206673 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Ventura, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.58 miles N
8.49 miles SE
10.78 miles NE
13.35 miles NE
14.89 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Surfers Point
1.31 miles SW
San Buenaventura State B
1.62 miles SE
Emma Wood Sb (35')
1.69 miles SW
Howery's
2.03 miles SE
Barber RV
3.58 miles SE
Cummins Cal Pacific 15 2 0
3.96 miles SE
Channel Islands National
4.08 miles SE
Texaco
Montalvo
5.47 miles SE
Mcgrath Sb (34')
5.56 miles SE
Todey Chevrolet
8.55 miles SE
Costco 8059832249
8.85 miles SE
Sams Club 2401 N Rose Ave (Located To Block)
9.03 miles SE
Wal-Mart
2001 N Rose Ave
9.23 miles SE
Coast Guard Famcamp
9.46 miles SE
Money Pancho - Oxnard
9.58 miles SE
Ojai Valley Inn & Countr
10.11 miles NE
Ranch House - Ojai
10.25 miles N
Fairways Rv Resort
10.72 miles SE
L'Auberge - Ojai
10.79 miles NE
Naval Construction Battal
12.74 miles SE
Matilija Hot Springs 109
12.90 miles N
Stingleys Hot Springs 123
14.26 miles NW
Steckel Park
Santa Paula
14.33 miles NE
Vickers Hot Springs 124
14.59 miles NW
Wheeler Springs 102
14.61 miles N
Naval Air Warfare Center
16.18 miles SE
Pt. Mugu Nas Rv Pk
17.00 miles SE
California
Ventura
Most Recently Reviewed
Rincon Parkway Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-03-28 21:41:23
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Ventura, California
Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   5   8   8   6   10   6   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  question  question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  question  no  question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
Wonderful campground that could use some state's money for some TLC to bring it back to it's past glory. Besides the obvious lack of care, this place is a gem of the Ventura coast line. Lovely being just feet from the ocean, seeing dolphins in the distance, and shell collecting early morning. I actually enjoy the sound of the train passing throughout the day - it's just part of the Emma Wood experience. Definitely a repeat stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
This is one of the worst examples of the neglect of California's State Parks. No maintenance or improvements have been made in years. Sites are disintegrating are difficult to level up on. This is the closest you will ever camp to the ocean, but it is desperately in need of MONEY for repairs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
You can't get much closer to the ocean than this campground. I used to like this place much better, but things have "slipped" here. For instance the rules that they have posted are not enforced by anyone. Park employees do not patrol, and law enforcement is scarce. This has allowed homeless to frequent the park. One individual drove in after hours, slept in his car, defecated next to the car, and drove off and left it (restrooms are NOT available at this location). The site numbers on the pavement are nearly completely worn off, and the sites could use a little regrading. The state is clearly putting no money into this park. I won't stay here again, for the price I will pick a different beach location. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Emma Wood State Beach
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   9   8   8   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$48
We have camped at Faria several times over the last four years. Last week, I discovered Faria's dirty little secret. Since there are no reservations, everything is on a "first come, first served" basis. At least that is what is published on the Web and at the campground. In reality, local people place a tent at an unoccupied site and use the tent as a "place holder" for when the owner returns with his RV. Such practice is perfectly correct. I saw nine sites occupied by "tent place holders" during my stay at Faria. One person even placed a tent on my RV site without even asking me. Such practice allow campers to place a tent at a site on say Wednesday, presumably pay the daily fee of $48 while the tent holds their site. Then the RV family arrives on Friday and they remove their tent and park their RV. The problem is that many families pass through Faria and when they see the tent (but no campers are actually occupying the site) yet and are turned away because of the "tent placeholder". Such behavior is tolerated and encouraged by the Parks Department of Ventura and the Board of Supervisors. Faria is a great campground, but using "a tent as a placeholder" for several days is just wrong. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
We showed up on a Thursday morning at 9:30am. All the hook up sites were taken, but there were still a half dozen dry sites. Ours was right in front of the ocean. We could see crashing waves from our bed window. This is a very friendly place. I think a lot of locals come often, and over the years get to know each other, but everyone is friendly to newbies likes us. I suspect it would be hopping on the weekend. I really hope to go again sometime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$48
Very nice campground if you love fantastic views and beautiful sunsets. Beach is great at low tide and lots to do and see in the area. If you want a nice spot get there early Sunday or Monday during the months of November thru May. June thru Sept are very difficult months to camp at this campground. Also, keep everything of value locked up at night, if not locked up it will walk away! We loved it and would highly recommend it for a nice relaxing few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Faria Beach Campground
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
January 2011
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
We had intended to stay at Lake Casitas, but learned about the 2-night weekend minimum the hard way. At the end of a long (but fabulous) drive over 166 down winding but gorgeous 33. The fellow at Lake Casitas sent us to nearby Foster Park, a teeny tiny park that is well past its glory days. Trails are barricaded, and for good reason. Tree limbs are down everywhere, no maintenance of any kind. The 10 RV sites are paved (back-ins) but pretty off-level. There is a fair amount of road noise, too. It's OK for a one-nighter, but we should have gone back toward Ojai and stayed at Camp Comfort, where we could have at least, walked the mile to downtown Ojai. Here, we're sort of stuck (no toad) on a highway with the bad trails. Oh well. Better luck tomorrow, as at least we have Internet access for better research. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$44
We stayed in a full hookup site which is one row back from the beach sites that are dry camping. The sites are fairly close together, but doable. Pets are allowed on the beach on leash, which is a nice perk. Pulling in and out of your site can be a bit dicey due to the narrow roads and other campers trying to fit their cars in front of their rigs. There is open day use parking in the campground, so lock up your stuff if away from your rig or at night. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
