223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Ventura, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
7.58 miles N
8.49 miles SE
10.78 miles NE
13.35 miles NE
14.89 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Surfers Point
1.31 miles SW
San Buenaventura State B
1.62 miles SE
Emma Wood Sb (35')
1.69 miles SW
Howery's
2.03 miles SE
Barber RV
3.58 miles SE
Cummins Cal Pacific 15 2 0
3.96 miles SE
Channel Islands National
4.08 miles SE
Texaco
Montalvo
5.47 miles SE
Mcgrath Sb (34')
5.56 miles SE
Todey Chevrolet
8.55 miles SE
Costco 8059832249
8.85 miles SE
Sams Club 2401 N Rose Ave (Located To Block)
9.03 miles SE
Wal-Mart
2001 N Rose Ave
9.23 miles SE
Coast Guard Famcamp
9.46 miles SE
Money Pancho - Oxnard
9.58 miles SE
Ojai Valley Inn & Countr
10.11 miles NE
Ranch House - Ojai
10.25 miles N
Fairways Rv Resort
10.72 miles SE
L'Auberge - Ojai
10.79 miles NE
Naval Construction Battal
12.74 miles SE
Matilija Hot Springs 109
12.90 miles N
Stingleys Hot Springs 123
14.26 miles NW
Steckel Park
Santa Paula
14.33 miles NE
Vickers Hot Springs 124
14.59 miles NW
Wheeler Springs 102
14.61 miles N
Naval Air Warfare Center
16.18 miles SE
Pt. Mugu Nas Rv Pk
17.00 miles SE
California
Ventura
Most Recently Reviewed
Emma Wood State Beach
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-15 18:39:04
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Ventura, California
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   2   5   8   8   6   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  no  question  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  no  no  question  no  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
Like the past reviewers have said, this place needs some TLC! But if you can handle dry camping at it's most, and waves crashing close to you, then this place is good. My only complaint is that the only sites really worth it are sites 2-9. Beyond that, there are a lot of big rocks you need to climb over in order to get to the water. But this place worked for an overnight stay for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$40
All sites are ON the water with beautiful views. This park does need a little TLC, as the ocean is so close it has corroded the black top road. There are NO hookups at all so make sure you have a lot of fresh water on board. No dump, no water spigot, no restrooms or showers, so be prepared. I would have given it a 10 if it had hookups. There's nothing like camping on the ocean hearing the waves all day and night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$50
Wonderful campground that could use some state's money for some TLC to bring it back to it's past glory. Besides the obvious lack of care, this place is a gem of the Ventura coast line. Lovely being just feet from the ocean, seeing dolphins in the distance, and shell collecting early morning. I actually enjoy the sound of the train passing throughout the day - it's just part of the Emma Wood experience. Definitely a repeat stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Emma Wood State Beach
Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   9   8   8   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$48
We have camped at Faria several times over the last four years. Last week, I discovered Faria's dirty little secret. Since there are no reservations, everything is on a "first come, first served" basis. At least that is what is published on the Web and at the campground. In reality, local people place a tent at an unoccupied site and use the tent as a "place holder" for when the owner returns with his RV. Such practice is perfectly correct. I saw nine sites occupied by "tent place holders" during my stay at Faria. One person even placed a tent on my RV site without even asking me. Such practice allow campers to place a tent at a site on say Wednesday, presumably pay the daily fee of $48 while the tent holds their site. Then the RV family arrives on Friday and they remove their tent and park their RV. The problem is that many families pass through Faria and when they see the tent (but no campers are actually occupying the site) yet and are turned away because of the "tent placeholder". Such behavior is tolerated and encouraged by the Parks Department of Ventura and the Board of Supervisors. Faria is a great campground, but using "a tent as a placeholder" for several days is just wrong. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
We showed up on a Thursday morning at 9:30am. All the hook up sites were taken, but there were still a half dozen dry sites. Ours was right in front of the ocean. We could see crashing waves from our bed window. This is a very friendly place. I think a lot of locals come often, and over the years get to know each other, but everyone is friendly to newbies likes us. I suspect it would be hopping on the weekend. I really hope to go again sometime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$48
Very nice campground if you love fantastic views and beautiful sunsets. Beach is great at low tide and lots to do and see in the area. If you want a nice spot get there early Sunday or Monday during the months of November thru May. June thru Sept are very difficult months to camp at this campground. Also, keep everything of value locked up at night, if not locked up it will walk away! We loved it and would highly recommend it for a nice relaxing few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Faria Beach Campground
Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
January 2011
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
question
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
question
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
