214479 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Crescent City, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
4.25 miles NW
15.30 miles NW
23.51 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Jedediah Smith (36')
5.75 miles SE
Lucky 7 350 N. Indian Rd. Smith River Ca 95567 707-487-7777 (Located To Zip)
5.88 miles N
Salmon Harbor Resort
(800)332-6139
6.14 miles NW
Village Camper Inn
(707)464-3544
6.79 miles SW
Wal-Mart
900 E Washington Blvd
6.92 miles SW
Elk Valley 2500 Howland Hill Rd. Crescent City Ca 95531 707-464-1020 (Located To Block)
7.55 miles S
Redwood National & State
8.00 miles SW
Sunset Harbor
8.14 miles SW
Harbor View Grotto
8.48 miles SW
Crissey Field State Recreation Site 36 2 3
10.02 miles NW
Winchuck State Recreation Site 36 2 3
10.20 miles NW
Mcvay Rock State Recreation Site 36 2 3
11.35 miles NW
Del Norte Coast (31')
11.66 miles SE
"Elks - E(50),W,D,Lndry,Cabletv - 800 Elk Dr"
14.78 miles NW
Harris Beach State Park 36 2 3
15.84 miles NW
Harris Beach Visitor Ctr
Brookings
16.06 miles NW
Brookings
16.15 miles NW
California
Crescent City
Most Recently Reviewed
The Redwoods RV Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-13 05:28:14
10 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Crescent City, California
Camp Information
Sites
110
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   8   7   6   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$28
This park is simple and to the point. The bathrooms are clean, showers are clean, laundry is inexpensive ($2.00 wash, $0.75 dryer), and service was very friendly. There are no frills; if you're after an RV resort then you won't like this place. We don't care about those sorts of things and just wanted a good value in a good location. We stayed here during the government shutdown and couldn't get into Redwoods NP and this park is minutes away. A number of state parks are also nearby. The park is an easy 3 minute walk to the beach and harbor. Expect to hear the barking of seals! We were assigned two spots (B11 and B12) so we'd have a place to park our truck. I don't know if this is standard practice or just a courtesy during the off-season (early October). Spots were long enough that I had room to open the rear ramp on my toy hauler to pull out a motorcycle. Wi-Fi was reliable enough to stream video and we watched a number of TV shows on our computer without much issue. It would slow down during the early evening. We assume we were very close to an antenna being 50' away from the offices. There are a handful of permanent residents who were pleasant. The only thing we didn't like here was a recurring tone that goes off every 8 seconds that we assume is for ship navigation. Its volume varied but for the most part was audible every day during our 5 nights. Price was great, $28/night and weekly rates are $140. Very good for the location and amenities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
This was not our first choice, but it turned out to be okay. It is basically a huge asphalt parking lot adjacent to a boat yard and the marina. Our rate was based on a pull through which is two back to back sites. It could use a good cleaning up, since many of sites are occupied by old permanent type and seasonal residents. Utilities seemed to be new and worked well. We were entertained by the activity of renovation of the marina after the 2011 tsunami, and the shops and restaurants nearby. We probably would look for another park next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$44
Found park to be very accommodating as per my questions of the area and help in finding those tucked away places. Rained most of the time. Campground held up well. Staff was very friendly. Stayed one night and will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Bayside RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   8   7   9   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
We generally don't stay at a KOA, but must say, this is a fantastic campground. The staff is friendly and helpful. The back portion of the park is covered with Redwood trees and when you are back there it gives the feel of being in a rain forest. It is awesome. The front part where we stayed is very well maintained. I would definitely recommend staying here. Our RV is 39' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$38
Restrooms and showers were excellent. Nice restful park. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$50
KOA Redwood RV Park in Crescent City, we have stayed here in October and will return. Check in is easy the staff is friendly and helpful. The sites are clean and level all good size, all pull throughs, big rig friendly. Good dog yard. Walk to dog friendly trails of redwood trees right out the campground and short drive to harbors or to many dog friendly beaches. The redwoods and coast line is incredible, 30 minutes to Oregon coast again many dog friendly beaches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Crescent City / Redwoods KOA
Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
It was a very nice state campground. I feel a bit high priced for no hook-ups, but the sites were beautiful, with redwoods all around. You couldn't ask for nicer ambiance. We got to the campground after the kiosk was closed but our name and campsite was listed on a whiteboard on the door of the kiosk. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Beautiful state park located just south of Crescent City in a canyon full of mature second growth redwoods. Sites are a little tight -- RV's with multiple slide-outs might have trouble fully deploying. Long drive in from US 101 (2.5 miles)has some interesting twists and grades but is do-able with care for even the big rigs. Dump station a bit antiquated but serviceable (take the left lane as it is level). Nearby beach at Crescent City (~5 miles) is very nice and dogs are welcome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
117
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   1   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
