223434 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Calgary, Alberta (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.00 miles NW
16.37 miles NE
17.01 miles SW
22.19 miles NW
26.77 miles SE
29.34 miles SW
29.77 miles S
-Other Nearby Points-
Race City Speedway
7.79 miles SW
Alberta
Calgary
Most Recently Reviewed
Mountain View Camping
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-28 18:34:48
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Calgary, Alberta
Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   5   7   2   5   6   3   5   1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  no  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$50
The parking pads were level, but there was no level area for the table. We had water restrictions when we arrived and had to boil our water. Otherwise it was convenient to the train stations for attending the Calgary Stampede. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Restrooms were acceptable but would not call them clean. Park was crowded and needed more frequent attention. Trash around the building never picked up during our 3-day stay. Crowded park, sites very close together. Road and train noise was loud. Can't imagine anyone not hearing it throughout the night. We stayed without reservation during Stampede and paid for our lack of planning. Would not return. Overpriced for a site with no services, even during Stampede week. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$46
Quiet location with no road noise. Check in staff were pleasant and helpful. Store was well stocked and prices were reasonable. Sites are small with two rigs parked side by side in pull-through sites. There is ample room to extend slides if both parties are courteous in their parking. Our neighbor had problem with 30 amp breaker tripping at less than 20 amps. Breakers appear to be old and some may be weak. We had no problems with ours when we were pulling 25 amps. It was below freezing at night and with all the electric heaters running voltage would drop to around 110 VAC. Wi-Fi was very strong in our spot (A-31). We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Calgary West Campground
Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   6   6   6   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$36
We usually stay at Calaway campground when we travel through Calgary. It is clean and easy to access off of hwy 1. Staff is friendly and helpful. Check in isn't until 1 pm, so if you're wanting to go to Calaway park, you have to park in the parking lot and wait till then. We had reserved a site, so it wasn't really an issue. We weren't allowed early check in (we tried). Biggest downfalls are a) showers are not included with the camping fees. They are 2.00 for 5 mins and b) there is no playground or activities for children. A play area would be a good addition. That is the reason for the 8 rating, otherwise it would be higher. Good camping overall. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
This park has clearly been designed by someone who has never owned / used / seen an RV! Hookups were spaced apart so poorly that we had to go to an RV supply store to buy longer connections for water & power! We never even tried to hook up to sewer. That was a nightmare itself, as it runs uphill! The only positive I can see about this park is the proximity of the amusement park. If you don't have little kids, pick somewhere else to stay! Most RV parks are throwing in wi-fi for free. Callaway charges a ridiculous $10 / day for internet access. The other thing is they are less than accommodating when it comes to moving sites. We had opted to move from a partial-service site to full-service where there were lots of open sites; in fact, the one they put us in hours later was vacant when we wanted to move. Instead, they had us drive down to the amusement park's overflow parking & wait til 2 PM! It was inconvenient for us, and from what we could see, completely unnecessary. Would we stay here again? Only if there wasn't another RV park or Walmart in the area! And there usually is. In other words, no, we wouldn't stay here again. Nor would we recommend it to friends. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Located next to water park, if you have children they would probably love it. Park was clean, new laundry and restroom facilities. Sites are basic gravel and not very level and had poor drainage. We had a thunder storm and our site was flooded. Stayed to see Calgary Stampede. Park provided shuttle service to and from Stampede twice daily. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Callaway Park
Camp Information
Sites
130
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   1   2   1   3   7   1   5   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  no  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
The staff here are lovely, friendly, helpful people. We had a bit of a hiccup with one of our slides and they did all they could to help us out. They accommodated our need to stay an extra day even though they were busy. We've stayed here before, a couple of years ago. I will say, the park has declined some, which was disappointing. It used to look a lot neater, but this time we found deep ruts in mud in some of the sites (which could be a problem if it continues raining!). For us, the nice young lady at the desk didn't seem to understand that we're a 40' motorhome with 3 slides. She put us in a narrow site (trees on both sides) and I had to run back to the office to request a change. No way could we fit into the one she'd assigned us, and yet we'd told her in advance what our unit was and it's size. There are quite a number of what appear to be long-term trailers in the park - not all of which are maintained. This park has a LOT of potential. We'll stay again, but only if it doesn't decline any further than it already has. I'm hoping they do a little maintenance! We had power, water, sewer. No pull-throughs that we could see. Sites are adequate, but not overly spacious. The location is great - easy access to Calgary or Strathmore. Laundry and restrooms available, although I've never used either. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
The only thing this campground has going for it is its convenience to Calgary. We stayed here during the Oil Show and though we knew it was not a wilderness campground we were stunned to see how they pile units in. We could not walk behind our trailer as the unit behind ours was no less than 12 inches from our back bumper. Fire pits are at the front of lot right along side of road. No privacy at all. Sewer hookups are set up so that you have to run your hose into your neighbour's lot to hook up. It is also a major flight path for the airport and and is on a main highway, so quiet it is not. Would stay here again only if it was were last resort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$46
Old park not well kept. A mud pit after any rain. Tight roads and sites with lots of long term trailers and their extra vehicles parked all over the park. Anyplace would have to be better than staying here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Display older reviews for Mountain View Camping
Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   3   2   9   3   2   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
BE AWARE-DO NOT STAY HERE unless you want to camp in a trailer park. We did not end up staying the night. We had reservations, and pulled up. The guy didn't even know which sites he had available, they were super small and would have been difficult to level (muddy). There were a tons of old trailers that were rusted out with garbage around sites. The facilities were NOT clean and there is no way with kids I would have stayed there. Totally misrepresented on their website. Its in the middle of Calgary suburban sprawl with a ton of construction and not easy access. Sites were not maintained, not mowed, and more of a storage area feel than a campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20+
What a dump. Half full of itinerant construction workers. Park management has recently blown out the sewer system. You heard it: blown out. Toilet tissue was hanging from the trees. Great western bar on site helped to escape from reality, but never again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$13
This is an old park with barely adequate facilities. Grass sites are fairly level but mostly small and crowded. Electric was only 15 amp, water was not available at many sites (though recently turned on for the season) and hot water was not available in all shower stalls (no flow from hot faucet). Use of the dump station required an extra fee. Restrooms/showers were very worn and not clean. Wi-Fi connections were difficult to establish but surprisingly fast and reliable if possible to achieve. The Passport America discount brings cost down to almost match value. New ownership seems to have muddled the care put into the operation. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Symons Valley RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com