206945 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Canon City, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
17.60 miles SE
17.60 miles NE
22.05 miles SW
28.65 miles NE
30.05 miles SW
30.68 miles NE
30.96 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Rpi- Co Fort Gorge Rv Park & Cg 45044 Hwy 50 W Canon City
3.03 miles SW
Royal Gorge Scenic Rail
4.36 miles SW
Royal Gorge Bridge & P
5.33 miles SW
Royal Gorge Suspension
7.24 miles SE
Canon City Hot Springs 104
7.67 miles SE
Royal Gorge Route
7.76 miles SE
Buckskin Joe Theme Park
8.87 miles SE
Merlino'S Belvedere
9.08 miles SE
Colorado
Canon City
Most Recently Reviewed
Canon City RV Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-12 21:00:22
8 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Canon City, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   5   1   1   4   1   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
We stayed at this park last year and it was in terrible shape. It is now under new management and has been cleaned up a ton. The camp host are very friendly. As an example, we were in a new 5th wheel. I had just picked it up that day. I did not have a 50 to 30 amp adapter and he loaned me one of his own. This is a nice area with a lot to see and the campground is a good place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
This was a park just bought out and upgraded. Previously, it had been rundown. Now it's a great park. It was a very pleasant experience. The new owners were always onsite, friendly, helpful...Everything was very neat and clean. Nice little touches in the women's restroom, too. Sites were level and clean. Camp is right in town, so very convenient. I would return to this park without hesitation. They continue to upgrade...and are helpful with information or questions about the area. There's also convenient shopping across the street. We had trailers for our old cars which they let us park without extra charge. The owners were so personable that we felt very welcome and like we knew them. We stayed there 6 nights. I highly recommend this RVPark to travelers. PS: There's a beautiful buck that comes around every evening to feed in the grass at the back of the park! Quite a sight...at least 8 points....we enjoyed that. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
New management has cleaned up the park. It is still rather Plain Jane, but tidy and clean. A rather large fee is charged for the dump station. About a block from a WalMart, easy walk. The Wi-Fi worked fairly well. Nice owners, easily reached by phone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Canon City RV Campground
Camp Information
Sites
129
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   4   7   6   9   6   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
I will start with the positives first. The hosts are very nice people, you can see some of the Royal Gorge bridge, not far from Royal Gorge Park and Buckskin Joe, and there is some space between the sites. Negatives: The dog leash rule is not enforced by the hosts. While here a group of people camping never had their dogs on leashes. The owners saw this and at one point the smaller dog wandered up to hosts home and hosts brought the dog back asking if dog belonged to them. When told yes, NOTHING was said to them about keeping dogs on leash! Not safe for other people or dogs no matter how friendly the dogs are. WiFi was close to non-existent. Never got above low or no connection even going to pavillion close to dish. The bar across the street has a live band on the weekend and music goes until midnight. Across the street is the helipad for the helicoptor tours. On good days it doesn't stop. Unless you have your own satelittle you will not get TV reception. The sites are decent size but not level so bring blocks and it is dirt with some gravel. If you are close to the road you will definitely have road noise. The campground is for sale so I would not expect improvements. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
You can see the Royal Gorge bride from the camp. Park has a nice hostess and host. Does have WiFi, but it's a bit weak when more than 300 feet from office. Sites are decently level, but relatively close together. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Very rustic. Sites were not level. Owner was very friendly and accommodating. Would stay there again as the other camp grounds were closed or very over priced. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Fort Gorge RV Park & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   5   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
Advertised as having Wi-Fi but it was not available and this was one of our reasons for choosing this park. The staff was friendly and helpful, but since Wi-Fi was a requirement for us (cell phones did not work either), we chose not to stay the full month as we intended. While this park was pet friendly it was almost too friendly. Dogs were off leash and were not picked up after which spoiled the surroundings. It is remote and quiet and has a beautiful pool. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
