223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Homer, Alaska (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
11.64 miles NW
23.16 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Homer Airport
1.47 miles SW
Alaska
Homer
Most Recently Reviewed
Heritage RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-05 12:26:29
10 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Homer, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
7
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   2   3   8   2   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
Came for a week stayed for 2. Great location very friendly staff and very helpful. Moose walked right thru our campsite! Just a real friendly place, I will stay here every time while in Homer. Its not a giant park but great level spots. You can buy any kind of fish or King Crab here too. And very Quiet too. The restrooms are the cleanest I've seen. Do yourself a favor, stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
We enjoyed our stay here, it's a better location than down on the spit as it's sheltered from the prevailing wind. The sites are good sized. We had no problem with the box for cable TV. It is behind the fish processing and Fisherman's Lodge but we were at the farthest site and were not bothered by any noise or smell. The one bathroom is unisex and also used by the employees of the fish processing. We were in a self contained rig so had no reason to use the bathroom. The manager and staff were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$45
Firstly we could not find this park as the sign advertises their main business which is fish processing, with the RV park in smaller letters that are hard to read. The processing operates from very early to very late with the generator running noisily most of the time. The smell of fish is strong and the sites are small and just gravel. We would not stay there again. There are much better parks around the town. it definitely was not good value for the dollars. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for A Fisherman's Resort
Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   7   9   6   6   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
This campground provided for us the best view of any campground we have ever stayed at. It is located on a cliff outside of Homer and overlooks Katchamek Bay. We had a back in site on the lower level and had spectacular views out our window. Did not use the bathhouse or laundry so cannot comment on them. Verizon. cell/mifi worked fine. Check in is at the gas station located in front of the campground. They sell huge, inexpensive ice cream cones. Short drive to Homer and the Homer Spit. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
This park had awesome views. The laundry room was clean and in good working order. The showers were clean and in working order. All connections worked. Nice Park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$43
This park is an adjunct to a gas station, but it has marvelous views of the water and (weather permitting) the mountains and the glaciers in two directions. We had a great, level site, with good hookups. Wi-Fi was adequate. If you want to be left to your own, this is the park. All of their attention is on the gas station and deli. But things worked and the trash bins were emptied. We stayed 4 nights while enjoying Homer. It is not on the spit, but a short drive - and quiet. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Baycrest RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$25


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
This park was located right on Homer Spit facing the ocean. You could watch the boats coming and going. Great views. Sites right next to each other but the price was right. Wi-Fi was available and worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
107
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   8   5   7   5   2   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$57
Beautiful views from our site of Kachemak Bay although this is not a "waterfront" site there is nothing between the site and the bay but a road and berm. The campground is tight for a 40' motorhome but it did fit. Staff was very friendly and helpful, WIFI, cable & utilities were good. Convenient to everything in Homer but a bit on the pricey side for the amenities. If you stay here be sure to check out the lounge area next to the office, very nice and "cozy". We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
Small gravel sites, no trees, but right on the water with mountain views. Two blocks from downtown, clean and friendly. Very good Wi-Fi and cable TV. Extremely helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
This RV park is small and is not the best for big rigs; although, they are able to squeeze a couple of larger RV's in. There are a couple of permanent units in the middle of the small lot, and vehicles parked at odd angles, making navigation a bit of a problem. The hook-ups all worked great, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There is a good restaurant just across the street, and a nice coffee shop/bakery just a couple of blocks away. There is a beach access path just across the road. We found this RV park to be much quieter and less windy than the ones we drove by on the spit. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Driftwood Inn & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   8   7   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
Public campground with some seasonals. Great location very near the spit shops and fishing fleet. The fishing hole was mostly unproductive during our one week stay. I do not think it is as good as in years past for some reason. View of fishing hole and area was good. No facilities other than a dirty rest room, fish cleaning station and a dump site. Public campground in Seward is nicer and cleaner with electrical hook-up option--for a fee. After several trips to Homer area, it is not as appealing as in years past--in my opinion. There is a lot to do in Homer and it is a special place not to be missed! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
A nice place to stay if you are only looking for dry camping. We parked right next to the fishing hole and walked to the shops at the harbor. Our neighbor welcomed us into camp with a big plate of delicious beer battered halibut and blackened halibut. Very friendly people at this camp, and a great place to watch the bald eagles. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
This review is for the City of Homer campground. There is a commercial site with this same name at the end of the spit (much more expensive and not any nicer for motorhomes). Level gravel parking lot with tight sites right on Kachemak bay and roomier sites just back a little bit. Spectacular views of mountains and glaciers. Many folks stay here with their boats. Fishing cleaning station and dump station available ($2). Easy walking to tourist activities: fishing, flight seeing, bear viewing, water taxis. Bike/walking trail nearby. Watch for eagles on the lampposts. A bit noisy and a somewhat of an industrial feel. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fishing Hole Campground
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$73



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   10   3   2   3   9   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$73
This is the most expensive campground we have ever stayed at. We wanted to extend our stay in Homer but could not extend where we were. This campground seems to have everything. The sites right along the bay are set up for motorhomes to pull into so the windshield faces the bay. 5th wheels and travel trailers backing into these sites will have the utilities on the wrong side. We elected to take a pull thru site away from the water. Site was gravel, long, and narrow. 50 amp electric was available along with water and sewer, a rarity in Alaska campgrounds. Nice office with store and little cafe. If you are on a site that allows fires, firewood is delivered to your site. Did not use laundry/bathhouse so cannot comment on their condition. Verizon cell and mifi worked adequately. This campground is located right next to the fishing lagoon on Homer Spit. For us, it was a splurge well worth the money. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$0
