214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Valdez, Alaska (Air Miles)
Nothing Nearby
Alaska
Valdez
Most Recently Reviewed
Bear Paw RV Park II (Adults only)Blueberry Lake State Recreation Site
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-08 02:24:192014-07-12 11:07:57
8 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Valdez, Alaska
Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
July 2006
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2006
$10
Sites are tight, but everyone is friendly, lots of RV's that have been coming for years, canning and smoking salmon. Great place to stay if staying long term in Valdez.. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2005
$10
This campground is right on the water. The only problem was the salmon were running and there were dead fish all over the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   5   10   7   9   6   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
What a pleasant surprise. This a fairly small and well maintained park that is under new ownership. Cleanliness of showers and restrooms are head and shoulders above average. Washers and dryers in good condition and work well. Excellent Wi-Fi and cable TV reception. Owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Awesome views of surrounding mountains. One of the nicer parks we've stayed in during our most recent trip through Canada and Alaska. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Level sites, Wi-Fi and cable worked well. Sites and interior roads are gravel. Culvert at the exit that you must drive over rocks your coach back and forth. Right next to the docks for easy access. Lots of fishing activity with freezers covered in blue tarps next to coaches. Had people camping in cars next to us. Beautiful views. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Super friendly and well run campground. Typical Alaska campground with gravel and close quarters, but everything is managed well and we had a nice stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Bayside RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This is another great park in the Valdez area. It is mostly an open lot but there are areas where it is not so tight or close to your neighbor. The owner tries not to put units next to each other if possible. It is a little outside of town but close enough to still be convenient. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Clean and well maintained with lots of amenities except sewer hookups. We would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$39
This is a brand-new campground, opened Memorial Day 2009. Every campground has to start somewhere, and I think in a few years, this one may have all the kinks worked out and be a spectacular place. The location is great if you want to be far away from Valdez, as it is not within walking distance of anything. It is very close to fishing at Allison Point. It is a gravel parking lot, very few trees, no picnic tables, no fire rings. Lots of huge potholes, sites unlevel, electric service unreliable, and a stagnant pond on the grounds providing an enormous amount of insects. The sites are VERY poorly marked, and are quite narrow, not wide as the website indicates. You will be stacked on top of your neighbor. The bathrooms were rather unconventional, as they are unisex, but they were quite clean. It appears that cable service might be coming in the next few years. The staff were very nice, though, and I think this campground will get great reviews in the coming years when it gets established. I just don't think it was worth $39 a night as it stands right now. It is very weak in comparison to the campgrounds in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   8   9   8   8   8   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Gravel parking lot with a good location and little else. This park is basically a big gravel parking lot, across the street from Valdez's small boat harbor. On the positive side, the big draw is being literally in the middle of downtown, near the museum, the cruise boat docks, and all the activities Valdez has to offer. There are also Bald Eagles flying overhead, and you hear the sound of the sea (and feel the howl of the wind.) The bathrooms were clean and tidy, with six individual bathrooms -- two with a toilet and sink, and four with toilet, sink, and shower. WiFi was problematic at first, but then started working well. No idea what was wrong that first day. On the negative side, the sites are on top of each other, one after the other after the other. I would certainly not call these sites spacious. When we visited, maybe one site in ten was taken, so it wasn't bad, but come the busy season when the park fills, this place will surely be a crowded, claustrophobic, loud experience. Also, I can't imagine the six bathrooms will be adequate with full occupancy. We arrived at about 3pm, and there was no one in the office. There was a sign saying to wait till 8pm to check in. Thus we couldn't get the code for the showers, we couldn't get tokens for the laundry, etc. A minor annoyance… One tip: the "restaurant/lounge" at the Best Western across the street was really good. Sit in the bar area, and look through their big windows at the small boat harbor, while chatting with friendly locals. Good fun! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
Basically a gravel parking lot. Sites are level. They are close, but not too tight. Picnic tables. Laundry. Location is very close to the harbor. Relatively quite location except for the road bikers with kids who came in late and let their kids scream, yell and play very late at night. Some sites allow campfires. Great views when the fog lifts. Easy access to boats and stores for tours. Easy walking distance to ocean. Staff were friendly enough and provided information on things to do in the area. WiFi worked okay, but went down a couple times. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Great location, just across the street from the bay. Good electrical, WiFi, and water. Friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the park in 2009, and it is even better now. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Bear Paw RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   6   9   7   8   9   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Bear Paw II has the cleanest restrooms/showers you will find this side of The Northern Lights in Dawson Creek! Each restroom/shower has its own room with a sink and rugs on the floor with plenty of free hot water. The washers are $1.50 per load and the dryers are $1.50 for 30 minutes. If you pull in you will be looking at either the bay or small boat harbor. Be prepared to pass your hookups under your rig if you pull in as they are set up for left side access. This park is very quiet with friendly staff. The only reasons it does not get a 10 is the price and hookup difficulty. Don't forget to make a trip to Allison Point during high tide to watch the bears! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
