215195 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Joshua Tree National Park, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.37 miles W
22.10 miles W
26.77 miles SW
33.47 miles SW
34.06 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Rpi- Ca 29 Palms Rv/Golf Resort 4949 Desert Knoll Twentynine Palms
0.26 miles N
29 Palms Golf Resort
320 34.110128
0.28 miles N
29 Palms Rv & Golf Resort-4949 Desert Knoll
0.29 miles N
Twilight Dunes Rv Pk
3.15 miles N
Joshua Tree National Par
3.24 miles S
Marine Corps Air Ground
4.08 miles N
California
Joshua Tree National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Black Rock Campground (NPS Campgound)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-24 23:09:53
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Joshua Tree National Park, California
Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$5
In my opinion, this is the best campground in JTNP for a medium to large RV. We stayed here and at Cottonwood and we also drove through Jumbo Rocks. Black Rock and Ryan. Our 32' fifth wheel barely fit into a site at Cottonwood, but it was nice, if isolated. I don't think we could have fit into more than a couple sites at Jumbo Rocks and none at Ryan. Black Rock is just ugly. Belle is small, but about 7 of the 18 sites could accommodate a large RV. Our site was pull-through (a 40' trailer could have fit in it) and right next to a beautiful rock formation about 50 feet high. The views are stupendous of the desert all around (unlike Jumbo Rocks where the rocks are cool but there are no views due to the uneven terrain). It is quiet and there is nice space between sites unlike Jumbo Rocks. Belle is also pretty convenient to many good hiking trails and features of the park. We have been camping nearly full-time for three years and Belle was one of the top 2-3 campgrounds we have ever experienced. Get here early in the week to have any chance of getting a site, especially for a big rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$5
My second stay at Belle in Joshua Tree National Park. I prefer it to the other campgrounds because of it's seclusion. It's also the smallest campground in the park with only 18 sites. Makes it nice and quiet. If you want to climb and boulder, you can do it right here or you can travel a short distance to another area in the park to do that. Saw no kids as usual. There are no 40 footers in here, they couldn't make it around the boulders. There is no water, thus no showers in campground. You get a table, bbq and firepit at your site. You also get some awesome views out into the wilderness of Joshua Tree in every direction. It is located within minutes of everything there is to do and see in Joshua Tree. Be sure and reserve a tour of the historic Keys ranch, it is very interesting. Spent 5 wonderful days and hopefully will return again soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
Belle Campground is an awesome place if you are looking for the ultimate in dry camping with marked spots and few amenities. The desert scenery is fantastic. This is one of the smallest campgrounds in the National Park with only 18 spots. Ryan Campground one mile away with 15 spots, is the smallest. You can get big rigs into Belle but carefully through the narrow entrance. I have a 15' travel trailer and was able to maneuver through the campground quite easily. Campground does not get a lot of people driving through to just take a look, which is nice. There is a trail accessible from the campground but it is not a trail head. There is rock climbing in the campground if that is what your into and is fun to watch. There are picnic tables and fire rings at each site but there is no water in the campground so come prepared. You can run a generator from 7AM-9AM, 12PM-2PM and 5PM-7PM. There are no showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Belle Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   2   8   8   2   8   6   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
This is our first visit to Joshua Tree National Park and will definitely visit it again. We love boondocking, and this campground is perfect for it. We were in Site #20, which was a bit uneven, but surrounded by the wonderful Joshua Trees on either side. Friendly host and there is a nice trail that starts within the campground. The road approaching the campground is horrid--it desperately needs repaving. The rate we paid is a discount with our America the Beautiful Annual Pass. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2014
$15
The last 1/4 mile of city road before the park is terrible!! Numerous DEEP potholes and broken pavement....be careful. Interior roads are not any better, they haven't been paved in many years. Tight turns throughout, trees need trimming, tuff for big rigs, but do-able if you are careful. Once in your site, it's a nice place to camp. We stayed 7 days, and the bathrooms were only cleaned ONCE!!! Very disgusting. There was feces on the toilet seats, vomit on the floors. ( when I mentioned it to the ranger, he just said they are short-handed, and couldn't look me in the eye.) The Host, Gene, was very friendly and helpful. He got things done. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$15
