223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Chinle, Arizona (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Canyon De Chelly Nm Ctnwd Cg
Chinle
2.12 miles NW
Canyon De Chelly National
9.35 miles NW
Arizona
Chinle
Most Recently Reviewed
Cottonwood Campground-Canyon de Chelly National Monument
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-15 19:46:06
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Chinle, Arizona
Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   10   10   8   7   7   7   7   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  no  yes  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  no  no  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2014
$14
Large, very shaded, bare bones campground. Three large loops, pick your spot, pay at the gate or self-pay via envelope. No hookups, but there is a dump station and potable water in Loop 1. We were concerned with 80-degree temps and no air conditioning, but our RV stayed cool with all the shade. There are restrooms in each loop, but no showers. No grass, mostly weeds and tons of painful goat heads, so we couldn’t walk the dogs much. Not bad for a night or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$14
For dry camping, this was a great park. In August, it was still very pleasant, due to all the shade trees. There were less than 10 campers in the park the 2 nights we were there (Wed & Thur). We really enjoyed the solitude. Our 30' trailer fit into site 78 without issue; we just had to park the truck at a bit of an angle once we disconnected. Note: be prepared for Navajo vendors coming around after 7 pm to hawk their wares. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$14
I was leery of staying in a campground with no electricity during the summer in Arizona but it was definitely not a problem. The huge shade trees kept it pleasant. Our 35' motorhome would not have fit in all sites, but we didn't have a problem finding a nice one for the night. It was definitely convenient for touring the park. We got the name of a tour company at the visitor center and had a 3 hour tour into the canyon and we were glad we did. We sure learned a lot about the Navajo lifestyle and saw the canyon up close. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Cottonwood Campground-Canyon de Chelly National Monument
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   1   7   3   6   9   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
Spider Rock is a pristine, isolated, glorious spot for DRY camping, 9.7 miles inside the Park entrance, on a good paved road. Potable water and dump site are available; primitive toilets are clean. Campground host is accommodating and helpful. A mellow guy. He also gave us a private jeep tour of the Canyon. This is a peaceful, perfect spot: one which we hated to leave. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$10
We found this campground to be a wonderful, "real world," Colorado-plateau, mesa-top experience. Unlike another local park (which, while a nice enough, shady, campground in a cottonwood grove, is NPS "plain vanilla,"with little separation from your neighbor), the campsites here are tucked among the pinion-pines and junipers found on top of the mesa. It is hard-soil dry-camping, bring your own drinkable water; the toilets are outhouse (but well-maintained), so we mostly used our own. The owner and his dog were extremely friendly and lead outings into the canyon, and the rates ($10/night for tent or pop-up) are good for a private campground. Big class A's and B's, and big trailers, might have some problem negotiating the campsite roads to the better sites, which wind among the trees, but for those of us with smaller trailers, no problem. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
The web page for this campground is deceptive. If you like camping in a landfill or in a debris field after a major earthquake: then you will love this place. I wasn’t sure if it was the abandoned trailers with broken windows or the plywood lean-to pit toilets that was the most disgusting. We called the listed phone number and left a message. Never received a return call. Drove the 9 miles from the park visitor center and attempted to make contact in the office which was surrounded by debris and trash. No one at the office or anywhere on site. Nothing is level and you can’t tell the muddy roads from the campsites. The Cottonwood campground is fine. Spider rock is not worth the drive from the visitor center. Put this on your do not camp list! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Spider Rock Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com