223325 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Barstow, California (Air Miles)
-Other Nearby Points-
Us Army National Traini
5.12 miles SW
Paradise Spring 100
17.70 miles SW
California
Barstow
Most Recently Reviewed
Shady Lane RV Camp
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-22 16:10:45
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Barstow, California
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$3
Owl Canyon BLM campground, north of Barstow, CA. Widely separated, and mostly level, dirt campsites in a pretty little canyon. Rate listed was for a senior discount. No hookups, but trash receptacles, a couple of unthreaded water spigots, and several clean pit toilets. Big rig accessible, but the dirt road leading to the campground is very washboarded, so it is slow going. Beautiful view of the mountain range to the south at sunset. Extremely quiet and peaceful area. Nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$3
The rate reflects use of a Senior Pass at this BLM campground. We loved the beautiful scenery, great hikes, and solitude with only us and the campground host using the campground during most of our week-long stay here. We would have loved to stay longer, but it became too cold and windy (explaining why we were the only ones crazy enough to be there). Even with higher occupation, though, this would still be a great place to stay and you can't beat the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$3
We were last at this campground in 2007. It is still a little-used gem. The five miles of washboard gravel road to the campground was in somewhat better shape, showing signs of grading, but I could do more than about 10 MPH most of the time. Once in the campground, the roads were navigable by any size rig, although there are a couple of serious dips that could cause the tail to drag on some. There is now a campground host here, and the difference from four years ago was noticeable: empty trash cans, sparkling clean vault toilets, and not a bit of trash in the entire campground. Aside from the host, there were only one or two other campers in the campground during our stay, until the weekend when three or four other sites were in use. Verizon voice service was good, but data service was still limited to the slow 1xRTT network, about one tenth the speed of that in native Verizon areas. The scenic loop that you can drive in a passenger vehicle has some of the most spectacular scenery in the US. There was limited water available at spigots around the campground, but they often run dry. The rate cited is reflects the 50% the Senior Pass rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Owl Canyon Campground
Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   8   7   6   9   7   5   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
This is a fine place to overnight in a pretty dismal area. The manager was just excellent and very helpful in every way. The hookups were adequate. The parking surface is the local sand, gravel and dirt that when wet is kind of a mess. Everything else is fine. The shade is fairly marginal in an area where there aren't many trees. Let's remember that this is the desert with high winds and blowing sand at times. This is the best RV park we have found in the area so if we happen to be in the area, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$38
An old time desert RV park. Typical sand sites and level. Staff very efficient and nice. We stayed in a 36" RV with a jeep in tow. We were able to park in a pull thru with ease. Big rigs should be able to get in with an experienced driver. Shop beforehand as there isn't anything to walk to. Would stay here again. Very quiet! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
We arrived late due to traffic and the manager was waiting for us and took us to our space and helped us park. We did not use the TV, but it was offered for free. We had a fuse blow and the manager looked for one but did not have it and then called stores in town and found one. He even offered the use of a camp vehicle so I wouldn't have to disconnect. Laundry facility is first rate. Not the most lovely part of town but would stay at this park again in a heartbeat. Very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Shady Lane RV Camp
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com