219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Kernville, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.60 miles S
11.28 miles SE
28.58 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Hot Spring 113
1.98 miles SE
Scovern Hot Springs 133
9.55 miles SW
Miracle Hot Sprs, Hobo Hot Sprs 119
13.72 miles SW
Delonegha Hot Springs 112
17.07 miles SW
California
Kernville
Most Recently Reviewed
Camp Kernville
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-21 16:16:07
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Kernville, California
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
February 2012
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   10   7   2   7   10   9   1   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$47
The idea of charging $5 a night per pet is somewhat ridiculous as our pets never leave our campsite and we pick up after them. I would give much higher grades if the management were not so adamant about gouging us for having a pet. If they want $50 a night they should charge that - the $42 price is misleading. Otherwise everything worked. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$45
Pets are another $5 per day. For this, you would think they would come pickup after your pet, to establish a value for this fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
What a great place to camp. We stayed in the full hook up site #8 and could see the Kern River and also hear it. Now they have cable TV. Great Wi-Fi and lots of quiet. This campground is close to town and we went and ate the first night at a lovely Italian restaurant. Will return this spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Camp James Campground
Camp Information
Sites
47
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
We visited here in the summer 2014 with our kids and dogs and had a great time. They allow tent camping on the sites and charge for a lot of extras so you should review their website for more information. Sites are generally small and close to each other on gravel and dirt. Staff was helpful when we were booking the site and while there. There can be a party atmosphere but fortunately many families were camping this weekend. The private area of the river isn't very long but it is a smaller campground. We visited this area for the river and had a great time all along areas of the river with our inflatables. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
question
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$44
A nice place along the river and close to town. The showers where old and in need of upgrade, the trash cans where all over-flowing and not monitored. Understaffed!! Looks to be a party campground along the river, good if your into that. Super dog friendly. Would I stay there again? No. Expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
54
Date of Stay
November 2007
Latest Rate
$17


Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$17
Great state campground. We stayed right on the river. Almost everyone in the park was fishing. The site was level and right next to a sandy beach on the river. If you want a resort not the place to stay. I you like piece and quiet and nice scenery then it is the place to stay. We are going to make it our Thanksgiving campgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2008
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
I love the Kern River: but this was a horrible experience. There was a "camp host" who never left their own trailer. There was a group partying ALL NIGHT with a generator and very loud music, yelling, fighting, etc. No one did a thing about it, and we didn't get any sleep at all. That aside, the only really shady spots are right on the river. Right around spot 21 is nice. But the river is great. I won't tent camp here again. Definitely bringing the trailer next time. We camped here in a Tent.
Camp Information
Sites
286
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   9   5   9   9   10   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
Great riverside camping but...Young guys now running the park, heavy on ridiculous rules, bathrooms are run down and not regularly cleaned. Stayed for five days and urinals never cleaned. Sites are not cleaned after people leave. I found the management very evasive in answering questions. Only 10 sites occupied out of several hundred (there's a reason) . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$45
Nice park, appears to be an older one, some full time residences. The park was quiet, and situated North of town approximately 2 miles to town center. The restrooms were in need of some general repair. They were clean, but fixtures were old. The sites were large and shaded. There are several sites adjacent to river or close by. River sites will require some advance planning. They charge you a daily $5 pet fee which I thought was excessive, since the pet station area wasn't kept stocked. Couple fish cleaning stations available. Cable TV requires their receiver box. No deposit required, make sure you return. It may require assistance from staff to hookup to RV, some different from others. I will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$45
Great park and a great location! Only seconds from town. We stayed at a full hook up spot. Would have given a 10 except that we were sewer challenged with a VERY small sewer hole. There was a larger one available. but it was so far above the level of the rig that you had to play with the hose. Because of the time of year, there were very few other campers here so we had the run of the place. Very clean and very nicely kept park. We WILL be coming back! The cable TV thing was a non-issue. If you don't give back their equipment, they will charge your card, so: give it back! Also of note: we have Verizon and although the voice coverage was shaky, the data coverage worked well enough. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Rivernook Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com