If you camp in the high desert you should expect a bit of dust. If that bothers you then you should stick to the parking lot type campgrounds with their nice level cement pads. If, however, you like to get away from places like that and would like a place with the nicest people, cleanest shower/rest rooms, sparkling crystal clear cool pool, beautiful scenery and clean air then Indian Springs should be on your list of places to stay if you in this part of the country. We were there as a group of Marine Viet Nam veterans for a reunion, and the people could not have treated us better. We were there for several days and did not have the time to see and explore all there was to see and do right from the camp. It was unique and one of the most pleasant experiences we've had in a long time. Semper Fi We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
I have camped at this campground several times over the past 15 years. It is as the sign at the entrance says: "Quiet, Rustic, Unique". Since it is about 6 miles from the highway it is so quiet at times all you hear are the hummingbirds. It is dry and can be dusty. The sites are not level but not so bad that a board or 2 on the downhill side won't fix. The tent sites are separate from the RV sites and have lots of space. The swimming pool is very refreshing and clean. The showers are being upgraded now. One drawback is a few long term RVs that are rather old. If you dislike crowded campgrounds right on the highway, this place is a nice break from that. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Indian Springs Ranch & Campground
Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   10   10   8   7   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
This park is by far the best one in the area. I had to make several changes to our reservations prior to arrival and they did so cheerfully. Check in was quick even though they were training a new person in the office. Site was manicured crushed granite with concrete patio and very nice landscaping, all utilities worked great, lots of space between each site. I had some problem with the direct TV setup but they came down and worked over an hour to get it set up correctly, turned out to be a bad receiver. The mountain views are awesome, everything was clean and well maintained. We stayed here 7 nights and were not ready to leave, we will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$22
Mountain View was wonderful. The view of the Rocky Mountains was fabulous to wake up to each morning. The campground was very clean and had a very friendly staff. We will return to this campground so we can visit the fall festival and walk the Royal Gorge Bridge. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$43
This park is very clean and well maintained. Excellent WI-FI. Small laundry house. Beautiful patio area by office. We rented Direct TV box as our coach antenna could not pick up local TV due to mountain area. Good rock pads and roads, no dust. Great location for visiting Royal Gorge and other area attractions. Staff was super great and helpful. Beautiful view of mountains and star gazing. Price reflexes premium site. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Mountain View RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
137
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   1   8   9   2   8   5   6   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$42
This park is a disgrace....weeds higher than the barbeques...in the driveways, and our "assigned" site had no sewer. There was no one around to help. Our site and brochure were taped to the office door. Women's restroom was locked. I spent at least a 1/2 hour looking for someone to help. A man staying in a van said no one was there today nor yesterday. He tried to call them, no answer. There were only a few people staying in the park. It was a fire hazard, to say the least. So much so, that we and another rig traveling with us decided to leave and find another RV park, even though we'd paid for the first night. It was not worth the risk of a fire from a spark under a rig or anything. Weeds were tall, dry, and it was totally unsightly. The pool had a layer of leaves and tree droppings. No help available. The brochure shows a beautiful park. It was not. I emailed them when we got home asking for a refund of our deposit but have received no word or refund. I'm shocked the county allows them to remain open in that condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
We were quoted a price and when we arrived it was not honored. The bathrooms and shower rooms were filthy. My wife said there was long strands of women's hair on the sides of the shower and the drain was full of hair. She had to pull up a wad of hair so the shower would drain. Will not ever stay there again. Only stayed one night and then moved to another RV park. Staff were friendly but did not respond when told a large black dog was running loose in the park. It was still running loose when we left. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
Nice looking campground on a hillside with trees. Nice pool and hot tub. RV spaces are tight. Traffic can be heard all night long going over some type of cattle grate or storm drain grate in the road. Neither myself or my husband got any sleep. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Display older reviews for Prospectors RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$41?



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   7   5   4   2   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$41?