The view of the Channel Islands, Santa Cruz Island, is beautiful. You are also able to watch the dolphins, surfers, paddle boarders, and fishing boats right from your motorhome. We dry camped right next to the ocean; for a few dollars more you can pay a little extra and hook up to electric, water and sewer. It is a very tranquil spot and we'd love to come back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
A hidden secret on PCH (Rt 1), just north of Rincon Parkway. This small county CG has spectacular views from the dry sites along the stone seawall, and is quiet, except for the continual roar of the surf. Fun to watch surfers morning and evening time. Sites can be reserved in advance ($45 Apr-Nov, $40Nov-Apr for full hookups - $30 Apr-Nov, $25 Nov-Apr for non-hookups). We dropped in for a night and stayed for a week. A few sites can take 40'+ rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Hobson Beach Campground
Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   10   9   8   5   7   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  no  no  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  no  question  no  no  no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
As previously noted, this campground is a spectacular find. The Ranger who came by to check on the campground was very nice when she asked us to move a bit further into our site. (Our slides were poking out of our site.) So be sure to stay within the lines at each space. Just a wonderful, wonderful location. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
You are getting, a road and railway line on one side of you which is completely offset by the Pacific Ocean literally out your door. We closed the roadside windows and blinds, opened the oceanside windows and the roar of the sea one night was so loud we couldn't hear anything else. There is a rock wall that is easily climbable and apart from high tide when there is no sand, the beach is great for swimming and walking. We never expected to be so impressed with camping by a road. We had 2 of the best sunsets ever. We would definitely stay here again. Note: no restrooms or showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
Love this place and it never lets me down. That is until now! Seriously, they are charging for my dog! They don't offer any amenities for the dog, and they charge $1/ night. Can we say rip off. Not an incentive for me to pick-up after my dog, but I always do. I wish the spaces were a little bigger so it would be easier to maneuver in as most people pull right up to the line in front of me and behind me. Also I have a tow vehicle that I'd love to fit into the spots. The other thing I'd love to see are more of these spots along the ocean front in Ventura. They are awesome, but there are so few spots. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Rincon Parkway Campground
Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   2   4   3   5   7   5   8   1   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$45
We stayed 2 nights and the only complaint is the park construction noise. Started early in morning. Laundry facilities has issues. Friendly staff; however, the after hours check in staff was not knowledgeable. I had to go in next morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$90
This was the fourth time we have stayed here; every time before has been PERFECT; this time a disaster. We go to Ventura for a dog show at the fairgrounds same time every year. We know it's a holiday, and we enjoy hearing everyone celebrate. We have always been able to choose our site; we make reservations 6 months in advance. On arrival, we were told that because we didn't pay a fee of $15, our site selection had not been guaranteed. We said we would gladly have paid that and more to guarantee the site; we were told "well you know now". We were squeezed into the same size site in another section of the park, with ANOTHER RV at no reduction of price. We were so upset, I was in tears. Eventually they moved us to a site near the one we had chosen. We noticed that the sewer connection was full of water, but hooked up anyway and had no problems until we left and were unable to dump our tanks. Also, they had a band playing until midnight on Saturday, even though quite time was 10PM. We complained to Security to no avail. When we went home, we tried to contact the park manager to voice our issues but never received a return call. We posted on their Facebook page with the same request; they removed our post without a call. I don't know if this place has changed hands or not, but it seems like they feel like you have no other choice but them so put up or shut up! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$68
The elevated noise level here is well known, so just deal with it or don't go here. For the first time in multiple visits over multiple years, the check-in went without a hitch. IF you arrive at prime arrival time, the line at the desk will be 10 deep!! A new twist (at least to us) was the armbands (to keep people in the park only to paying visitors). The bathroom near our campsite was clean but very, very messy. The park does not have walkways from the outlying rows to get to the restrooms, so you have discourteous campers walking through your dinner at the provided table to get there or to the overflowing trash bins. Speaking of which...they pick up at 7AM on Saturday (yuk), but not until 10:30 on Sunday when the trash is both in and out of the cans and spilling over everywhere. Now for the pluses: roomy sites although I did see a few where the trees encroached and would brush against the rig; nice store but you share the checkout lines with the registering campers; one mile walk to downtown Ventura, about .5 miles to the bike path that goes along the beach, Emma Woods State Park is immediately to the North of the park, also within walking distance. One word of caution...do not get the sites at the end of the rows towards the store...Friday night is Karaoke and Saturday night is a band...both loud and not necessarily pleasant to hear. On this weekend, the park did it's usual thing...packed as many people as possible into the park. The overflow camping at the Ventura end of the park was just that...overflowing. While I appreciate capitalism, this park does take it to a new level. All in all, the convenient location does mitigate the high cost and high noise levels, but they could do so much to improve the park (walkways/cable TV/better timing on trash collection/better bathroom maintenance). Our advice is to try it, and if the minuses are too great, don't go back. All in all, had a great time (went with a group) and will return albeit not as often as we could go due to some of the negatives in this review. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Ventura Beach RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com