206622 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Simi Valley, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.63 miles NW
11.39 miles SE
11.56 miles SE
13.50 miles NE
17.76 miles SE
19.44 miles NW
19.86 miles SW
25.75 miles SE
32.16 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Costco 8055783300
3.24 miles SW
Wal-Mart
255 Corchran St
3.40 miles W
Ronald Reagan Presidential
5.61 miles SW
California Lutheran Univ
8.40 miles SW
Costco 8188848968
9.59 miles SE
Costco 8185973900
9.70 miles SW
Santa Monica Mountains N
10.15 miles SW
Corrigan'S Steak House
10.40 miles SW
Wal-Mart
19821 Rinaldi St
10.47 miles E
Cosmos Grill & Rotisserie
10.72 miles SE
Bacio Trattoria
10.72 miles SE
Costco 8187751819
11.45 miles SE
Wal-Marti-5:167 25450 The Old Road (Located To Block)
11.74 miles NE
Camping World
Valencia
11.76 miles NE
California Institute Of Th
12.38 miles NE
Old Trapper'S Lodge
12.47 miles SE
Six Flags Magic Mountai
12.55 miles NE
California State Univ -
12.76 miles SE
Malibu Creek Sp (30')
13.78 miles S
Columbia College - Hollyw
13.79 miles SE
Le Sanglier French Rest
13.93 miles SE
Saddle Peak Lodge
14.77 miles SE
California
Simi Valley
Most Recently Reviewed
Elks Lodge #2492 (Members Only)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-25 21:57:57
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Simi Valley, California
Camp Information
Sites
8
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
This is for Elks members only. They have just updated (wide) the RV parking sites. Good level gravel with full hooks on 8 sites. Rate is now $20.00. We could not get the cable to work but that might be a work in progress. Verizon works great. Close to Regan library about 12 miles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$15
Elks Members Only. There are 5 sites in the shade, no satellite possible and 3 other sites OK for satellite. No local TV. Social Lodge, plenty of activities. Close to Reagan Library. No reservations. Verizon Strong. Pet Friendly. Enter through alley off Kuehner Dr. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
January 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   7   7   9   6   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
We stayed here 2 nights. It is a beautiful park, very convenient for our visit to Ronald Reagan's library (which is highly recommended!). It was also convenient for our visit to Lompoc. The only 2 negatives were the trains (which weren't much of a problem since they don't run at night) and the poor cellular connection. We drove past LA at night to avoid the traffic and found this campground a good place to stop. A phone call to the county informed us that it was OK to arrive at 5:30 am, just push the gate open. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
I am a little baffled by the high ratings for this park. The upsides, to me, are far out weighed by the downsides. The upsides are the sites are paved, the lower campground has some shade trees, and you are close to the Regan Library. The down sides are that the lower campground is right next to the train tracks that run constantly starting at 5 AM. Since there is a road crossing the tracks that enters the campground, nearly every train blasts it's horn as it passes the camping area. The sites are mostly dirt with sparse old vegetation scattered around the area. The electric power is poor. The pedestal tripped several times with only us and 1 other rig in the campground. The water pressure is extremely high so bring a regulator if you decide to stay here. And to top it off, we were chastised our first night here and told we were not allowed to walk around or leave our campsite after dark! We spoke to the ranger the next morning who admitted that the camp hosts were "over zealous", but he would rather have them that way than not do anything. He clarified that you were not to walk in the "day use" area after dark because they used to have "problems" here. Although this was not in the rules, we were supposed to "know" this. And to make matters worse, they want another $25 to use the dump station on top of the $30 a day fee for the camp site. This place is not worth the money, and the goofy UN-posted rules are ridiculous. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Nice park run by the County of Ventura. They will not take reservations if your arrival date is 14 days or less in advance. They post which sites have a reservation so you just pick one that is available on first come basis. Trains do pass by, but not a real problem. Lower park is MUCH nicer, upper park is saved for large groups and is just a big parking lot. Very short drive to the Reagan Library. Dump fee is $25. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Oak Park
Camp Information
Sites
17
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   7   3   6   8   7   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
The day use portion of the park is quite large and open with convenient pavilion availability and restrooms, plush lush green grass and afternoon shade. There is a clear separation between the day use and the campground portion of the park. The husband host of the park is friendly and respectable, but the wife host is just about vicious in her approach to visitors as she lays out and tries to enforce the untold rules while using no tact or customer service. Her attitude and approach alone ruined our stay and we decided to leave without spending the night to a more friendly and accommodating place. I am sure her tone could have a place and time, but shouldn't be used all the time. Plus side of campground is that it does have electric and water hook ups, but negatives are beyond that it's plain, boring, dusty, little shade, spider friendly shrubs are the only greenery, and the ever watching eye of the wife camp host. We won't visit again unless for a day use event. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
As most others mentioned, this is a pretty nice county park. There is no cell coverage, TV, or network connection of any kind. We were visiting family in the area so it worked for us. The biggest problem is the inability to walk your pet in the day use area. The only grass around. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$37
Liked this park for its quiet atmosphere. Very few campers even in June over a weekend. No Wi-Fi and basically no cell phone reception: actually a nice change! We had two dogs with us and were told to not walk them in the day use area: not even on the road. Not so great but there is a dog park fairly close by. Since we were visiting relatives we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Tapo Canyon Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com