This was pretty much just a place to park the RV. Nothing special, nothing to make it stand out. Restrooms were clean, laundry area was good, staff very friendly. Sites are extremely close together. wouldn't stay there again. The only reason we chose this park in the first place is because of the creepy place we initially were registered at across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$52
Read reviews and had concerns, but purchased a double site and thoroughly enjoyed the campground. Staff was courteous and very helpful. Kids loved the pool and slide. Would recommend Royal Gorge KOA consider an all inclusive price for the amusements. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$39
The nightly rate includes the 10% KOA discount for being a KOA rewards member. This was our first trip to the Royal Gorge area which is absolutely spectacular. I rated this park a 7, but if the park has been fully occupied I would have rated it about a 5. There were only about 8 of us in the park. The sites are extremely close together but it didn't bother us as there were so few RV's there. The roads in to the park were rough and the site was extremely unlevel. The people working at this KOA seemed totally clueless. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. The Wi-Fi had a strong signal but the speed was horrible. I can't imagine how bad it would be if the park was even 50% occupied. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Royal Gorge / Canon City KOA
Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   4   10   6   1   8   9   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
This was our first visit and enjoyed our stay here. Roads and sites are gravel but well maintained and not dusty. We had a premium site which was a bit larger then the regular sites and worked for us. Not a lot of shade but that was not a concern as at that altitude it wasn't too hot and it made it easy to aim our satellite dish. The campground was kept clean and was well maintained. The staff and especially the owner treated us well. Our daughter visited one day with her daughter and dog and the owner explained the dog rules quickly and showed her the walking paths and exercise yard. We did pay the extra fee for extra guests but when my daughter decided to stay overnight in a tent the owner deducted that from the tent fee. Quoted price was with Good Sam discount. We will return here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
Staff (charged my cell phone) and owner (helped hook up my hitch) very helpful. Nice shade trees, clean heated pool, nice enclosed dog area with green groundcover, roads and sites crushed red gravel - very clean with no dust. No Verizon cell phone coverage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
Welcome to a gravel parking lot with a few trees here and there. We paid for a premium spot. What we got was less than. A standard spot had trees, burn pit, tables, and were closer to the pool and activities. The premium sites were on the outer edge, with no trees, no table, no burn pit, no Wi-Fi and cost $10 more a night. Check in staff went over ALL RULES and more RULES AFTER the money was handed over. Management made it very clear even though it was Labor Day weekend he was closing the pool at 7 pm Sunday for the season. Plus side, easy pull through sites and close to Royal Gorge. Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Royal View Camp Resort
Camp Information
Sites
52
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$53



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   1   10   1   8   1   1   9   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  no  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  no  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$53
Very nice people. Extremely helpful and friendly. Pull through sites are easy to access. Bathrooms and showers were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$65
Beware!! We arrived about 11 am to check in ( many sites available ) and were told check in was at 3 pm and so were forced to pay an additional 1/2 day cost. Had I not already paid for the site online I would have left then. We set up and while my husband was unhooking the car I took our small dog ( 15 lbs ) on a leash for a short walk around the park careful to stay on the road. A large dog ( pit bull I believe ) attacked my dog after breaking his leash. The bad part is that it belonged to the resident work camper. The next morning we took our dog to the vet for antibiotic and pain meds for the two lacerations to her belly. Neither the dog owner nor the campground owner realize the seriousness of this. The next innocent victim may be a small child!! And of course neither offered to pay the $90 bill at the vet. Bad experience!! My cost to stay here was $155!! Not happy! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
This is a great place to stay if you are interested in the Royal Gorge. The vintage look of the camp and the rental trailers is just plain fun. The owner-operators are very helpful and friendly. The showers are clean with plenty of hot water. This park does have a pool in the summer, but not in May. The laundry room was clean and convenient, and not expensive. WiFi is free and fast. We easily found TV with our satellite dish. We were charmed by the vintage look and pleased with the friendliness of the owners and happy with the ease of driving our 26 foot RV into a level site with a beautiful view of the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Starlite Classic Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com