206530 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Buena Vista, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.23 miles N
24.73 miles SE
30.25 miles SW
31.77 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Rhodes Warm Spring 75
13.50 miles NE
High Country - Leadville
13.84 miles N
Snowy Peaks Rv
(800)954-8481
14.24 miles SE
National Mining Hall Of
14.30 miles N
Ski Cooper
14.43 miles N
Casa Del Sol
15.60 miles SE
Colorado
Buena Vista
Most Recently Reviewed
Arkansas River Rim Campground & RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-11-27 20:04:47
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Buena Vista, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   3   8   6   9   4   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  no  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  no  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Park is on a bluff above the Arkansas river, so the river sound is great. This park has potential, but looks a little junky at the current time. We would stay here again, as we love this area of Colorado. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Not a fancy place but clean, exceptionally level, well managed and has a view to die for. The owner is on site and is one of the best you will find. Rest rooms are older but clean. Could use a bit more privacy for shower stalls but the pluses of the park outweigh any small negatives. No better place in B.V. and we will be back. Extended our stay because we enjoyed the area so much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
We needed a place to stay for one night on our way to our next destination. We thought this one would be nice as it is situated on the Arkansas River. Boy, were we sorry. This park is all rocks and gravel with a few scraggly trees. The owners are not the nicest and the price was outrageous for what we got. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Arkansas River Rim Campground & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
95
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   10   8   7   6   6   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$32
Nice, clean, quiet campground. Very nice owners. I wold stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is a very nice camp with excellent spaces. Up on the side of the hill opposite the Arkansas River, it is remote enough to be quiet, with beautiful nights and peaceful days. The managers are wonderful to work with, and do a great job maintaining their campground. Excellent coffee bar; good emergency supplies selection; lot of help with local advice, attractions and things to see; we had a all around pleasant experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Nice large campground. Has a large covered meeting area for RV clubs meetings and cookouts . We stayed here in a 43 ft MH and had plenty of room. Campground is multi-leveled which is pretty neat. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Arrowhead Point Campground and Cabins
Camp Information
Sites
93
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   9   8   7   2   5   3   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  no  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$50
We rarely stay at KOAs, in fact we try our very best to avoid them due to their high prices and usually narrow and crowded sites. However, once in a while it's the best we can find in an area to accommodate our 65' overall length. This KOA has a few water and electric only sites and a few full hookup sites very few of which could handle our length. The interior roads are dirt, but they treat them to keep the dust down. Our site was terraced to the point that we couldn't swing out our large passenger-side bay door, it hit the dirt before it opened fully. There was okay maneuvering room for us but we were near the entrance. The fenced dog run is tiny so don't plan on playing ball with your border collie here. They have six washing machines of which only two of them are hot water, the other four are cold water only and they are expensive - $2.00 for a load. The six dryers are $0.50 for 15 minutes. The laundry room was very clean and the machines were well maintained. There is a rustic restaurant near the horse stables that was open from, I think Wednesday to Sunday, but we didn't have a chance to try it. By the way, the horse operation is operated by a contractor and not the KOA owners. This is a busy KOA in the summer season and you better make reservations or be disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
The 50 amp sites did not work. We had to wait hours until the owner managed to replace the breakers, which had never been done in 9 years, according to him. He blamed our coach for the problem; yet we had no problem at another KOA the day before. The owner was also VERY difficult when we asked if we might stay beyond checkout time. we were told we could not, nor could we park our coach on the very edge of the property and allow the generator to run to keep from losing food in the refrigerator since we are all electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Very friendly staff. Beautiful setting with rock formations on the grounds, and awesome mountain views. Nice clean and well-maintained showers. (Though they did run out of hot water one night.). Impressive laundry facility. Some sites have shade. Quiet, with almost no traffic noise from Hwy 24. Staff was very accommodating in helping us find a site with shade and electrical hookups to suit our needs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Buena Vista KOA
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
This is place beautiful. The views are spectacular. You can't improve on the scenery hence the 10 rating. It truly takes your breath away. The campground is standard NFS. There are no hookups. Water is available but facets are not threaded. The campground is at 10,000 feet and the water pressure can't handle freshwater tank fill ups. So fill up before hand or bring water containers. Restrooms are vault toilets. They are very clean. The sites are mostly level and well maintained. If you are under 30 feet you will have plenty of options. Over 30 feet there are are about 4 or 5 depending on your backing skills. The road (FR 344) is 4 miles of gravel. It is rough in places but wide and safe. Just slow down and you will be fine. One warning do not let your GPS send you down the wrong Forest Road. Do not turn off County Rd 306 UNTIL you reach FR 344. There is a sign for the campground. There is a riding stable on the right just before you reach FR344. Once on FR 344 there are 2 short one lane bridges. The lake is just past the second bridge. The camp ground will be on your right just past the lake. It is clearly marked. There are no reservations and the site is very popular. Your best bet is to arrive before noon. The best days for scoring a site are Monday & Tuesday. Take your hummingbird feeder and your fishing gear. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
