220443 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Watsonville, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
6.95 miles NW
9.76 miles SE
10.10 miles S
11.37 miles NW
11.37 miles NW
12.62 miles SE
12.67 miles NE
14.56 miles NE
14.88 miles SE
15.46 miles NW
17.66 miles NW
17.82 miles S
22.70 miles SE
22.89 miles SE
24.73 miles SW
25.74 miles NW
26.56 miles NW
26.95 miles SW
28.49 miles SW
31.29 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Sunset Sb (31')
4.88 miles SW
Bittersweet Bistro
6.17 miles NW
Cafe Sparrow
6.92 miles NW
Seacliff Sb (40')
7.22 miles NW
Rio Del Mar Beach
7.98 miles NW
New Brighton Sb (36')
8.63 miles NW
Shadowbrook - Santa Cruz
9.78 miles NW
Theo'S - Santa Cruz
10.01 miles NW
Tt Ca Morgan Hill 12895 Uvas Rd Morgan Hill (M11/29-4/27) 408-778-1143,Ttnlt
10.49 miles NE
Bethany College Of The A
14.82 miles NW
California
Watsonville
Most Recently Reviewed
Pinto Lake Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-29 03:44:44
4 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Watsonville, California
Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This park is about half way between Watsonville and Gilroy on Hwy 152 (Heckler Pass Highway) It is about 15 minutes east of Watsonville in the mountains. This is also a county park and was a very beautiful place for RV, Tent and they have Yurts for rent too. Road is steep and would be difficult for a big rig, but a small RV 22' 30' would have no problem. Sites are back in, they have flush toilets and showers. Showers are brand new and spotlessly clean. You are in tall Redwood trees so minimal air card and TV available. Most all sites are in the trees. Each site has a table and fire pit. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   8   10   10   7   7   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$35
We had the best spot in the camp, #28. The sites are grass, which is very nice. The sites are close, but we had the end spot, which was great! The park is very quiet at night. If you stay a week you get a night free. Only 1 washer and dryer, but the first wash was free. The lake was not a draw. But we would stay here again if I the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Claimed to be pet friendly but not the case. You had to sign an agreement to clean up after your pet, etc. That was fine with me, but within 5 minutes my wife stepped in dog poop and tracked on rugs. Wanted to wash rugs but laundry closed at 5 p.m., along with shower house. The sites are all grass, very long grass. There are cable hookups, but they don't work - we were told they were for show only. On checkout I complained about dog poop all around and was told was a city park and they could not control - so why the "contract" for dog owners? We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
We camped as a group and were well attended. They gave us a group rate. Management is very friendly and willing to help. The park is older so the spaces are narrow. Enough room for slide out but not slide out + awning. Power is 30amp only, with clean water, sewer, and cable hookup (didn't use) at each space. The park is well used by families and groups. There is a huge BBQ pit (rents for $50) with concrete tables and benches around. There is also a small children's playground with lots of swings, and climbing apparatus. There is also a well maintained baseball field that if fully stocked with good pro gear, the field was always under use while we were there. The lake has small rowing boats and a large solid ground pier to fish from, the lake is well stocked with fish. The park closes to the public at 8pm. Each camper is given a key so they can get in and out after hours ($5 deposit). We camped with 5 rigs and felt we got a good deal in a nice quiet place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Pinto Lake Park
Camp Information
Sites
230
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   1   10   8   9   9   7   4   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$50
KOA's have a habit of saying a popular city in their name (in this case "Santa Cruz Monterey Bay") but actually being in another city (in this case "Watsonville") which seems a bit deceptive if you are not aware they tend to do this. That being said this time I guess it was OK because Watsonville is midway between the 2 cities in its name. The road in has some trees that need to be trimmed back if you are in a large motorhome as we were (40') but the park seem very family friendly. My ATT cellphone did NOT work well here but their Wi-Fi was OK. We stayed here 4 nights and might stay again, but would probably look for a place nearer to Monterey Bay next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$93
