206486 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Yermo, California (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
4.12 miles SW
9.06 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Calico Early Man Site
1.75 miles W
Calico Ghost Town
1.79 miles W
MCLB Rv Pk
8.05 miles SW
Twin Lakes Rv
(760)257-3377
9.01 miles E
Newberry Spring 77
9.50 miles SE
Wal-Marti-40:13 621 Montara Rd (Located To Block)
10.64 miles SW
Marine Corps Logistics B
11.77 miles SW
Wesco Food & Fuel
Newberry Sp
12.96 miles SE
California
Yermo
Most Recently Reviewed
Calico Ghost Town & Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-04-11 02:45:10
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Yermo, California
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   8   8   9   9   8   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
Stopped here for a night on our way back from Las Vegas to avoid a windy drive. First, I would always make a reservation. When I called I was told if I show up without a reservation after hours I would pay more. That said, we arrived and the office also had well stocked store that also carries beer and wine. Within a 5 minute drive is gas, fast food, and a diner. A motel/hotel is also nearby. The sites are a gravel/rock type surface which was nice. We didn't have to level. We had a full hook up site and everything worked including cable TV. Trees blocked my dish but didn't matter. Nice place witha little bit of freeway noise but very faint. Nice stopping point. Fenced in clean dog park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$46
An easy off easy on I-15 campsite but very low traffic noise. Gravel roads and sites, sites are spacious, but at an angle which is good for pulling through but loses a bit of space. Good cable TV and Wi-Fi. Good sized pool but closed during our stay. Sadly as with most KOAs these days it is overpriced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$50
This is the best KOA we have ever stayed in. The staff was helpful and friendly, the park was immaculate! Pull through sites are large and wide most have shade and the vegetation forms privacy between sites. It has a large fenced dog run and a large open area for walks in the desert. The bathrooms and showers were clean. The pool unfortunately was not operational while we were there, but we will definitely make this a stop on any future travels. It is also within 3 miles of Calico Ghost town. A great find! You can hear the freeway noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Barstow / Calico KOA
Camp Information
Sites
253
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   3   7   7   7   9   7   8   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  no  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  no  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
We call this a primitive park with full hookups. We were totally surprised to find such a beautiful spot with no concrete, blacktop or gravel but with utilities we needed. Great night of sleep with absolutely no noise. The ghost town was an added bonus. The park and ghost town was once owned by Knott's Berry Farm but was given to the county several years ago. Rate posted was Sr. rate. Be aware that you will probably locate a site of your choice. We were told that A & B sections were full hookup but A is only 30 amp so we had to move to B to get 50 amp. Had a great snack and breakfast in the restaurant in the ghost town. Oh important: Our GPS took us to an empty field. The park is actually 3 miles after turning onto Ghost Town Rd. Look for the CALICO sign on the cliff side and head for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$35
This was a convenient full hook up overnight stop for us between Jumbo Rocks in Joshua Tree national park and Red Rock canyon. We have 2 kids (2 and 4 year old) so we thought this would be fun way to recharge between state parks. The A & B sites are full hook up. We camped on a week day in March so it was not busy, and we had plenty of spaces to choose from. On a weekend, you definitely need to book. We went for the B spots as they appeared to be more level. Most of the RVs in A were leveled with blocks of some kind. There are limited 'views' in B site as you are between two slabs of red rock in a row but the sunset was really nice. The showers are basic - concrete floors and walls, however, they were clean. There was plenty of space and they were a really good temperature. Just note that you need to put 4 quarters in the machine for the water to start. It is a short walk to the ghost town which has a little train, silver mine, full restaurant (9am-5pm), panning for gold, horse rides (all for an extra fee) etc. Definitely touristy, but we didn't mind and the camping fee covers entrance. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$34
For the money we paid to stay here there wasn't much to do about the park. The ghost town closes early, the washrooms were filthy, we walked around the park it was somewhat vacant. The road in was very narrow and the sites were pretty short, we have a 27'fifth wheel and we could barely fit in, we wanted to stay hooked up for the night so we could pull out early in the morning. It was a tight fit. I wouldn't stay here again unless they dropped the price, we paid our rate was for water and electricity only. No Wifi, no cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Calico Ghost Town & Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com