We had intended to stay at Lake Casitas, but learned about the 2-night weekend minimum the hard way. At the end of a long (but fabulous) drive over 166 down winding but gorgeous 33. The fellow at Lake Casitas sent us to nearby Foster Park, a teeny tiny park that is well past its glory days. Trails are barricaded, and for good reason. Tree limbs are down everywhere, no maintenance of any kind. The 10 RV sites are paved (back-ins) but pretty off-level. There is a fair amount of road noise, too. It's OK for a one-nighter, but we should have gone back toward Ojai and stayed at Camp Comfort, where we could have at least, walked the mile to downtown Ojai. Here, we're sort of stuck (no toad) on a highway with the bad trails. Oh well. Better luck tomorrow, as at least we have Internet access for better research. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$44
We stayed in a full hookup site which is one row back from the beach sites that are dry camping. The sites are fairly close together, but doable. Pets are allowed on the beach on leash, which is a nice perk. Pulling in and out of your site can be a bit dicey due to the narrow roads and other campers trying to fit their cars in front of their rigs. There is open day use parking in the campground, so lock up your stuff if away from your rig or at night. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$28
The view of the Channel Islands, Santa Cruz Island, is beautiful. You are also able to watch the dolphins, surfers, paddle boarders, and fishing boats right from your motorhome. We dry camped right next to the ocean; for a few dollars more you can pay a little extra and hook up to electric, water and sewer. It is a very tranquil spot and we'd love to come back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
A hidden secret on PCH (Rt 1), just north of Rincon Parkway. This small county CG has spectacular views from the dry sites along the stone seawall, and is quiet, except for the continual roar of the surf. Fun to watch surfers morning and evening time. Sites can be reserved in advance ($45 Apr-Nov, $40Nov-Apr for full hookups - $30 Apr-Nov, $25 Nov-Apr for non-hookups). We dropped in for a night and stayed for a week. A few sites can take 40'+ rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Hobson Beach Campground
Camp Information
Sites
127
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   8   10   8   9   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  no  question  question  no  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  no  question  question  no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$29
Rincon has the best views ever. You are right along hwy 1. There is some traffic and train noise, though the better sound is waking up to the ocean. The only down side there is to this park (though they are there for a reason) are the large rocks to climb down to get to the beach. Some sites offer a sandy beach, while others offer no sand, but little rocks. If there were full hookups, I would rate it 10+. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
As previously noted, this campground is a spectacular find. The Ranger who came by to check on the campground was very nice when she asked us to move a bit further into our site. (Our slides were poking out of our site.) So be sure to stay within the lines at each space. Just a wonderful, wonderful location. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$28
You are getting, a road and railway line on one side of you which is completely offset by the Pacific Ocean literally out your door. We closed the roadside windows and blinds, opened the oceanside windows and the roar of the sea one night was so loud we couldn't hear anything else. There is a rock wall that is easily climbable and apart from high tide when there is no sand, the beach is great for swimming and walking. We never expected to be so impressed with camping by a road. We had 2 of the best sunsets ever. We would definitely stay here again. Note: no restrooms or showers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Rincon Parkway Campground
Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$85



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   7   9   2   4   3   5   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$85
Way over priced for this park. It is within 4 blocks or so of the beach, but the beach does not have good access. No sandy beaches for walking, very rocky, a lot of bushes with homeless people living in them. This park has security for good reason, it in a bad part of town, a lot of homeless people in the area. The staff are very nice but not very knowledgeable of the area or even the rules of the park so they have to ask the manager about everything. Manager rules with an iron fist and is rude. You would think at this price she would be a little nicer. Do not stay here unless you like being treated badly and price is no concern. There are county parks just north that are half the price and much nicer with good beach access. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$80
Sites are jammed together and a noisy highway runs right behind the park. The manager was extremely rude and there are homeless people everywhere. We never felt safe. Do not stay here! Way over priced. Expect to pay extra for every little thing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$71
We have camped here before and enjoy the area. We paid an extra $11 / night for a premium space. Even though we were only a few spaces from the WIFI antenna, it did not work well. I would have given a 9 if it did. Nice place to camp for bike riding and relaxing. I used the Jacuzzi and enjoyed it. The restrooms have a combo lock to enter the shower area first, then separate to the washrooms. There is a game room and a decent store. I would go again, but find a coffee place for WIFI use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Ventura Beach RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com