219068 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Barstow, California (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Us Army National Traini
5.12 miles SW
Paradise Spring 100
17.70 miles SW
California
Barstow
Most Recently Reviewed
Shady Lane RV Camp
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-19 17:27:14
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Barstow, California
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$3
Owl Canyon BLM campground, north of Barstow, CA. Widely separated, and mostly level, dirt campsites in a pretty little canyon. Rate listed was for a senior discount. No hookups, but trash receptacles, a couple of unthreaded water spigots, and several clean pit toilets. Big rig accessible, but the dirt road leading to the campground is very washboarded, so it is slow going. Beautiful view of the mountain range to the south at sunset. Extremely quiet and peaceful area. Nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$3
The rate reflects use of a Senior Pass at this BLM campground. We loved the beautiful scenery, great hikes, and solitude with only us and the campground host using the campground during most of our week-long stay here. We would have loved to stay longer, but it became too cold and windy (explaining why we were the only ones crazy enough to be there). Even with higher occupation, though, this would still be a great place to stay and you can't beat the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$3
We were last at this campground in 2007. It is still a little-used gem. The five miles of washboard gravel road to the campground was in somewhat better shape, showing signs of grading, but I could do more than about 10 MPH most of the time. Once in the campground, the roads were navigable by any size rig, although there are a couple of serious dips that could cause the tail to drag on some. There is now a campground host here, and the difference from four years ago was noticeable: empty trash cans, sparkling clean vault toilets, and not a bit of trash in the entire campground. Aside from the host, there were only one or two other campers in the campground during our stay, until the weekend when three or four other sites were in use. Verizon voice service was good, but data service was still limited to the slow 1xRTT network, about one tenth the speed of that in native Verizon areas. The scenic loop that you can drive in a passenger vehicle has some of the most spectacular scenery in the US. There was limited water available at spigots around the campground, but they often run dry. The rate cited is reflects the 50% the Senior Pass rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Owl Canyon Campground
Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   9   7   5   10   6   8   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
This is a quaint little park that is surprisingly comfortable and friendly. There's a $2 up charge for 50 amp service. No cable service, but they'll give you a Dish receiver and a cable to hook to your TV set. They took about an hour trying to get ours to work before giving up, but there is decent antenna reception of a few channels. Bathhouse is small, rustic, and clean. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. There are a fair number of permanent/seasonal rigs here, but not a problem. Sites are gravel and more or less level. Each has a small concrete patio and picnic table. This is a good spot for an overnight in the Mojave desert. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Good Sam. Fairly easy access to dirt and rock with concrete pads. Owner is friendly and accommodating. Restrooms are dated but very clean. Laundry has 3 sets of machines and clean plus cheap. Some sites are back-in and big rigs are pull through. CG fills up in the late afternoon so reservations are a must. A good place to break-up a long drive. We spent one night here and would return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We spent a night here on our way to Davis. In 40 days of camping, this was by far one of my favorite campgrounds. Like many other campgrounds, it has clean restrooms and shower facilities. But beyond that, Shady Lane is a friendly and delightfully kitschy place. Among other things: 1) when I called to make a reservation, the woman who answered the phone gave me directions and told me she would come get us if we couldn't find the place; 2) the campground office is an old Airstream trailer; 3) there is free candy in the office; 4) when I asked whether there was an extra charge for our dog, the owners looked surprised and asked whether other campgrounds impose such a charge; and 5) the owners took us to our campsite and gave us a copy of the local TV guide as well as the campground rules. Yes, this is silly stuff, but it added to the down-home feeling of the place. My husband loved the fact that the full-timers in the park were desert characters. We will definitely stay here again when we are back in Barstow. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Shady Lane RV Camp
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com