221614 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Basalt, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
10.87 miles NW
10.87 miles NW
10.87 miles NW
15.37 miles SE
17.91 miles N
20.47 miles NE
21.24 miles NW
27.20 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Pitkin County Airport (S
11.29 miles SE
Snowmass Ski Area
11.38 miles SE
Krabloonik
11.70 miles S
Syzygy
11.80 miles SE
L'Hostaria
11.83 miles SE
Ashcroft
14.88 miles SE
Poppies Bistro Cafe
15.23 miles SE
Buttermilk Mountain/Aspe
15.33 miles SE
Main Street Bakery & Caf
15.73 miles SE
Matsuhisa - Aspen
15.78 miles SE
Century Room
15.79 miles SE
Restaurant Conundrum
15.79 miles SE
Milan'S Restaurant & Bar
15.81 miles SE
La Cocina
15.82 miles SE
Piqon's
15.83 miles SE
Motherlode
15.85 miles SE
Crystal Palace Dinner The
15.85 miles SE
Cache Cache
15.87 miles SE
Jimmy'S An American R
15.87 miles SE
Takah Sushi
15.91 miles SE
Kenichi Restaurant
15.93 miles SE
Olives - Aspen
15.94 miles SE
Ute City
15.97 miles SE
Boogies On The Rocks
16.00 miles SE
Aspen Mountain Ski Area
16.01 miles SE
Guido'S Swiss Inn
16.01 miles SE
Wienerstube
16.03 miles SE
Mezzaluna - Aspen
16.04 miles SE
Ajax Tavern
16.11 miles SE
Montagna
16.11 miles SE
Aspen Highlands
16.48 miles SE
Independence Pass Town S
16.68 miles SE
Colorado
Basalt
Most Recently Reviewed
Little Mattie Campground, White River National Forest
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-17 02:14:25
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Basalt, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   4   8   7   3   2   6   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
If you go by first impressions you might just turn around and head to the nearest Walmart parking lot when you see this place. But in this case, first impressions do deceive. When you approach this park it looks like a decommissioned KOA with a bunch of old trailers and motor homes parked in it. There are a fair number of seasonal/permanent campers here, but the ones we met seem nice. The sites are level gravel, there are many pull-throughs, and all services work fine. Some of the sites are a bit narrow, but not so narrow they hamper awnings and slides. The cable TV is all digital with many channels to choose from. The WiFi is decent. The restrooms and showers are modern, spacious and spotless. The pool, which was closed for the season, looked nice. There's a short walk to the Eagle River which runs behind the park, and the park is situated about 12 miles from Aspen. The rate I quoted does not include the available AAA, AARP and Good Sam discounts. Yes, the grounds could use a bit of modernization, but all-in-all this is a very nice RV park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
Not sure how to write this review. This place is the only game in town so if you're visiting Aspen it's pretty much where you stay. The folks running the place are very friendly and over all if you just need a place to sleep it's fine. We were here several nights. The grounds are right on the road and so there is road noise but it's white noise for the most part. The sites are very close together and by in large look to be either seasonal or year round homes. While generally quiet we did have a yippy dog next door but he only bothered us one night while his owner was out. It works, but it's not what we'd call pleasant. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$42
We arrived on a Sunday with reservations. The office was closed, but our instructions were by the door. That would have been alright, except we could not get the cable to work, and did not know if the fault was theirs or ours. The WiFi is underpowered, but worked well early in the morning. This is mostly a workers' park, and there was a mobile home park across the fence with barking dogs. Our site was near the front, gravel, fairly level. This is the only game in town if you want to be near Aspen. For half the price, I would stay here again; otherwise, no. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Aspen-Basalt Campground
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Dump station additional $7 and must get a key from the Maud Campground host. Peaceful and quiet with only the sound of rustling aspen trees or an occasional jet airplane. Change - now can be reserved online, which we did not do. So we could only pay for one night at a time, which was not a problem when we stayed after Labor Day weekend. Made private by small trees and bushes, the large gravel sites - some are more open to the sun, with beautiful views to the lake. Others sites further up the hill are shaded in the trees. Most sites are not level front to back due to the hillside location of the campground. Nearby fishing access to the Gold Medal Waters of the Frying Pan River (special regulations). No Verizon phone and MiFi connections. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
One of my favorite places. Although the maturing trees have been closing in my view to the lake, I enjoy sitting out in this campsite. The pines are deeply blue green, the aspens rustle in the smallest cool breeze, and the babbling brook meanders down the campsites tucked into the bubbly vista. The road into the White River National Forest is gravel and continues into the campgrounds and campsites. Little Maud campground is close to the Reudi Reservoir and many boaters camp there. Mollie B campground is the next campground and has access to the lake. Just down from the campgrounds gold medal trout waters flow and are fed from the bottom of the lake. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
Little Mattie is one of 3 campgrounds on the western end of the Reudi Reservoir along the Frying Pan River. There are no hookups at these campsites.Water is available at Mollie B campsite. This is dry camping at its best; sites are nestled in the aspen groves at the base of rock outcroppings and well worth the drive around the bend beyond the other two campgrounds. Vault toilets are the only amenity and well kept and cleaned. Space between each site provides privacy and our favorite was site 16. Big rigs could not fit in here. You can run your generator for power. Drawback to this campground is that it is run by a company in California, not the Forest Service. There is an extra $7 fee to use the dump station and the camp host has to be there to unlock it. Overall, a wonderful place to camp while enjoying the fantastic fishing on the Pan River and the charming town of Basalt. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
This is one of 3 parks at Ruedi Reservoir which is on the Fryingpan River about 15 miles from Basalt. It is close to the boat launch area and loaded with kids on summer weekends. There are a few water spouts in the camp, but the only hose comparable source is at the dump station. The use of the dump station requires an extra fee of $6 and it is quite difficult to access due to sharp turns and poor paving. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com