224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Weott, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
4.57 miles N
6.45 miles SE
9.65 miles NW
10.42 miles S
14.37 miles SE
15.84 miles NW
17.66 miles SW
21.36 miles NW
23.81 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Humboldt Redwoods (33')
1.21 miles SE
Grizzly Creek (30')
11.24 miles N
California
Weott
Most Recently Reviewed
Burlington Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-02 16:53:15
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Weott, California
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Agree with prior reviews -- great place, shady, quiet, off the beaten path. Do not bring a big rig here -- narrow roads, low branches, tight corners and campsites. Small trailers or motorhomes will do just fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
For a deep redwood forest experience, this place can't be beat. Most sites are surrounded by big trees. Some are right next to a creek. It was very quiet and the sites were huge. The only negative is the 5-mile very narrow access road. The campground road goes between some huge redwoods and is about 9' wide in one spot. There is also a narrow bridge just before the ranger hut. Once we were in the park I had no problem backing our 22' trailer in. There are tons of hiking trails and plenty of streams. Again the redwoods are incredible. It's fine for dogs, although they are not allowed on the hiking trails. There are plenty of isolated forest roads and horse trails to take them on though -- most in deep forest. We really enjoyed it and would go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   3   8   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Burlington is adequate for a visit to Humboldt Redwoods State Park, but the more remote Albee Creek campground is more popular for good reason. Burlington suffers from road noise from highway 101 and the Avenue of the Giants, which runs right past the campground. The campsites are nice, with picnic tables and fire rings, but they are very close to each other with little or no privacy. There are impressive old growth redwood stumps everywhere, and the campground is well shaded under second growth redwoods. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The Eel River is a short walk away and was warm enough in late June to wade in comfortably. There is a large grove of old growth right across the Avenue of the Giants from the campground. The nicest thing about Burlington was having the park visitor's center next door, with Junior Ranger walks as well as adult/family nature walks in the old growth grove. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We stayed in a 30 foot RV being pulled by a 22 foot truck. We were given a dirt RV site that was large enough to park my truck in front of the trailer and still not block the road or site next to us. I needed a 1" board to level my trailer side to side. There were probably 10 sites I could easily fit my rig into. The major problem with this campground is the access road. The camp ground road is paved, but due to many large trees, you should walk the road prior to committing your rig to avoidable damage. I love the Redwood Trees and the beauty of the forest off sets the lack of electric, water, and sewer hookup. Verizon works well. AT&T is almost non-existent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2011
$35
Very expensive campground, but the only one that was open in the area. We have a Class A 34 ft motorhome and it was extremely tight navigating the roads. A 33 ft limit is imposed on the campground, but we walked through prior to committing to stay here and were ultimately able to navigate the roads. Site 20 is a pull through site and could accommodate our unit, but not our tow vehicle. There were all of 4 people (including ourselves) in the campground so it was not an issue. Site 21 could also accommodate a larger unit, but is not level. In general, most of the sites are small and not level. This is a tenting campground or for people with small RVs that have lots of leveling blocks. A 33 ft Class A will have difficulties with most of the sites as your back tires will likely be off the ground if you try to level your rig and there are only a few sites that can accommodate that size. You will have difficultly fitting into almost every site if you have a tow vehicle and a larger unit. The campsites are on dirt, but the roads are paved. The campground was very dark and cold because of the second growth coast redwoods (most of the old growth redwoods are simply stumps). There is no brush between the sites, so if it's busy expect no privacy and to hear all your neighbors conversations and the road noise. The campground is adjacent to the Avenue of the Giants. A lot of sites back onto the highway. This was not an issue for us, because the area is basically empty at this time of year, but may be an issue if the road is busy. The showers are coin operated - .50 to start. The sites have picnic tables, fire pits, and food storage. There are two walking paths that leave from the campground. They are nice walks. 0.6 miles in length. The visitors centre is adjacent to the campground. Class A's be very careful if you pull into the visitor centre as one of the entrance/exit ramps is steep, the other is not. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Burlington Campground
Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   3   1   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Burlington Campground next to the Visitors Center. The campground is located between hwy 101 and Avenue of the Giants so no matter where you're camped, you'll get road noise. That being said, camping in a grove of redwoods is mystical. They did a good job of shielding sites with giant stumps and trees since there is no ground shrubs or sun because of the dense canopy. Bathrooms are new and 50 cents for 5 minutes for a hot shower is a luxury after hiking through the beautiful trails. There is AT&T cell coverage but not enough bars for Internet. Nice kitchen washing station and plenty of potable water faucets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$43
Great park on the Avenue of the Giants. Campsite is right in the trees with lots of lush vegetation. There are hiking trails that lead to a cool, relaxing riverfront beach and way beyond for the serious hikers. Great campsite for children. We wished we could've stayed here longer! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stayed here for three nights in site 56. Fit our 34' TT and truck just fine, slipped in between the tall trees. No hookups and no satellite, but in the summer there are ranger programs and a swimming hole in the Eel River. The kids loved climbing on the redwood stumps and riding around the camp. The showers were clean and everyone was respectful of quiet hours. A great home base for visiting the area if you can do without hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Humboldt Redwoods State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com