218840 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Forest Lakes, Arizona (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
2.77 miles SW
14.85 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Elk Pines Rv
(520)535-3833
2.71 miles SW
White Mountain-Hwy 260 Mp 317
7.45 miles SE
Aor Rpip C2C Show Low Az - White Mountain Camperland
8.84 miles SE
Rpi- Az White Mtn Camper (Sunrise) 1876 Hwy 260 Mm317 Showlow
8.86 miles SE
Arizona
Forest Lakes
Most Recently Reviewed
Aspen Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-06 22:43:48
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Forest Lakes, Arizona
Camp Information
Sites
88
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
Great NAT. park campground. Hot showers and loads of space between sites. No disappointments here. Hard to get electric sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
The Best of Old Fashioned Camping - with electric! The hospitality people were amazingly friendly and yet non-intrusive. The campground was neat and clean. The outhouses - well, they were outhouses, odor and all. There are very nice flush toilets at the shower building. I do advise to camp across the road or a space or 2 away from outhouses. There are only 4 pull-through spaces which are really roomy. There are also several long back in spaces. All electric spaces are in Loop A. Go to www.recreation.gov to reserve space during the high season. October was nice weather and walk-in only. We got there Friday morning and were able to choose a pull-through space. Loop A filled up pretty good by Saturday morning. Perhaps being just 2.5 hours from the east Valley is the reason - it's close and easy. We specifically asked about this item: Contrary to a previous review, there is only 1 tag per vehicle. It goes in the tow vehicle or toad if you choose to leave the park. It does not stay with your trailer or tent. But this is true for all the National or State parks that I've been in. Also, being a National Forest, the stay limit is 14 days. As much as I almost hate to share it, it was a weekend in heaven. Relaxing, peaceful (with the sounds of children laughing in the background), quiet, dark & starry. Take the time to walk the .7 mile to see the Sinkhole area. You may even get lucky enough to see some of the many elk in the area. For those looking for the RV park feel with entertainment and stores within walking distance, this isn't it. There's a small local store a mile up the road in Forest Lakes and a great restaurant across the street, but that's about it for really close businesses. However, if it is a "camping" session that you seek, complete with fires in the fire pits at night, this place is tops in my book! You can buy firewood at the gate for $6 a bag and ice for $2. There is a dump station by the entrance as well as potable water if you need to fill up or re-fill during your stay. What more could you need? Take a good book and a comfy chair and plug in the coach for a truly rewarding weekend (or week if you can). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
This is a forest campground, not an RV Park, just wanted to make that clear from the start. Only 32 of the sites provide electric hookups, and none of them are 50 amps. About half of the spots in this campground can be reserved on-line. The rest are available only on a walk-up basis. I believe all of the spots in Loop A have electric hookups; Loop B has no electric hookups. Canyon Point is the only forest campground in the Payson, AZ area that offers electrical hookups, so this campground is very appealing to many and difficult to get reservations on holidays and weekends. You have to make them way ahead of time. This is beautiful forest, seems to be frequented by very friendly, quiet, respectful campers (not the party crowd), far enough away from the highway (although you can still hear a loud truck now and again), nice shaded spots, and easy access to a general store a couple miles up the highway, 2 popular lakes within 5-10 miles distance - Willow Springs Lake and Woods Canyon Lake and absolutely breath-taking views of the Mogollon Rim along Forest Service Road (FSR) 300 also known as Rim Road. Pros: Beautiful, spacious camp sites in a relatively quiet campground. We saw some big rigs in this campground, although I don't know if they have size limits. I'm not too familiar with electricity requirements on bigger rigs, but I know they don't have 50 amp electric hookups at this campground. Campground is very close to many activities and scenery. General store within 2 miles in Forest Lakes. Showers and flushing toilets available at the front of the campground (although they're not very clean), along with ice and firewood. There is a free non-potable and fresh-water fill-up area along with an RV dump area at the front of the campground, so this is an awesome amenity for a forest service campground. We took our 6 gallon refill jugs to the refill station a few times to get free water for our pop-up trailer tanks. Cons: $25 per night seemed a little steep for an Arizona campground, with no