This is a beautiful "get away from it all" campground. The campground is clean and for the most part, the sites are level. There are a very limited number of longer sites, and the road up to the campground is gravel and a little rough. So if you have a big rig, be prepared to turn around and seek other arrangements if the campground is busy. The sites are not reservable. No electricity, no water for RV fills, and no dump station. We dumped and got water at the Snowy Peaks Campground in Buena Vista. We had a very weak Verizon signal. But, it is a wonderful place to dry camp and enjoy quiet and seclusion. Lots of hummingbirds, heard the elk bugle. One of Colorado's best. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$15
This campsite has the most beautiful scenery I have seen. Don't confuse this NFS campground with one of the same name on Grand Mesa. There is no comparison. I loved this place. However, it is a forest service site. There is no dump, hook ups or reservations. It is first come first served. It can fill on weekends so get there before noon on Friday. The campground is in San Isabel NF 11 miles SW of Buena Vista. Take County Rd 306 west about 7 miles to Forest Rd 344. The FR is dirt and rough but it is worth the ride. There are 3 very nice pull throughs and several other long back ends. The hosts are nice and rules are enforced concerning ATVs, quiet hours and dogs. Cottonwood Lake is beautiful and nearby however, you can't see it very well from the campground. Fishing is king here but there is hiking in the area. Sitting and staring at the views works as well It is 9600 feet so plan for cool temps at night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   7   3   8   9   8   10   4   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
We stayed here 7 days. The rate was for Passport America. The sites were level gravel the hookups were good. The Wi-Fi worked good most of the time but would occasionally disconnect. The entrance road was full of dips but I noticed that they brought it a load of gravel to do road work. There was a nice new clubhouse with laundry. The staff was very helpful to guide me to local attractions and even helped me get into a dentist in town. We would stay here again if in the area. This area is very nice We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$48
First, be careful entering the park, there is a sizable dip at the entrance that you need to slow down for. The park is very overpriced for a very basic parking lot type campground with gravel sites and little or no shade. Wi-Fi didn't work and no cable TV. Also they charge you $4.00 PER PET. We had planned to stay her for a few days but we found a much better campground close by that was a lot less costly and NO PET FEE. Also, they told us that next year they won't allow pets at all due to people complaining about the pet fee. Not very friendly people. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Just a one night stand using Passport America. The PA rate was $24 plus $4 per day per DOG! Obviously they will tolerate dogs but don't really want you to stay there if you have a dog. Sites were spacious and views were great, but I would not stay there again due to the dog fee. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mt. Princeton RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
86
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   9   8   10   9   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$38
Grassy sites with full sun and some with shade. Nice grass that they keep green and watered. Laundry was good. We have stayed in a few others over the years and so far this is the best in the area. Satellite is available, but not in all sites - so make sure you ask. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
This was our second stay at Snowy peaks. We had a larger site this time Site 60. It was very well maintain and pet friend some thing rare in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$51
This is a lovely park. Everything worked well, even the Tengo Internet. Cable was wonderful with 65 channels. The price seemed a bit high, and they offered no discounts, but the young lady who took my reservation told me that she couldn't guarantee a 50 amp hook up unless we had a premium site. It seems the standard sites are shared hook ups with only one 50 amp between the two. So if someone has already taken the 50 amp connection, only a 30 amp is available. One reason we came here was because this is the only park anywhere around that has cable, and after a month of nothing but ABC with its reality shows, PBS, which shows the same thing over and over, cooking channel, and Spanish channels, we were ready for something else when we came in at night after sight seeing all day. Park was immaculately clean, and we enjoyed our stay. Will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Snowy Peaks RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   9   9   9   9   8   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$14
Price reflects monthly rate, electricity is extra. Nice RV park with large sites; restrooms & showers were very clean. Owners are very nice, hardworking people. We would stay here again if we would be able to get a site further back in the park away from the road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
An older park but everything was clean and tidy. It was one of about three right close to each other, but this one looked the best. Some rental mobile homes in one area of the park, but they were well maintained and did nothing to take away from the park. Lots of folks in for the Summer. Most seemed to come for two to three months. That being said, there were also plenty of folks coming and going each day as we were. Owned by the same family for many years. Definitely the place to stay in Buena Vista. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
I agree with the other comments. The park is older but well maintained and the spaces are very large for an RV park. They do have some trailers but they are well maintained and the residents are nice. The park is very friendly. Great view of the mountains to the west. Close to town. We stayed here for two weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Valley RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com