224234 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Big Sur, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
22.44 miles NE
30.48 miles NW
32.26 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Slates Hot Springs 122
1.40 miles SE
Dolans Hot Spring 98
5.53 miles SE
Tassajara Hot Springs 144
9.27 miles NE
Pfeiffer Big Sur (32')
10.32 miles NW
Limekiln Sp (24')
11.75 miles SE
Nepenthe
13.87 miles SE
Pfeiffer Big Sur State
13.92 miles SE
California
Big Sur
Most Recently Reviewed
Fernwood Resort Big Sur
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-17 11:29:56
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Big Sur, California
Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$75



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   10   4   8   8   3   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$75
To clarify about the price, we stayed in a river site ($70) for one night and non-river ($60) for one night, plus an add-on fee of $5 apiece for each of our dogs for each night. Voila, the average was $75. Pretty pricey, like everything else in the area seemed to be, plus they all seem to tack on a dog fee because they can, while not offering anything like a fenced run for dogs. It was certainly a beautiful setting with the sites among the redwoods and very pleasant management. Restrooms/showers received very heavy use and not particularly clean. The complete lack of cell service was a nuisance and for that kind of money it seems they should at least provide Wi-Fi. There's no TV either. It is a lovely setting, of course, but a lot of money when those services are non-existent. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$75
Big Sur campground and cabins is a perfect family friendly forest get away. My family of 7 has been coming here for yearly trips each summer for the past 6 years. Very clean, ver friendly, and beautiful location. We always reserve a riverside spot but they seem to be harder to come by please book ahead if you are planning a summer trip call a year in advance for a spot. Free hot showers, fire pits, playground and relaxing in the river are just some of the highlights. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$57
Beautiful setting. Park was very clean, staff was friendly, power was good. Two negatives and one observation: 1) Shared dump station is a) very slow to drain, took over 30 minutes to dump tanks and b) is set in a vault about 2 feet below ground level. Difficult to access. 2) Nighttime lighting of the roads is non-existent. Admittedly I'd prefer to never arrive after dark. This time I did and I couldn't even see the road to the campsite, let alone any obstacles. Damaged my motorhome. 3) Very spotty cell service for ATT. Not the parks fault, just an observation. The area and river are beautiful. I'll be taking the family back (arriving well before dark!) We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Big Sur Campground & Cabins
Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$70



