206676 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Julian, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.61 miles NW
11.12 miles SW
17.92 miles SW
18.10 miles SE
18.58 miles NE
18.58 miles NE
20.48 miles SW
23.34 miles NW
25.53 miles SW
26.04 miles S
27.94 miles SE
28.52 miles NW
29.41 miles NW
29.76 miles S
30.53 miles SW
30.56 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Kq Ranch Resort-449 Ko Ranch Rd
2.35 miles S
Rpi- Ca K Q Ranch (Cra) 449 Kq Ranch Rd Julian
2.38 miles S
William Heise
3.10 miles SW
Stagecoach Trails Resort
(877)896-2267
7.60 miles E
Cuyamaca Rancho (30')
7.77 miles SW
Vallecitos Spring 79
10.14 miles SE
Tt Ca Oakzanita Springs *Ta 11053 Hwy 79 Descanso (L11/1-4/29) 619-445-2515,Ttnlt
12.53 miles S
Bernard'S - Borrego Spri
15.31 miles NE
Anza-Borrego (35')
15.51 miles NE
D and E's
16.70 miles NE
La Pavilion At Rams Hil
16.86 miles NE
California
Julian
Most Recently Reviewed
Butterfield Ranch
Latest Review Submited On
2013-04-29 14:59:32
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Julian, California
Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   3   2   8   7   7   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
My rate stated includes tax and the $2/night dog fee. The main reason we decided to camp here is a friend's recommendation. The staff greeted us in a very friendly manner and they were very helpful and available. The sites are very spacious. The problem here is deferred maintenance. Everything that has been painted needs repainting. The signs within the park are all old and faded or broken. The sites themselves were a weed patch. I still have foxtails and plant matter stuck to my UGG boots. The bathroom gets an extra point for the hand painted tarantula on the stall door. The bathroom loses a point for a hole in the wall covered up with a sheet of paper asking to keep the door closed. I assume that rule is to keep the wild animals out. The pool bathroom had a broken hinge on the stall door. There was no soap in the bathroom either. The solar heated jacuzzi was nice, but cloudy water made me feel I was in a natural pool. The rec room with a pool table was locked up the whole time we visited over the weekend. Too bad some of that solar heated water did not help the freezing pool. I would not return until they made some improvements. I would rather camp in a primitive camp or nearby county park than go back there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
We had just purchased our first travel trailer and this was our maiden voyage in our new toy. The staff was kind, the one male staffer we saw everyday we were here, checked on us everyday. The park was pretty empty. When we arrived there were about 13 sites taken, we decided to take one that was away from everyone so that we could get some quiet. The had 2 cabins that were behind us quite aways, and they had tents and trailers all hooked up next to the cabin. They were very loud even though quiet hours were after 8pm. They didn't enforce the rules, the pet policy that is. All dogs were supposed to leashed and none except my dogs were leashed. They boast 3 pools: there was only 1 functioning at the time we were here. The spa was not functioning either. We pulled up to several sites to find that the hook ups were not working. We moved 3 different times to find a working site. All sites were on dirt which most were level. Picnic tables were on at least 1/3 of all sites, as well as fire rings. Convenience store was really pricy: I guess that's what you pay for convenience. We will probably not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$13
The rate reflects a monthly rate. The daily rate is $37 a night. We had visited this park a year ago and were looking forward to spending a full month this year. What a disappointment. The place has really deteriorated. The infrastructure is falling apart and we were told that the owner would not pay for parts. There were electric hookups that did not work and water lines broken and just flowing. There was a huge dump right behind the camping area and the permanent mobile homes were generally filthy. The workers did not know how to manage a site. The WiFi was only available in the Visitor Lounge but the lounge was only open from 9 am to 6 pm. If you went somewhere during the day and got back at dinner time, you could not get to the WiFi. Since there was no cell phone coverage, this made it very isolated. More important, the workers did not seem to care whether you were happy or not. They were workers and did not work very hard: just what they had to do. We would never stay here again. In fact, we left before the month was over and went elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Butterfield Ranch
Camp Information
Sites
224
Date of Stay
October 2012
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   10   10   8   8   6   8   3   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$1
The Saturday night steak is a must. Enjoyed wolf sanctuary next door. Chilly weather but the pool hot tub and fire place warm. Plenty of coffee and tea. Lots of activities. My cats ran up a few trees and a big dog park. This is a nice place. The internet is slow We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$5
They will hound you for weeks after they have your name: usually obtained at Camping World. The sites with shade are few and far between. The previous reviews must have been done by one of their salespeople. Julian is nice: KQ Ranch is average at best. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$1.0
A park-like setting, and kids paradise including a huge play area with swings, clubhouse, organized games, etc. Sites are large and gravel. Some of those in the hills may be hard to back into. Clubhouse is large and comfortable with fireplaces, and attractive gas outdoor fire pit. Swimming pool and spa are large and pleasant. Remember to bring your food as the charming town is four miles away and has no large supermarkets. General store at resort is well stocked and handy. But beware, park gets a 10, but State Highway Roads get a 6 as they are curvy mountain snake trails for miles. Price reflects CRA membership. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for KQ Ranch Camping Resort