water hookups, but I guess one man's steep pricing is another man's bargain; and if you consider the free water at the front of the campground, the $25 per night might not be so bad. Some of the staff seemed very unorganized and scatter-brained and one was incredibly rude. This rude woman was confused, and just wasn't doing her job right. I asked her what other sites were available and she jumped all over me about how we had reserved a specific site # and if we wanted another, we'd have to cancel and pay a penalty, blah, blah. Wow, that lady had some anger management issues! We were unfortunate to always have to deal with her instead of the other friendly, knowledgable staff. This woman didn't give us a ticket to hang from the mirror on our tow vehicle and this resulted in several staff members decending on our site in their ATV's like the FBI raiding a terrorist camp asking where our tag was. Then it happened again when we paid for an extra night and she forgot to give us a new tag with a new date. We came back from an excursion and were allowed to enter past the "guard gate" with no problem, but then sure enough the little "police-men" came riding up on their ATV's to see why we were still there if our tag had expired. We thought they were going to ask us to prove that we had paid. Amazing how one rude staff member that doesn't have their act together could make it so hard on everyone. So, word to the wise, make sure you get one of those tag thingy's to hang from your tow vehicle's mirror or you may be "burned at the stake!" The vault toilets throughout the campground were absolutely disgusting and smelled to high-heaven. If you reserve a spot, look closely at the map to be certain you don't get a spot anywhere near those toilets. We were lucky not to be downwind of one of those toilets. Yuck! It's hit or miss when you are making a reservation on Reserveamerica's website or via phone for this place because frankly some of the spots can't accommodate a larger trailer or RV. No one can help you select a good spot for your rig, so you are literally taking a chance, and hoping that you get a larger back-in or pull-through site for your RV. We stayed in Loop A, spot #29 and this was fine for our pop-up trailer, but would just be unacceptable for anything bigger. Spot #31 also seemed small. We saw several back-in spots that were bigger in Loop A: #27, #40, and #36 are all that I remember. The flush toilets and showers at the front of the facility were a little better, but not much. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Apache-Sitgreaves Nat'l Forest / Canyon Point Campground
Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Nice campground in the woods way up in the mountains. The site we had was site 6. It was plenty long enough and level on asphalt. We went a few days before Memorial Day and there was a strict fire restriction. When I made the reservation, there were only a few sites available. I expected to be completely surrounded. Maybe the local fires kept everyone away, but there was no one within 10 sites even close to me. The sites are about 30-40 feet away from each other. This campground is a little farther away from the lake than I thought. The lake is about 1/2 mile away down a hill outside of the park. There are great walking/biking paths nearby that were very nice - asphalt. I would return to this site, but I think the mountains will probably keep me away for a while. We went from Phoenix near sea level up to 7000 feet, and back down a couple of times during the drive, not to mention other 4000 foot mountains. Very hard on my truck. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
This is a popular campground in the Sitgreaves National Forest. We’ve never been able to get in without reservations. This time that’s what we did. The campground is in the Woods Canyon Lake Recreation Area on the Mogollon Rim. There are no hookups or showers. It has vault toilets throughout and dumpsters at the entrance. Each site has a picnic table, fire ring/grill combo, and a separate pedestal grill. These could be located to the side or behind the site, depending on which site you’re in. We stayed at back-in site 25. We would stay at this site again. We’d consider the far outer loop sites, starting at 100 because there is nobody behind them. You will want a site that has at least one site between your site and the vault toilets. The campground is huge with multiple loops. You can visually see other campers, but this is a well laid out campground with plenty of space between sites. Loops and sites are paved and are mostly level, though some do have an incline. A few of the sites are out in the open in full sun, or they have a long path from the site to the picnic area. The majority of them are set among decent sized ponderosa pines. There are several trails, including one that goes around the lake, which is walking distance from the campground. There is a store at the lake that sells food items and fishing supplies. We enjoyed this campground and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com