206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Paicines, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
23.82 miles SW
25.62 miles SW
28.07 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Pinnacles National Monume
12.35 miles SW
Mercey Hot Springs 119
13.46 miles NE
Iridat Spring 73
16.23 miles NE
California
Paicines
Most Recently Reviewed
Thousand Trails - San Benito Preserve
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-08 04:57:34
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Paicines, California
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   8   8   3   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
The rate reflects a 50% senior pass discount. This is a former KOA campground in the newly minted Pinnacles National Park (from a National Monument). The new designation is increasing visitation, so reservations are recommended. This is in an isolated area, so no cell (Verizon) or Verizon data. Most sites will get satellite. The roads to the park are slow and windy, so be prepared to go slowly. Some of the sites have 30 amp and some 50 amp. We were lucky and got a nice 50 amp (good and strong) service. The campground is laid out very strangely, sort of like done by someone that has had too much to drink, but it works OK. There is not a lot of privacy, but it was quite and dark at night. The park is definitely a hiking park. If you are not a hiker, there is not a lot to see. If you are a hiker it is great. We enjoyed our visit, but probably will not return as we have “done” the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Overall, Pinnacles campground is good. Realize it is 30miles away from any major city (Hollister or King City) and there are no other camping parks in the area. There are quite a few tent campgrounds which looked nice but the hike to the showers/restroom is long. We stayed in the RV park section in a travel trailer which was pretty much dirt spaces and faded caulk lines. There is very little shade in the campgrounds and from walking the RV site area, sites # 91 and 95 are probably the best. The RV sites do have 30amp hook-ups, but that is it. For water, you need to fill your tanks at one of 5 areas. There is a dumping station on site which is nice. There is a nicely stocked general store and a good size pool in walking distance from all campgrounds. This is the 1st national park we have stayed at with a pool. The story goes it actually used to be a KOA property and now managed by someone else. I believe the campground is run separately from the Pinnacles Park itself. If you are a hiker, you need to drive from the campground over to parking areas to hit the trails. The trails are well maintained, but the caves might not all be open; check with the general store prior to hiking. Also, if you like camp fires at night, call in advance as extreme fire conditions did not allow us to burn anything i.e no wood fires or BBQ with briquettes. Gas stoves were OK. This place gets real hot, so bring plenty of water and coverings for shade. Finally, there are lots of critters as mentioned in other posts, so lock your food items up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Spent one night here. I felt $36 was a bit pricey for a site w/electric only. Restrooms were clean. Campsites are well marked. Staff inside store knowledgeable and friendly. Showers are pay for use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Pinnacles Campground
Camp Information
Sites
510
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   7   6   6   6   1   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2014
$1
When we arrived we tried to find an electrical receptacle that we could use and it was a bit of a trial. Too many are out of commission and we finally ended up in their 50-amp section just because we didn't want to futz around. This is a good base to explore the area. We went to Monterey, Santa Cruz, and over to Pinnacles NP (what a special place.) This campground needs a lot of work to make it look nice. We did see a crew cleaning up the leaves and fallen branches one of the days we were there. Keep up the good work. On the other hand, the trees were huge, the spaces are large, and there was a neat trail to walk outside the camping area itself. We would definitely camp there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
This is an RV Resort past its prime. Many advertised sites are closed or no longer have the advertised utilities. The facilities are old and worn. Campsites are very littered with everything from clothing to discarded utensils to used condoms. Full time or part time residents have erected various structures on sites creating the look of a hobo jungle in areas. I wouldn't bring young children here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
This is in a quiet out of the way location in the heart of wine country. We drove past huge vineyards and vegetable fields on the way to get here. The park is older and needs TLC; although, it has a nice club house and some weekend dinners. The folks here are very nice and there is a great feeling about this place. There are deer, bobcats, (so keep a close watch on your little dog) wild turkeys, coyotes, eagles, black birds...and lovely huge oaks and it is Very Quiet. The trees can be a problem if you have a high rig so be attentive! We damaged our trailer on a low branch which will cost us thousands, sadly....but live and learn. The electrical service is in dire need of attention. Some of the sites are getting electrical upgrades, but our site near the dry creek bed had repeated low voltage (below 105 volts) every morning. Fortunately, we have a wired-in electrical protector that shut off power when this occurred and showed us the lowered voltage so our equipment was not damaged. But I feel sorry for folks that are not similarly protected so we cannot recommend this park unless you have a shut off for low voltage or will not be using the power for devices that can be hurt by low voltage. When we stayed here in October, the grass on the sites was short, dry and covered with leaves...not really unpleasant but a rake would be handy. This location is a convenient distance to Pinnacles National Park which we enjoyed visiting the day after federal funding was restored. The price reflects that we are Thousand Trails members and stayed at a 30 amp site. 50 amp service is $5 extra per day. Verizon service was OK, helped by our cell phone booster. All in all, we loved this park because of the great wildlife, energy, and peace. We will come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Thousand Trails - San Benito Preserve
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com