The short gravel road to the entrance is a shocker with deep and wide potholes. Dump station and to fill your water tank is $5. Not all sites are level. 3 that are OK are 11, 13, 15. You can make a booking online. If you arrive on a first come, first served basis you are able to stay 2 nights confirmed and if you wish to stay longer you check each morning with the Ranger to see if the site has been booked for the next day before you can extend your stay. The west entrance to the National Park is 14 miles away. Good hiking trails (not in the National Park) are close by. The campground was quiet, has an elevated aspect, and often at dusk you hear coyotes singing. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Black Rock Campground (NPS Campgound)
Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$7.5



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   8   9   7   10   5   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$7.5
We stayed at Cottonwood Springs for 4 nights before moving North to Belle. This campground was isolated and quiet, but it had water and a dump station. The trail to Cottonwood Springs is closed and it is quite far from other sights of the park, so there is not much to do here. It is a terrific place to relax and wander around the desert. Our 32' fifth wheel barely fit in one of the back-in spaces (we had to park our truck by the restrooms) but this was a better option than the "pull-through" sites, which were just too narrow to put out our slides safely. If you want a choice of sites, you need to arrive between Sunday and Thursday during the peak season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2013
$100
Be advised, if you have a slideout and can't back into a site for a 25' trailer, you are out of luck. The so-called pull through sites are wide spots on the curvy loop roads, and with rocks that prohibit "cheating" by pulling your wheels into the sand, you cannot extend a slide without being in the roadway. We had to leave. Some kind of warning on the NPS website, or when we called them would have saved us an hour. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$15
Big thanks to the camp host who posted the earlier review. As stated, this is the last camp to fill up. Tried Jumbo and Belle but they were long since full. Spring Break is no different than any other peak weekend. Campers show up on Thursday evening to grab a spot. Most of them leave Sunday morning. Our 29 footer fit in one of the back in spots with room on the side for our truck. Nice and quiet, even though full. Great hiking. Hope to return again to Jumbo or Belle for easier access to boulder climbing for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Cottonwood Spring (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$8



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   10   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$8
Tuesday, April 16 – Indian Cove Campground. This campground is located in Joshua Tree National Park, CA. It is one of eight campgrounds in the park plus you can wilderness camp but need to check at the Visitor Centers. Indian Cove is in the northern section of the park, and one must drive out towards Twenty-Nine Palms and then off of route 62 take the Indians Cove road to drive back into the park about 3 or more miles. The reason we selected this campground is that it is one of two that accepts reservations in the park. There were 101 one sites located among the rocks with fancy pit toilets located all over. No water or electricity in the park. Sites can be tight, but there are sites that can hold RV’s, but nothing I saw that would take a 35 foot or larger RV. We have a 25ft RV, and our site 53 was a tight squeeze. The park is beautiful with rocks all over. All sites were in the rocks and there are hiking trails and rock climbing areas throughout this campground and the park. This campground is near Twenty Nine Palms for services. We drove up from the south entering near Cottonwood campground and there is a single lane stretch of over 13 miles that you have a lead car that takes you. Heading north the lead car takes off every hour and half hour, and coming down from the north it goes every quarter past and forty five minutes past the hour. Speed limit is 25 but our lead car took off at 40 going over tar, rocks, loose gravel and by construction crews. Watch out for stones hitting your windshield from the car in front. On our way we passed two other campgrounds, White Tank and Belle (smaller than Indian Cove), and we could have fit in there. We also drove into Jumbo Rocks Campground, and that one was stunning and there were some sites in there we could have fit in. They have a limit there of 30 feet. Those campgrounds are first come first serve and Jumbo Rocks on a Tuesday was almost full. Over the weekend all campgrounds were full and campers had to park in an overflow area near Twenty Nine Palms. There are three main visitor centers at the entrances, and all of them have different exhibits. The Twenty Nine Palms Visitor Center also has the Mara Oasis located there. Black Rock, Cottonwood, and Indian Cove cost $15 per night and the others $10. If you have a pass, your entrance to the park is free and the camping is 50% off. Nice spot to camp, and in April the nights are still cold. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$8
