206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Fawnskin, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
3.27 miles SE
6.76 miles SE
14.07 miles SW
17.06 miles SW
17.60 miles SW
19.61 miles NW
19.85 miles SW
21.79 miles S
22.87 miles SW
23.37 miles S
24.01 miles NW
25.90 miles SW
26.10 miles SW
26.10 miles SE
28.55 miles NW
32.66 miles SE
35.64 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Blue Whale Lakeside Res
2.40 miles SE
Snow Summit Ski Area
2.96 miles SE
Bear Mountain Ski Resort
3.68 miles SE
Pan Hot Springs 88
5.90 miles E
Snow Valley Mountain Spo
9.98 miles SW
California
Fawnskin
Most Recently Reviewed
Pine Tree RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-05-04 19:32:12
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Fawnskin, California
Camp Information
Sites
170
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$122



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   6   9   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$122
Expensive and exclusive site with entirely privately owned pitches, some of which are rented out by their owners. Very smart and well maintained with concrete pitches. Being privately owned the pitches were generally very well cared for, many with manicured gardens. Not proper camping really but very comfortable and a lovely pool. Felt like we had to be on our best behaviour! Stunning location next to the lake. Only irritation was lack of Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$51
We had a little difficulty at first but the staff was very helpful and helped us into our site in no time at all. We enjoyed being so close to the lake and they activities for all. We stayed for a week and will come back in the the spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$70
THE GOOD: Very nice park, large spaces (privately owned and rented out), each nicely built out with amenities like BBQs, decks and shade trees. It is right on the lake, nice breeze, and there is good access to hiking. THE BAD: We made confirmed reservations in February, balance due $280. When we drove in on July 8, we were told that the owner of our assigned space had pulled it off the rental list, but fortunately they had two other spaces available (we were never notified). The one we chose was nice enough, but did not have a view of the lake like the originally-assigned space. One other item: someone had "painted" a Picasso in one of the men's toilets which remained there all four days for everyone to "enjoy." I guess they only clean the heads once a week. THE UGLY: 1. When we checked out on our last day, we were presented with a bill for $420!! We were then told that the space we had been switched to was a premium $100/night space(instead of our originally-confirmed $70/night) AND they added on another $5/day for electricity. This was never mentioned when we checked in. After four subsequent contacts with the manager (actually a broker, since they are trying to sell the spaces), they refunded $80 (instead of $140) to my credit card. A month later, I'm still fighting them on this. 2. The owners of the space behind us had major rework going on all 4 days we were there - jackhammering out a concrete slab the first day, bringing in sand, gravel and pavers the 2nd day, tamping the ground and installing the 3rd day, and more grinding, cutting and chiseling out rocks on the fourth day. The noise and dust really ruined our vacation, and we had a dusty mess inside and outside of our RV. After complaining to the manager, he assured us that he would give us a night or two for free as compensation. We haven't heard zip on this offer yet, and don't really expect to. BOTTOM LINE: Make sure that you get the full 411 when you check in. Also, there is a very nice, quiet Serrano campground (some hookups) right across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Big Bear Shores RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
June 2008
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
This park is small and not all that nice for the area it is in. The spaces are not nearly the size that the web site states. Our site was supposed to be 45' and it was only about 20. We have a 37' 5th wheel and cold not fit into any of the spots. There is not much shade. We left without staying. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
Okay, here is the 411 on this campground. First let me say the good. It was absolutely beautiful. The trees are huge. The air is clean. The camp host was the friendliest we have ever experienced. All of the sites are spread out, so it is nice and quiet. They allowed fires and they have bathrooms (no showers). In the actually town Green Valley which is about 1 mile from the campground, is a little lake. We rented a row boat and a paddle boat. They have a pay beach for swimming and picnics. The fishing there is great. They stocked it the day before we got there. Now the bad. We did not fit into our site #8. According to "Reserveamerica" we did, and our site was considered an RV site. Luckily they had 2 more sites to choose from. We tried site 24 and after 2 attempts decided to try site 25. No joke we tried 6 times. The camp host moved a wooden barrier for us and we finally made it in. I think we both have permanent sweat stains. This CG is not for anyone over 24 feet. According to the host, it was originally set up for tents only and now they let RV and TT in, but she said she has to turn people way because the internet is wrong on the site lengths. We would definitely recommend this campground, if you fit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
22
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$49



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$49
Quiet! Mostly long-termers and full-timers. Best park in Big Bear area for the money. Seven rating for narrow sites and no amenities. Great internet; best ever in an RV park. Lots of cable TV channels. Good dog walking nearby; a block from the lake. Utilities worked. A little tight backing in for 30'+ rigs. Restrooms and showers showed deferred cleaning. Easy drive up from Hwy 10 through Yucca Valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$49
Plus: Location is in a quiet neighborhood fairly close to the greater Big Bear community. Asphalt interior roads and parking pads. Mature pine trees scattered throughout. Picnic tables and fire rings. The few permanents appear clean and respectful. Large level sites - many are deep enough to accommodate the longest rigs and all are wide enough for slide outs. Extra space between sites (50 feet or so) adds a feeling of privacy. All hookups are easily accessed. Cable and Wi-Fi have good reception. Bathrooms are clean and relatively modern. No charge for using the shower. (Didn't see the laundry room if they have one) Minus: Older very plain RV park having no frills and no pull through sites. No grass or any attempts at landscaping. No office. The manager works out of her RV. Nothing of interest within walking distance. When asked, the manager had no maps of the area. The owner told me Hwy 18 up from Lucerne Valley had lots of switch backs but failed to tell me how Very Steep it is - up to 16% according to the California State Hwy sign. That is a factor that would prevent me from pulling my RV via that route again. Final analysis: Pine Tree RV Park is okay but if returning to the area I would check around to see what the competition had to offer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$45
Amazing little park with only 20 sites but it is close to town with nice cable and as decent a Wi-Fi as you can get at an RV park. Paved sites but not perfectly level. Sites have nice new benches and free fire pits at the site. Easy walk to the lake. Quite a hidden gem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com