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   7   8   6   3   7   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  no  no  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$70
Yes, this is Big Sur, so you would expect to pay through the nose for a campground. However, for $70/night, you would still expect the showers to be free. More importantly, you would expect the campsites to be level, and for the campground owners to have a realistic sense of what size vehicles can fit into each site. We were lucky that other campsites were available when we arrived so that we could move into a different site after making multiple attempts to fit our 32' motorhome into a tiny unlevel site. The people who arrived at 11 pm with a large fifth wheel were apparently not so lucky -- it took them an hour, in the dark, to get their RV parked. Not sure I'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$62
Nice spot near the river. Restrooms were decent. Showers required quarters to use. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$50
We really enjoyed our stay here for 4 days. Overall, we were pleased with the campsite. We give it a '7' for the following reasons: 1) The site was so sloped that I had to use every single leveling block I had. 2) The trash bins were not emptied often enough and were overflowing almost every day. 3) The entrance to the park hiking trails was not marked very well. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Fernwood Resort Big Sur
Camp Information
Sites
33
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
The views from this spartan site are spectacular. You drive along Route 1 on a vertigo-inducing ride and frequent road closures, but if you get there, it's heaven on earth. There are no hookups. We parked in a fairly level gravel site. There is no potable water, no cellphone service, no cable TV, no Wi-Fi. The good news is that it lets you chill big time. The bad news is if you run out of electricity, water, or need a dump you are out of luck. The ranger who manages this site was helpful, but by accident we discovered the highway was to be closed the next day at 8-am because major bridge construction was underway. That forced us to get up at 5:45 am a day early in order to make it out of there by 7am. Not sure how often that happens but it pretty much put the kibosh on staying there any longer. We were told that to go south to get out, and resume going north again past the construction site, the trip would have taken us all the way to Salinas and back. It's remote in a very Big Big Sur way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
This national forest campground is set on a bluff above the coastline and has a fantastic view of this section of the Big Sur. Even though others has said this place is big rig friendly I would use caution. Most sites won't accommodate a big rig. My site was a gravel back-in and not level. A table and firepit at each site. Sites 15,17,19 and 21 have great ocean views. There are no utilities at the sites. No TV, Wi-Fi, or phone service available. Two buildings have restrooms and pay showers. There are water taps, but no potable water. Several trails: one to the beach and three climb through the hills on the other side of the highway. Normally I wouldn't rate this campground so high due to lack of utilities and services, but the location and views represent what is best of the Big Sur, and should not be missed. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
This campground is a gem! Like no other I've ever stayed at. I believe they allow reservation for only 1/2 the sites, the rest are available on a first-come, first-served basis. It's worth planning your trip to arrive here in the morning as some are packing up to leave. Host very helpful. The "beach" is accessible by trail, but very rocky. Not suitable for swimming. Trail head for Ventana wilderness is across highway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Kirk Creek Campground
Camp Information
Sites
218
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   8   8   2   1   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
Lovely park. We visited in March so not all the camp sites were open. We got the last spot as this is a really popular park. The sites are between the trees so there is a degree of privacy between sites. Our site felt wide and there was a table and fire pit behind our RV. There is a creek that runs by with beautiful clear water. The restrooms were as one would expect from a state park, basic, but clean. There were flush toilets. There is also a small shop at the entrance plus you can buy firewood. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
We weren't that impressed with the Rangers. On entry there was no information given about the need to purchase shower tokens and when I bought a trail map I wasn't told of the trails that were closed due to the Dec fires. RV camping is limited in the park. We had site #180 on the main loop - don't expect to be amongst the redwoods. There is a one way system that directs traffic the wrong way. Every RV was having to enter and leave the "wrong" way. We advised the Ranger whose response was "oh well that's camping". It would be very easy to change the one way and would have saved some people terrible parking problems. The best RV sties, which are amongst the Redwoods, are 138, 140 (the best) and 141 on the main loop. The shower tokens are $1 for 5 mins (beware...more like 4 mins) and the fixed temperature is reasonably warm. But, because the shower head (in the ladies) is so high (7') it is a cool mist by the time it hits you. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
$35 for regular site (RV and Tent same price), on the river $50. Dry camping only with free dump station at the entrance. A really nice state park. Sites are close together. Friendly staff and rangers. Laundry and showers pretty clean considering the amount of people using them. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Pfeiffer Big Sur State Park
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
February 2010
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$22
Located in the Los Padres National Forest, this pretty, old-growth tree/meadow CG is right off Rt 1 (east side) about 20 miles south of the town of Big Sur. Water is available and it has flush toilets, but no hookups. Very scenic area. Somewhat level in places, but not flat. A few sites would accommodate a 40', with toad unhooked. Nice host on site. Reasonable price for overnight in area. Managed for NFS by third-party parks management Co. A nice break along the coastal drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
56
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$60



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   9   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$60
We lucked out and got the most awesome river site! Really enjoyed our stay, the owners were friendly and store was well stocked. Only negative is they don't have a dump station, one has to drive to San Simeon if you're heading south. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$50
The entrance can be a little intimidating if your not pre-prepared. It's a narrow, steep downhill, (but blessedly short) approach to an equally narrow causeway over the Big Sur River. I’d might hesitate booking if I were a really big Class A with tow-car. Once your breath returns, however, you’ll be happy you chose Riverside . Limited amenities but it has a real nice wilderness camping atmosphere. The shallow river provides unlimited play and tubing opportunities for kids of all ages. It’s a great place to come back to and soak your feet after a hard day of Big Sur hiking. Fuel and propane are close by. It’s also close enough to Carmel to make that area accessible. We would use again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
Great location on the river and in the redwoods. Staff was very nice and helpful. The only negatives would be for no sewer hookups and no wifi. Otherwise I would give this site a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Riverside Campground & Cabins
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com