A beautiful location right on the inlet from the bay to the marina! Our site overlooked all the boats coming and going from the pier. This park is very well maintained and has TV, even though they have to give you a box and remote to use instead of tapping into your RVs system with your own remote, etc. Good channel selection, wide spaces, and friendly staff made for a wonderful visit. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
This campground arguably has the best location in Valdez, right on the water near the entrance the small-boat harbor. About half the campsites have a water view, the others are back. Compared with other campgrounds in Valdez, there is at least some separation between sites. You have to check in at the “main” Bear Paw campground, but this satellite campground has its own restrooms and laundry. (On a side note, the guide book that we had did not match up with the actual street names. Although not difficult to find, it is a bit confusing when you first get into town.) We were lucky to get a water-view site. You can pull in forward, which we did, but the hookups will be on the wrong side. This first day, the power went out a couple of times, but otherwise the utilities were good. There is cable TV, but make for sure you get the “box” when you check in. It is a bit of a hassle to hookup, but we managed and got lots of stations. The WiFi is good, strong and fast. Our Verizon phone and data worked well. We did not have any problems with the noise from the harbor, but fishermen camp there and start up their diesel trucks very early in the morning. This campground is very close to the municipal pier with big supply barges coming in. Our main problem was with a supply barrage and the associated noise and petroleum smell. On the positive side, this campground is within walking distance of most of the tours and attractions in Valdez. We would have stayed longer, but there was a large caravan coming in, so we only stayed four nights. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Bear Paw RV Park II (Adults only)
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   10   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  question  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$15
This is a beautiful park in the Thompson Pass about 25 miles outside of Valdez. There are only two or three spots that will accommodate 40' but if you can get #7 you are one lucky camper! This spot is right on the lake and there is plenty of room for your towed beside your rig, even with slides extended. If you have to make the loop a second time, the left turn by the restrooms is tight but doable. The good news is the rainbow and grayling fishing is excellent. The bad news is all the good fish are on the opposite side of the lake from the campsites. If you have a small boat or tube be prepared to catch fish until your arm is tired! Would not suggest trying to walk to the other side as there are definitely bears in the locale. Restrooms are very clean but take your own paper! We camped here over the fourth of July and it was still a quiet place! Take the small hiking trail adjacent to spot #9 up to the top of the ridge for a magnificent view. If this place had elec it would be a 10+! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$15
Rated as one of top 3 most scenic CGs in Alaska. Completely surrounded by mountains, glaciers, lake, etc. Large sites with plenty of room. Ran generator which was not heard at adjacent site. Roadways are newly paved and sites are level. Advise early arrival as all sites were filled by 3pm on a weekday. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
We love Blueberry Lake and love to stay there in a tent whenever we travel to Valdez. It is located at the top of the Thompson Pass and very peaceful. You are likely to see bears and its just a beautiful place! Would recommend to anyone! Great for kiddos too! We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Blueberry Lake State Recreation Site
Camp Information
Sites
229
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   8   8   3   10   5   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
A very big gravel park. The sites were adequate size, but many of the campers had boats as well as trucks and RVs, so there was not much maneuvering room. We had a back corner site which protected us on two sides, but on the side in front, someone decided to park a boat trailer; at least it was far enough in front that we could get the toad in and out. The staff was friendly, the hookups were good, the Wi-Fi worked adequately. The showers were clean. It was conveniently located. Everything was pretty good if you like an RV city. We might stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Ok, so this is a big gravel parking lot, but so are most of the other options. The view is simply beautiful. The location is close to Safeway (behind RV Park) and the harbor. This park is ok, if I'd come back, I might try a different park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Not a great park, but an adequate gravel lot by Alaska standards. Close to town, easy access to docks. Great staff. Well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Eagles Rest RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
108
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Nice campground, but I saw things I couldn't believe. For instance people running power cords from tenting areas to electrical hookups. Looked more like locals make up their own rules rather than the rules set up in the campground. Hosts were very helpful. I'd probably stay here again but would more than likely, skip the Valdez area completely. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
We have used this park multiple times. It is secluded and excludes a fire pit and picnic table with each site. There are approximately 20 sites with electric. The showers are cleaned frequently, but can get messy at high use times. There is no water at any of the sites, but is available near the dump site and showers. There is a dump fee of 5 dollars if not staying in camp. There is a host on site. We have rented one of the rental trailers there which was not the most clean, but the campground is very nice. There is an eagle's nest on site, so watch small dogs. Additionally, there are bear around so don't send the kids off to play in the woods unattended. It is about a 5-10 minute drive to town, but it is a very pleasant place to have a fire and sit with friends and family. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Wonderful place. Gem in the rough. Stayed three nights. Took cruise. Have a toy schnauzer and met one of the wonderful campground hosts who took her out for such a minimal charge. We felt so safe and the host loved our pup so much and checked on her so often. We would return in a minute. Prior military, so price was just right. Thanks, Gina, for taking such good care of our dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Valdez Glacier Campground (Now open to the public)
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com