We have visited Joshua Tree National Park several times but had never stayed in this campground before. We have a 32' motorhome and tow a Subaru Forester. I would not recommend this campground to anyone driving this sort of set-up. The roads inside the campground were extremely rough and had been made even worse by heavy rains that had fallen just prior to our visit. We found only two or three sites that we felt were suitable for a rig of our size. The area is nice enough, but not as pretty as Jumbo Rocks in my opinion and Jumbo Rocks has more spaces that work for larger rigs and is more convenient to the rest of the park. Be aware that there are no hook-ups of any kind nor any water or dump station at Indian Cove. There are pit toilets, but no showers. This is a dry camping experience, so come prepared. As others have said, generator hours are very limited. I would recommend this campground to anyone tent camping or using a small trailer or truck camper, but not to anyone with a large rig. We would not stay here again. We paid $7.50 with our Golden Age pass, for others the fee is $15 a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$15
We camped here while the massive rain storms were hitting Southern California and we got some light rain, lots of wind and great weather. The interesting thing here is the weather is different than Joshua Tree, so don't be discouraged - It's beautiful. We were one of two RVs (the other our friends) as this is totally dry camping. Pay attention to generator run times, there is no water (except at ranger station) and the nearest dump is at Blackrock - about a 10 mile trip. We found out on leaving that it's only $5 to dump at Blackrock and they have drinking water too, so from now on we'll come empty, fill, camp then dump too ($10 vs. using all the fuel to haul 75 gallons of water). This is on the North end of the park and a long hike can get you into more of the park and if you drive in you still have to pay the $15 fee. There are lot's of climbers here, great rocks to scramble over and at night it's so quiet you can hear someone breathe 10 ft away. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Indian Cove (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   10   10   7   7   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
What a wonderful national park! We came on Sunday and the visitors center said there were about a dozen sites available at Jumbo rocks. We went directly to the campground to claim a site and found many more were available. It is in the heart of the park with a ton of beautiful trails and scenery a short distance away. Just the campground itself is great, with the large bolders all around the sites. We found a spot to fit our 25' trailer and parked the truck beside it. These spots have 2 together so anything much longer would not fit. Spots generally are small as they cater to tent camping but there were many rv's staying there. Next time though we would pay for 2 spots so that we are guaranteed the room to hook up when we leave. No problems this time as the guy who took the spot next to use just needed to park his truck there so we had room. I would love to stay there again as it is a jewel of a park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
Beautiful scenery and setting. We stayed for 7 nights and could not get enough of being right in the heart of the National Park. Busy campground that seems to fill up any night of the week in March with mostly tenters. Only a dozen or so sites that you can pull into comfortably with a trailer or motor home. The best sites are pull outs along the main road towards the end of the park. Lots of traffic coming in an out of the park all day so you feel like your are on the interstate with all the vehicles passing by your site constantly. Our last night once the sun went down there were some shady characters parking their deadbeat vehicles in other peoples sites and wandering into the bush trying to camp for free. We were sure to lock up all of our stuff as we had a feeling anything not secured would be gone in the morning. We stayed site #71 - probably the most secluded and private of all the sites for an RV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$10
Beautiful campground. But it is really popular, even on a weekday. We were really lucky to get in as were were in a 31ft rig, and you can't reserve. We just planned on ensuring that we arrived in the morning. The campsites are between the boulders so even when you go off to explore they are hardly visible. The kids (2 and 4) had an amazing time climbing over the boulders and so did we. We visited in March which was perfect weather wise. Not too hot/not too cold. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Jumbo Rocks Campground (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com