After reading previous reviews we were not going to stay at this park, but when we drove past we decided to stay. We were given a site (#10) with a view of the ocean. I will agree there are a lot of full time, low income residents and some of the RV's were quite old. I would not recommend staying on the inside of the park. We had no problem here and loved our view. The manager was very friendly and works very hard to keep this park maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Avoid this campground if you are traveling with small children: this is no place for them. It has a nice location near the beach, but that is its only good quality. The majority of residents we saw were full-time or month-to-month, living in run down trailers on dirty, garbage infested sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
This is the first RV Park you encounter when driving North on HWY 101 and upon entering Crescent City. We stopped here only because it was getting late and we were concerned about not finding an open campground. Manger is friendly, but this is a very old, poorly maintained park. The sites are very close and cluttered. Although there were other overnighters staying there, most rigs seem to be full timers or long term. Many rigs are very old. The best thing going for this park is its location (right in the harbor). I would pass on staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   6   8   7   7   4   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
For us this is a nice park for an overnight stay or two. Very quiet and close to the redwood trees. It was clean, well kept and easy to get into. Some sites have shade. If you are interested in seeing the redwoods without going into the park, a short distance west of the campground is a road named Walker. There is parking and some great trails that wind thru the awesome trees on that road. Warning, the road west of this park (hwy 199) to the coast is very winding and very narrow for big rigs. There are big redwoods at the very edge of the pavement in some turns. Route 197 is the better way to go. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
5 miles east of Crescent City up US 199 but worth the trip compared to anything else around there. As HDTers it is hard finding RV parks on the west coast that can comfortably accommodate us without parking the HDT off-site. Well maintained Escapees 15% discount park with large green belts adjacent to most sites. Killer Wifi. Best choice for HDTers in Crescent City area. 5 miles up 199 in the Jedediah Smith Redwoods National/State park. Well managed, maintained, Escapees discount park. 15% only. HDTers could fit into many of the sites but their location of street side utilities makes you have to squeeze between those and the concrete patio slab. Many of these utilities are protected with old concrete highway dividers so some slideouts that are closer to the ground might not open all the way so check your fit before blindly opening them. Very pleasant park to be in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Pull through sites are in an arc off of a blacktop road. Fairly level and easy for set up. Long enough for trailer and truck. Wi-Fi and cable TV worked well. About 8 miles from Crescent City and shopping, restaurants and Walmart. Located in the Redwoods and a very pretty setting. Of the several RV parks in this area, this would be my choice. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Hiouchi RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
106
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   10   8   10   10   10   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Right in the Redwoods! That says it all. You are surrounded by old growth redwoods - one in our site was at least 15' in diameter. Some sites are small but ours was big enough for a 28' trailer and tow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Much of what the previous posters had said is still true. I will just modify a few statements. The cell signal with our Verizon air card was present, but spotty. It actually worked better taking it out of the router and external antenna and plugging directly into the computer. This may be due to being a roaming area for Verizon. Cell phones do work, but don't walk around too much or you will drop the call. Satellite TV is nearly impossible due to the extensive tree canopy. I tried with a portable dish, but couldn't get enough signal to lock on. The visitor center opened for the season on May 29th. Funny since they totally missed the Memorial Day crowds a few days before. They did have a few Ranger programs, but we left as they were more geared towards children. In the rains such as we had, the grounds can get pretty muddy since the trees prevent the sun from getting through. In the warmer summer months the shade would be a welcome benefit. All staff at the park is helpful and friendly. Many tenter's frequent the park but all were considerate. We adhered to generator hours of 10 AM to 8 PM, and that made the tenter's happy. One issue though, I didn't see a lot of sites that would hold a larger rig. It's not the size of the site necessarily, but the room to turn into the site with the trees and rocks along the narrow road. My 35' motor home just barely made the turn. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
One of the best places to stay if you want to camp among the giant redwood trees. The camping spaces are nicely nestled in the middle of an old growth grove of trees. We had a 35' motorhome, and there were quite a few spots we would fit. The road is narrow and twisty coming and going. I would not recommend if you have anything larger than 35ft. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park
Camp Information
Sites
190
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   5   7   8   8   7   5   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Nice place. It has a great beach. The bathrooms are clean. It is a little bit run down but it is not bad by any means. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Narrow sites, no parking for towed cars, very dirty, weeds growing everywhere, sites not level. The whole place needs a serious maintenance program.The office is a disorganized mess. You should verify your reservation dates! We will not return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