We found this park to be nice, in an excellent location with a great view of the bay. The sites were nice, we slept well, and the hookups worked. We enjoyed the area walking from the park. We stayed 4 days. We were with a Winnebago caravan and would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
This is one of the few parks to stay at on the Homer spit. We had a site directly on the water and it was beautiful. Your neighbors are a little close, but it's necessary to fit more campers in. We enjoyed the campfires right on the beach. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Heritage RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   3   6   6   6   1   4   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
Pricey park on the spit. When we checked in they said that the "ocean view" row was the second one back from the beach, elevated and cost more. The front row was dry camping and the attendant said that normally the tent campers get those spots. As it ended up the front row was filled with Class C units that created a solid wall of RVs and blocked our ocean view. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$48
Electric hookups only, gravel lots, narrow in width. View of ocean is great, not a beach, but a shale shore with many rocks. Believe it or not this is a good deal price-wise for the area. But after seeing Homer once, we won't be back, really not much there other than a few shops and charter fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
Waterfront sites with views of the mountains across the inlet, and a location near the shops of the Spit are the highlight of this camp. It is a gravel parking lot with relatively narrow sites that are barely level. Our site had neither water nor sewer hookups, but the electricity worked well. WiFi did not work at all. The bathrooms were always nice and clean, though they were old and dingy. Showers cost a dollar, but were unmetered and had plenty of hot water. Laundry facilities were convenient and well maintained. The dump station in a prominent place in the center of the campground was frequently busy this 4th of July weekend, many times with rental RVs whose drivers were not particularly careful about using it hygienically. Price was high for what we got, but everything in Alaska is expensive. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Homer Spit Campground
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   6   7   8   8   9   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
This is a city campground (parking area) right on the Bay out on the Homer Spit. It is the first campground that you come to (on the right) as you enter the Spit. At first glimpse, it is not very appealing as it is a gravel lot on the Bay with somewhat disorganized camping. The spaces are not marked, so you stake out your own space. Often it is tight between spaces, sometimes with wide spacing, depending on how folks park and what space you can stake out. Even though we were not attracted at first, we came to really like this campground. It has views right on the bay with your own beach with lots of activity, such as wind surfing. We think that is the best of the city campgrounds on the spit. There are no hookups of any kind. There are no dumps or fresh water fill, but there are two city dumps within a couple of miles. For $70 per night you can get the same type of view with full hookups at a commercial campground a little further out on the spit. We elected to spend $15 and use our generator. There is some noise from the road, which is close by, but the main sound is of the ocean. Yes, it is pretty much unregulated and you do hear generators at non-generator hours, but that is not really much of an issue. The main feature is the Bay. Our Verizon phone worked well, but the Verizon data plan (MiFi) did not work. It is on the open so our satellite worked well here. Visiting Homer again, we would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
No hookups, no one on site. Payment done at vault box. Area checked for payment during mornings and evening by city park staff. Best camping deal in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$15
This is what you expect for a city campground, no hookups but an inexpensive place to stay. If you get parked facing the ocean it is a great view. Negatives are the road is noisy till after the shops close on the spit and of course the usual inconsiderate campers that you have every where you go. Quiet time is 11pm -7am and some fired up generators at 5am. If noise is not a problem it's a cheap place to stay and you can stay at least 7 days. If you pull out though you will certainly lose your spot, it's like vultures on a kill site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mariner Park
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   5   9   8   10   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
This was a nice park and all the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. It is big rig accessible but tight for rigs 40 ft and over. Wi-fi seemed to work fine when we used it. Usually very late at night and I suspect we were one of few on it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
This park lives up to its name. There is a beautiful view of Kachemak Bay, but not from every site. The sites are tight and the slope is not that steep so from the middle of the park, one RV probably sees only its neighbor. We had Site B6 - on the edge of the bluff with a perfect view. The park advertises 'pull-thru' but only if a rig is not already parked in the site in back. In the 4 days we were in Homer, I saw only 1 big rig be able to pull through to its assigned site. All others backed in. The WiFi was clear and consistently strong (no RV park is very fast). The bathrooms and showers were spotless. The laundry was clean and neat, but expensive ($3) The office people were always helpful and friendly. It is possible to walk directly to the beach from the RV park. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
I have to disagree with the glowing reviews of this park. Everyone that works here is grumpy and does not care. They have guaranteed business. Roads are narrow and steep tough to back in a big rig. The ocean view is not from your inside your rig but rather the roads as the park is laid out for maximum revenue and not to provide views. The cable TV is scrambled digital, this means you need a converter box (they required a $172 security deposit). It also means that if you have 2 TVs you need 2 boxes (and they don't have many boxes). Advertised Internet is spotty and frustrating to try and get something done as it stops working regularly (probably too little bandwidth and too much traffic). The site trash service is actually ugly trash cans at each site, gives the place a "trashy" look. Only 4 washers/dryers for a large park. Some sites have shared water, which means you need a long hose to get to the next site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Oceanview RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
The location is great--walking distance to most Spit businesses, just across from the marina. Hosts were nice and helpful. Basic sites. The store included RV supplies, and free borrowing of DVDs. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This park is on the spit in Homer and is located on the same road that the small boat harbor is on. The sites are long but not wide, will accept a rig of any length but once your slides are out there isn't a lot of room either side. Basically you back in 15 feet off Freight Dock road. This park is basically a place to back in and spend the night. We used it as a base and spent our time away. Not our first choice for a park in Homer, but not bad given the choices available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com