I can't seem to get service anywhere in the park except for the campground - I get 2-3 signal bars and actually get LTE data here! The website says there is wifi but it hasn't been working for months - the only place with working free wifi is the Snack Bar next to the golf course. We love it here so we extended our stay for a few more days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Beautiful park, lots of amenities and very pet friendly with lots of nice dog walking spaces. Super friendly and helpful staff. Clean and well maintained. Get there before dark, as there is five miles of winding road from the park gate to the campground. Road is paved and wide and easy to navigate, but signs are hard to see in the dark. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
The roads into this campground are paved and as are the full-hookup sites in the park. The sites are fairly level. Although you can make reservations through Reserve America, those reservations are only for the tent sites and the electric water sites. If you wish to have full hookup, you need to call the office for reservations. The ranger running the office wasn't sure why they still haven't been able to straighten this out. Additionally, they reserve sites not by number, but by first-come--first-come. You reserve the right for a site, just not a particular site, which doesn't appear to be problematic. There are several bath houses; however, there was only one shower in each house and the bath areas are quite aged. The laundry facility only has one working washing machine and two dryers, but due to the large nature of this campground, it was impossible for me to get a turn to do the laundry. This park is a great destination campground. There is a golf course, several swimming areas, numerous hiking and biking paths, fishing, a petting zoo, horse back riding, cabins, and a wildlife rehabilitation area open for visits. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Oak Mountain State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com