217693 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Canyon Dam, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.67 miles NE
5.67 miles NE
8.86 miles NW
12.06 miles SE
17.61 miles SE
20.57 miles SW
21.41 miles SE
21.86 miles NW
21.86 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Indian Valley Hot Springs 106
11.63 miles SE
Spring 99
12.77 miles SE
California
Canyon Dam
Most Recently Reviewed
Whispering Pines RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2012-06-30 17:55:45
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Canyon Dam, California
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
At this price, in this resort area, this campground is a great find. Cash or check only. Call ahead to make the owner aware of your set up. He will help guide you into your spot. The campground is shaded but level and I think could handle big rigs fine. Don't know about 50 amp. A mixture of weekenders and summer campers we were here on the weekend and it was very quiet. We used this as our base to explore the Lake Almanore area which is 1/4 mile away, National Forest hiking and Mt Lassen National Park 40 miles away. The campground is right on 89 just into the town limits when traveling from the west. Be sure to get cheaper gas in the bigger cities. The drive on 89 is not bad. Entrance easy to negotiate, sites are gravel but level. We were suppose to stay one night but stayed 4. We would come again and recommend to friends. Did not get a 10 because the bathrooms were old but were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
We spent one week here over Independence Day with 5 trailers in our group. All of us were in Toy Haulers and we could ride our Rhinos and quads right out of the park into the forest. The area for riding was dusty but we still had a great time The campground has pull troughs but is heavily treed and if you had a big rig (our biggest was 40 ft.) there are low hanging branches so be VERY careful. Full hookups were good but there are no pads …it is all dirt but a friendly park. Verizon cell does not work but ATT will work and a Sat.dish is hard to get located due to the trees. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
12
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We stayed here from May 1, 2011 to August 1, 2011. This is a small park, however very large spaces. We have a 40' motorhome and still had lots of space left. The park is designed for seasonal R.V.ers. The owner works overtime to make sure everything is just right for you. I have Verizon Cell service and it does not work. If you go up the road a short distance to Lake Almanor it works. The park has a very good Wi-Fi system and I used my Majic Jack phone service that worked very well. We enjoyed our visit and are planning on returning next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This place is a gem. It is mostly overlooked as there are other more prominent parks in this little mountain town of Canyon Dam. This park is unique as it is small. 12 spaces total. Half of them have year round homes while the other half are available for RV use. As they are mobile spaces, they are huge and can easily fit any rig. The park is very close to the lake and free boat launch. We had a great time, our space was shaded and the park was clean. Its located directly behind the post office in Canyon Dam so its not easy to see. Check in is across the street at the Kayak rental business. The owner of the park runs the kayak business and we found him friendly and enthusiastic. Again, a hidden gem that you have to look for to find. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
What a little gem of a park. We were here in big rigs (40 and 43) but got by fine on 30 amps in back-in sites. It's well maintained with immaculate restrooms and laundry and a soothing lawn. We checked other Lake Almanor locations, and this was the best. We had planned for 7 days and stayed 12. There is a train track nearby, but after the fist day it became a point of interest rather than a nuisance. The seasonal guests were very friendly and welcoming. And you can't beat the owner for energy, helpfulness, enthusiasm and personality. We'd certainly come back: just to see him. Big rig sites are few so call ahead. AT&T cell service worked but Verizon was spotty. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com