The reason why I give only a five-rating: Park isn't particularly nice, it looks like a supermarket parking lot with the difference that it's grassy. The only bathrooms are located at the entrance which means the closer you're to the shore, the longer you have to walk there. The showers/restrooms were rather clean, but the hand dryer wasn't working and no paper towels available. Wi-Fi wasn't working anywhere in the park when I've been there and the staff didn't seem to eager to have it fixed. The rate is for a ocean front site. Sites that are further inwards are cheaper. If I stayed there again, I would chose one of those. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Shoreline RV Park & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   7   8   4   5   6   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
The price was right and we stayed for days. Our first impression of the place was that it was run down. Despite that, there were some signs of maintenance being done - the lawn was mowed and the fence and building might have had recent paint. The laundry was good - $3 for a load to wash/dry. The location was good. We took day trips into the redwoods from here. But we didn't like the area. Seems as if the town is still on the rebound and trying to improve things. Lots of poverty and homeless people so we felt uneasy the whole time there. Not sure if we'd do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
We planned on staying a few nights and ended up staying through the holiday weekend, since the weather cleared up. Nice spots, clean showers and laundry facilities. Grass behind each site and a large pet run. Very quiet at night and walking distance to the beach and Safeway. We would recommend this park for the Crescent City area. One of the nicer ones and close to town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$19
Rate was PA discount. It is worth that but certainly not the non-discounted rack rate. This is a mostly seasonal park with only a few sites for transients. Sites are very tight for larger rigs with slides. No table. No fire ring. No room for either. Good for a one nighter but not as a destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Sunset Harbor RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   10   8   10   7   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$44
Park setting is very pretty nestled in tall Redwoods. Very "national park" like setting. However, Wifi VERY marginal, and only 11 very fuzzy Cable channels. Plus, speed bumps about every 50 feet all the way into park. I am an adult; I can slow my speed down and don't need to be treated as a child with too many obnoxious speed bumps. Have stayed at other parks with good WiFi and Cable at a lower cost. Probably will not stay here again, but select another park down the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
For our taste the rating could be higher, but we didn't give a higher rate due to what some families might expect. For families with kids, there is a nice play area where they can burn off energy. However, there isn't a pool which could be a factor for some. Otherwise, it is a beautiful, natural setting amongst redwoods and huge fern. Most sites are totally private due to natural landscaping (which in our opinion was gorgeous). Pad was gravel but level. Picnic table at each site. Hookups were good and cable was good for the 11 channels offered. Satellite reception would be hard to receive due to the redwoods. WiFi was good and Verizon cell signal was good. This park gives you something that most can't give...convenience in a totally natural setting in the redwoods. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$29
Nice campground nestled between huge redwood trees. This makes for a marvelous setting but I guess I'm used to a bit more sun. The hook-ups were good, the site was quite level, there were bushes, and trees around every sight for privacy but you could see other campers which was nice. We had a fire pit and a table with our sight. There is a nice children's playground. Hosts were great. Good central location for exploring the area: Battery Lighthouse, Crescent City Museum, the Redwoods, the harbor, Pebble Beach Drive and the pier. And, let me stress the Redwoods, the Mill Creek trail, the Boy Scout Trail, Howland Drive, and the Stout Grove. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for The Redwoods RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   7   8   6   7   8   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
Easy access off of Hwy 101. Office was closed when we arrived with no information left for us even though we had reservations. The owner does leave her cellphone number on her outgoing office voicemail, so I called. Apparently, the owner was out of town and whomever was manning the office did not leave anything for us. It happens. The owner directed me to the pull through full hook up spots. We had paid in advance so there was no problem. We did use their cable which was fine. We used our own Mi-Fi. I did not use or check out any of the facilities (restrooms, showers, etc). It was a quiet place. Fairly level dirt sites. It had been raining so the ground was muddy and the site was littered with fallen leaves. We are from Western Washington so the rain, mud and leaves are not a big deal for us and of course were weather dependent. There were cement slabs for the picnic tables. Only a few rigs in this section (maybe 6). Perfectly fine for an overnight stay. Would stay there again. Rate reflects a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Park was nice and quiet. Have a 40' Motorhome and parking was not a problem. Love the large Redwoods on the property. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$27
For the area, a good place from what we saw. Good cable TV, good hook ups, etc. Nice wooded setting. We had number 49 (47-51) were good large pull thrus with easy access. Others in that area were back ins, but fine. Really nice staff helped me find out what to do in the area. Good Verizon coverage for phone and W. I don't use anyone internet, so not sure about theirs. Great location for the redwoods. Pretty setting and seemed safe. We stayed here two nights on our way from the west coast to Florida. The park was very quiet, but not sure if that was just the time of year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Village Camper Inn
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com