218052 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Dunlap, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
11.45 miles NE
13.81 miles SW
15.08 miles NW
22.59 miles W
23.12 miles SE
24.54 miles SE
24.71 miles SW
27.16 miles NW
27.16 miles NW
30.96 miles SW
31.52 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Kings Canyon Mh
(559)338-2350
3.51 miles NW
California
Dunlap
Most Recently Reviewed
Sequoia National Forest / Stony Creek Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2011-07-27 04:39:01
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Dunlap, California
Camp Information
Sites
7
Date of Stay
June 2010
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
This is a "stopover" type of place to park. It's the closest place to this entrance of the park without driving too far on mountain roads. We were hoping to stay at a campground in Sequoia National Park, but after pulling our 30' fifth wheel half way up on 180 towards the Wilsonia entrance, decided we had had enough of the steep pitches and narrow road so went back down and parked at King's Canyon. It is primarily a mobile home park, so lots of long-termer's, however, the RV parking is right near the entrance, all in the same block area. They did have 30 amp, but I don't think I saw any 50 (not sure about 20). The weird thing is that the switches show from 50 to 60 amp written on them, but the plug-in is only for 30. The sites are on a grassy area so not perfectly even, but not too bad to level. There are a couple of shade trees here, but mostly full sun. The caretaker was pretty non-existent, so just write your check, put it in the envelope and check out whenever! (A neighbor told us check-out was noon, but that the caretaker was really laid-back and flexible). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
August 2007
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$17
I liked this park very much. Restrooms were nice, but did get a bit smelly after the weekend. I will be here again.. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
Princess Campground is located in Sequoia National Forest and is operated by California Land Management. The campground was very clean and quiet. The caretakers were amazing! They helped me fix several problems I was having with my trailer; loaning me a gas hose and giving me a couple of fuses. We stayed here in late June and the campground was only half full. There are no showers and the restrooms are pit-type toilets, but they didn't smell bad at all; they are new and were very clean. There is a dump station available at the campground with a minimal fee. The only drawback to this campground is the Bear box rule. You must store all food, coolers, etc out of sight and smell in the bear boxes, which are not available at every campsite, or in your vehicle. That said, there have not been any bear sightings at this campground in over two years. The campground is located at about 6000' above sea level, so the temperatures were very pleasant in the upper seventies. It's only a ten minute drive to Hume Lake, so if you can’t get a spot there, this campground is a very good alternative. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$29


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$29
Very beautiful campground: in the middle of mother nature. One can hear the water of the creek running every where: very relaxing. Our site (North 30) was a pull-in, back out site that was just OK for our 25FT motorhome but it was a piece of cake to park the motorhome on the site. Our site was not level but this was announced on beforehand and there's nothing a good pair of levelers can't solve. Don't forget to bring a sweater for the nighttime because even in summertime the nights can be chilly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
We like camping in Sequoias. But we also don't do crowds. There are only three campgrounds in Sequoia with dump station and none with water or electric hook ups. Stony Creek has neither. But it is a few miles north of Lodgepole and nestled on the banks of Stony Creek, hence the name. We have camped here previously in tent and had enjoyed our stay so we decided to go back in the trailer. Glad we did. There was a creek about 20 feet from our trailer and we could hear running water at all times. We saw a few gazelle and a buck next to our camp site. One night a bear got in to the trash bins on the campground. This is a not a site for those who don't want to store their food in the bear lockers. Camp host was very nice and friendly. There was a time when we rarely used to see any RVs in this campground. That was not the case this time. If you don't mind collecting your own wood, there is plenty to pick. Make sure you have small axe though. For us the beautiful surroundings make up for lack of hookups. For some it may not. Make sure you have a long hose to fill your water tanks if you are not carrying water from the valley floor to almost 8000 ft elevation. There is a gas/propane fill up station about half a mile from this site. There are showers there also. No showers on the campground itself. Sites are not leveled enough, so make sure you have plenty of levelling blocks etc. We enjoyed our stay and would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com