We arrived on 10/27 around 4 p.m. unaware the park was having a HUGE Halloween celebration through-out the entire park. When we checked in, the office was without electricity. The office staff guessed at which site we would fit in and sent us on our way. We’ve stayed at many KOA campgrounds and traditionally, a KOA person will escort us to our site. We have a 41’ 5th wheel pulled by a Dodge Ram 3500, so we are by all means a “big-rig.” There were three KOA carts with KOA people at the bottom of the hill when we arrived and when we were pulling into the park. At no time did any KOA staff feel it necessary to alert us that the entire park was full with tons of excited children running around trick-or-treating, loose dogs, people, cars, Halloween decorations thick in every site as I have ever seen. We drove up the hill in our big rig to the chaos to a back-in spot that was far too small. It took us nearly 30 minutes to back into our spot all the while trying to dodge small rampant children, adults and again, loose dogs. While focusing on dodging the Halloween chaos and backing into our too small site, we missed the fact that there was a pine tree with one low branch; that ended up putting six tears down our brand new 5th wheel roof. We needed to be in this area for work or we would have pulled out the next morning at sunrise. Heck, hindsight is 20/20, if we would have not been in such shock from all the chaos, we would have pulled our unit right back out the gate and not stayed at all! We went down and talked to the office the next morning and they told us we should have read on the website events to find out about the Halloween events; forget the fact we received 3 emails from this office, encountered 5 KOA employees at check-in. Yes, 1,800 miles from home, of course, we should have checked the website events section! Other problems we had while at this spot were: 1) loose dogs! We were here from 10/27-11/4 and encountered loose dogs every day. We have 2 small dogs and put up panels to keep wandering loose dogs from getting very close to us or our dogs, and it’s a good thing with the loose Australian Shepherd, Rottweiler, French Bulldogs and one Jack Russell Terrier visiting our site without the owners even paying attention. We even saw a Rottweiler tied up to a tree during all the chaos. It was very large and not under control in the slightest, in fact, the owners were enjoying the Halloween festivities and not even at their campsite! I’m not opposed to dogs of any breed, but they should not be loose in a campground, period! 2) AT&T cellular signal in this park was nearly non-existent. 3) FLIES! I don’t know if it was because of all the outside cooking, food, candy during the Halloween festivities or what, but flies were abundant! It rained one day, which I would figure would help wash whatever it was attracting the flies away, but it didn’t. This park does have 6 or 7 pull through premium sites that are the only actual sites for big-rigs. We just arrived at exactly the wrong time without any warning and now get to replace the roof on our 2012 5th wheel, which is why I would not recommend this park to anyone ever. Outside of crazy busy weekends, this isn’t a bad park if either the KOA would enforce their loose dog rules or you go in understanding to watch for loose dogs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$75
Absolutely the best KOA of all. We normally avoid KOAs, but we had friends to see here so we did. What a wonderful surprise. All campgrounds should be this nice. Friendly helpful staff. Great electric, water and cable connections. We would go back here again in a heartbeat. Lots of activities for children to do. Great store and just overall a great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Santa Cruz Monterey Bay KOA
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   7   7   7   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We stayed in site #25, which the camp host called "The Crown Jewel" of the park It was big, clean, and a short trail to an ocean overlook, with a drop dead view. The beach was quite a hike downhill. There are no amenities, other than the concrete pad and a fire pit. We were surprised at this, and landed there without water, because the CA Parks website said "developed". Now we know this does not mean hookups. Sunsets are amazing here, as the name would imply. The drive in is awesome, through farmlands and beautiful valleys. It is off the beaten path. Generators are against the rules after 8pm, as a ranger was quick to enforce. Nice place! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
This is a great state park quite and clean great views and just overall relaxing. Stayed in site 18 big and wide and long enough for our RV. Strawberry fields forever right beside our site. Cool and foggy in the morning. Clear and cool during the day. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Secluded, quiet, beautiful campground. Can't see the ocean except for two sites, but just a 2 minute walk to an amazing view and sunsets. Ranger is very relaxed. No hookups, or dump. Both Sunset and Manresa Beach are nearby and beautiful. Aptos, Santa Cruz, Seascape and Monterey all within a 30-45 minute drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Sunset State Beach
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com