Camp Information
Sites
19
Date of Stay
October 2009
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
We camped at KQ Ranch on a free weekend and discovered this campground at Lake Cuyamaca. We got the second spot from the lake and it was absolutely beautiful. The facilities were clean, everyone was very friendly, and there are plenty of things to do in the area. 50 miles or so from San Diego and very close to historic Julian and Indian reservations. We can't wait to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
230
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   8   6   7   10   7   9   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$56
It started to go wrong, trying to make the reservation. The lady said the campground was full and directed us elsewhere. No place there either, so we tried to pass by. Full, she said, but after a while persisting, we were allowed to enter. About 10 empty sizes at the ground that night, all fine for our size. Those with shade were free, we were in the sun, next to a PortaPotty. They just do not want people for 1 night, but do not advertise it. People queing up for potty "toilets." Fishing pond ($5 US) without fish in the right size. Everywhere signs: Not Allowed To... WiFi only within a 50 ft distance from the office. New owners could turn the place in a nice Campground. To be avoided now. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$43
There are good sites and there are great sites here, no bad sites and lots of shade. Some of the better sites do not have sewer hookups but it's easy to find the Dump Station. The signs are as big as a house and clearly say DUMP STATION. I'm not sure why they don't use stripes on the roads to guide you there: but that's their way. So you might get a site next to a huge DUMP STATION sign. Would have given this place and 8 or 9 if they actually had Wi-Fi. What they have is a "Hot Spot" at the office that has no range and therefore with no cable TV and no Wi-Fi at the sites you really are in the "dark" so to speak. In this day and age this seems inexcusable. The demographics of the place are mostly senior citizens: many escaping the heat in the Desert or in Arizona. (A pretty conservative group I might add). The owners allow people to leave their campers on site for a $270 a month fee. They limit use to 14 days per month. Not a bad deal if you like to save $$ on gas hauling your rig around. Not much for kids to do here with no TV or Internet except I saw a few Dads letting their youngsters drive golf carts and even sit on their lap driving around the park in the car. Put in real Wi-Fi and convert the mudhole they call a fishing pond into a swimming pool and this place could easily get a 10. The staff was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
Pinezanita is a great park, quiet, peaceful and a nice escape from it all. The sites are of great size, electrical and water in each and sewer hook-ups in some, plus big shade trees, picnic tables and fire rings. It is a short drive to Main St., Julian and the wonderful little shops and eateries. The staff was very nice and helpful and stayed open late for registration for the holiday weekend. The office has firewood, toiletries, etc. for sale and movies for rent. Some of the spots are occupied by permanent residents, but their sites, as well as the rest of the park is well maintained and clean. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Pinezanita Tent & RV Camping
Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   8   7   8   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We stayed for a cub scout campout; it was a lot of fun. We stayed in site 45 which was big and very isolated. There is a leaning tree and we came in after dark so it took us 1/2 hour to maneuver on the spot. We have a 35 foot 13 foot high rig. Has shade and sun. The park is real nice with trails, and lots of real nature. This area of park is non-hookups and there is no generator use in the park. Nice county park; there are horseshoes. Restrooms were clean. There are nice cabins to rent. They are new as the old ones burned down a few years ago in the fire. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$23
The park is very nice. It is surrounded by trees. There is large meadow for kids to play ball or run around. The hiking trails are well-marked and easy enough for family. The RV loop is a bit tight. Some of them are like parking spaces. Others are a little bit farther apart. The no-hookup sites are definitely more spacious. The bathroom and shower is well-maintained. There is hot and cold water, except the water is yellow-ish, probably not good for drinking. The dump site is right next to the bathrooms. Overall we enjoyed the park. Julian is only 10 minutes away for yummy apple pies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
Our stay at William Heise was our first time dry camping in our new TT. While there is one loop of full hook-up sites, I would recommend trying one of the other non-hookup loops if you are self-contained. The non-hook-up sites tend to be much larger and are further apart from each other. Our site had a large pad area and then a tent and fire pit area down below, giving us a lot of room and privacy. The facilities were very clean. Just walking through the expansive campground loops in the morning/eveving was very nice. There are also several hiking trails with trailheads in the park. The town of Julian is close by and makes a nice day trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for William Heise County Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com