206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Grand Canyon Airport
1.11 miles SW
Grand Canyon Imax Theate
2.24 miles N
Grand Canyon National P
10.69 miles NE
Arizona
Grand Canyon National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Trailer Village (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-17 03:40:32
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$12
This is a National Park Service campground. There are NO hookups; it is boondocking at its finest. If you want to get away from the bedlam at the Grand Canyon Village area, this is the place. We stayed in site #22, in the back of the loop. Bring leveling boards or be prepared to use your leveling system if you have one. Absolute quiet, all you hear are the ravens and the wind. Short bike ride or walk to the canyon rim and the watch tower. No facilities at the campground other than restrooms and water spigots throughout the park. No dump station; you need to go to Mather campground (26 miles) to dump. If you love peace and quiet, this is your paradise; if you want hustle and bustle and hookups, go to Trailer Village. Not reservable; first come, first served, but we had no problem finding a site in September. We loved this place and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
309
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   2   7   9   9   10   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$5
Location, location, location! Nicely maintained and close to all want to be close to. Fun to be greeted by deer and elk in the morning. Rate based on senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
I gave this park a 9, because it is "as advertised." Yes it is dry camping, and there are low hanging branches. But we knew that going in. It is a beautiful national park with minimal amenities. I would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
We stayed here for 3 nights, and used 2 different camp sites for our stay. This is your typical bare bones, boon docking camping. There are no hook-ups of any sort. The bigger problem with this campground is that there is no uniformity to the sites, and the sites are all very small and laid out pretty poorly. We were in a 30 ft motorhome with our Jeep in tow. We could barely fit down the roads in the park with trees and branches scraping the sides of our coach as we drove down the small, windy roads. We managed to get a ticket from the Gestapo (park ranger) for not having all of our wheels on the pavement. When we tried to explain that the site was too small to properly fit the motorhome & Jeep all on the pavement, we were given the answer that was not their problem. Ended up unhooking tow and moving Jeep wheels over 2 ft so that all 4 wheels were touching the pavement. This park also has some really bad generator rules; on one stretch of sites, you can not use your generator period (pine loop). On the other sites that you can use your generator, the hours are 8am-10am and then 6pm-8pm. This may seem reasonable, save for the entire park is up and going by 7am and everyone has left by 9am at the latest. You will hear everyone moving at 6am; no biggie for us, as we were up, but not able to fire up generator and make coffee till 8am, no thanks. After the second day, we ended up firing up the generator up at 7am. I spoke to all my neighbors and they were all good with it. They say this campground is for tent camping and such. However, over 60% of the people in the campground were in motorhomes with another 20% in travel trailers. They probably need to just update this park, move all the tent campers to the generator free area, and leave the motorhome & travel trailers free to do their thing. Don't think we would ever stay here again; it's just too crowed, missing all the basic services, and roads are too narrow with funky turns. There are other RV camping options just down the road in Tusayan that would have made our trip to the Grand Canyon a little more enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mather Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   8   9   7   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
We were staying at this park during the Great Government Shutdown of 2013. It is a lovely park with no hookups, but good paved roads and driveways. The pads were unlevel, and after we spent some time leveling, we entertained ourselves watching other rigs go back and forth trying to level. The spaces are large and it is only 1+ miles to the Lodge and visitor center so it is very convenient. An absolutely beautiful setting. We would stay in this park again. Price indicates Senior 1/2 price rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
Wow, this park is great! There are 78 campsites and another 12 tent-only sites, all dry camping. This is the North Rim Campground and operated by the National Park Service on the north rim of the Grand Canyon which is the same location as the North Rim Lodge and Cabins, operated by a concessionaire and location of the U.S. Post Office. I make this distinction because I have seen reviews that associate the North Rim with Jacobs Lake and the DeMotte campground. DeMotte is a few miles away and acts as a sort of overflow for North Rim. North Rim is booked full every day, way in advance. Make your reservations early, like a year early. North Rim Campground is way off the beaten path. Yes, the campground, lodge and cabins are booked full for the entire season (May to October) but the number of people making it to the North Rim is one-tenth the numbers that the South Rim sees. The drive from Flagstaff to North Rim took us about 5 hours with our 5th wheel. The drive to the campground is beautiful and almost worth it by itself, but once you cross Lee’s Ferry Bridge in Marble Canyon it is about 30 miles of uphill. Some sections are long and steep enough that it will push your transmission temperatures about as high as they should go. North Rim Campground is an old, CCC built facility. Technically, there are pull-through sites but don’t let that fool you into thinking your big rig can get in. The pull-throughs are just curved driveways alongside the road. And the curves in many spaces can be very tight with large Ponderosa Pines lining the drive so closely that even pop-ups, Casitas, Scamps, and A-liners sometimes have to be unhooked and positioned by hand. Also, when making your reservation, be mindful of the side of the road your site is on. If you are tent camping it won’t make any difference, but if you have any kind of RV that you want the entry door to face the picnic table & fire ring then you need to pick a site on the right side of the road. The streets are all one way so you can’t (if the rangers catch you) come down a road backwards so you can be turned the right way. But enough of that, this place is gorgeous. There is a mix of Ponderosa Pine and Aspen, wildflowers peak in August, and there are more views of the canyon than you can see in the one week limit of the campground. If you are a hiker they have trails of every kind. Everything from paved walkways on flat ground to canyon rim trails (no railing!); to the multi-day hike to the South Rim. Days are mildly warm, 70’s and low 80’s. Nights are cool. In our few days we have seen anywhere from 41 to 61 for overnight lows. August is monsoon time. There have been frequent downpours and more lightning than I care to be around. This is one of those campgrounds that you have to go to at least once. It is worth the effort. WiFi is available but only if you walk to the campground store and get in just the right spot on the porch. No AT&T phone at all, Verizon is text capable sometimes. If you want to make a call you have to hike out to a point that can see the South Rim where the cell tower is, ten miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$9
The North Rim is a hidden gem, not nearly the number of tourists you'll find at the South Rim, and much prettier. The elevation is 8200 ft. Thick ponderosa pine forest, clean, sweet air. You can even schedule a mule ride into the canyon, on the spot, where as the So Rim you would need a 6 month reservation. The sites are all pull-through, with lots of space in between sites. You get a picnic table and fire pit. The park service store is great, lots of groceries, camp equipment, clothing, expresso and soft serve ice cream. We were surprised at their prices, very reasonable. We saw deer, buffalo, and antelope. The lodge and cabins are historical and well kept. There were ranger programs and nature walks avail. Will definitely stay here again, only longer. We got in without a reservation, but it's best to go online and reserve ahead of time. I think we just got lucky. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for North Rim Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   8   9   7   7   7   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Excellent place to stay. Right in middle of all activities in Grand Canyon NP. Sites are mostly level asphalt with good hookups. Does not have WiFi, though. Elk wander throughout campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$35
Wonderful camp host. 1/2 mile from canyon rim: an easy walk. Location and host made this the best Grand Canyon experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
This is probably as good as you can expect for a full hookup RV park within a national park. Friendly check in. No showers available within this park, only at the adjacent campground. Very convenient to the entire South Rim area with the shuttle buses. Elk and deer roam through in the evening. All the stores, restaurants and services you could want in the nearby Grand Canyon Village. All in all, just a real nice place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Trailer Village (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com