224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Dolores, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.46 miles SW
10.96 miles SE
22.01 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Anasazi Heritage Center
2.51 miles NW
City Park
Cortez
7.36 miles SW
La Mesa Rv
970) 565-3610
7.47 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
1835 E Main
7.66 miles SW
Homesteaders
8.27 miles SW
Cortez - Montezuma County
12.92 miles SW
Colorado
Dolores
Most Recently Reviewed
McPhee/House Creek
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-09 01:44:45
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Dolores, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   10   10   7   8   8   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
Wonderful campground in rural, wooded location bordering the Dolores River. Level gravel RV sites around common areas with nice grassy areas and plantings. Good water pressure, good utility connections. Extremely friendly and accommodating young family owners. Verizon signal is weak and campground Wi-Fi suffered a glitch but repairs were underway. Rate reflects weekly stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
We stopped for one night and ended up staying for 2 months. We are full-timers and camped here in a 40' motorhome. The park is a wonderful example of a private park, and owners, that care about their customers. All of the campsites had mature shade trees of one form or other. The interior roads and pads were crushed gravel; interior roads were easy to navigate around on. The pads we stayed on were level. Electric and water were strong; Our nightly rate of $20/night reflects a monthly rate. Individual nightly rate was $37/night. They have a catch and release fishing pond and the campground is located on the Dolores River, so you can fly fish in the river, as well. There is a lot to do in the surrounding area, including "Jeeping" the many national forest roads in the area at up to 12,500' elevation, towns of Durango, Ouray and Telluride. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
What a beautiful campground. On Dolores River with a pond, very clean and well kept. Very nice friendly owners. Wi-Fi worked perfect. Absolutely plan to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Dolores River Campground
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$17
This rating is for a forest service campground. No water hook ups but water is available. There are no dump stations. Beautiful setting on the West Dolores river. Small quiet campground. This is the place to just sit back and relax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
This is a forest service campground. The road to this campground is paved and in good condition. Quite a few of the campsites are along the Dolores River and some of them are big enough for large motor homes. Some of the sites could accommodate 40' motorhomes. The sites have a picnic table and a fire ring. There are 5 electric (30Amp) sites. 15-E is a first come electric site. There are other first come non-electric sites available too. The sound of the river can be heard throughout this pretty campground. Sites appeared to be fairly level, water faucets located around campground loop and trash pickup is provided. TV satellite reception (dome) might come in at some sites, but probably better with a portable dish. This appeared to be a nice quiet little campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
The price was right with a senior pass and the location good for visiting Anasazi Heritage Center, Hovenweep National Monument and Canyon of the Ancients. Sites widely spaced with electric, picnic table. Negatives were that since season was about to end in late September, no reservations could be made, the showers were not available and the Pinon Loop was closed off. All sites we tried were very difficult to level. We picked up TV channels via antenna and AT&T cellular. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$22
The pull-through sites are narrow and very close to the loop road. We had to put an orange cone out as our slide was right on the edge. No water hookups and all the water spigots in the park, including at the dump station, are plain ends - no threads for attaching hose to fill water tanks! Very inconvenient! Park Hosts were very nice and sympathetic regarding water connectors, but could only offer access to their spigot at the host site. Other than these two items, the park is nice and was a good stopover point for visits to Mesa Verde and other tourist sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
West of Dolores about 8 miles where the campground is on a hilltop with a nearby overlook grand view of surrounding mountains and lake reservoir. Campground has paved sites and roads. There are several toilet houses without showers and several non-threaded water faucets scattered about campground. Dump near entrance. Fee $10 with Golden Passport. We saw several deer and jackrabbits. Nearby, toward Dolores, is the Anasazi heritage museum-center which is a 10+ excellent exceptional museum beautifully setup. Should be a AAA GEM. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for McPhee Reservoir/ Complex
Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$8.5



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$8.5
I'm not sure what campground the other people are talking about but we stayed there for almost 3 weeks and this is what they have. Decomposing toilets (no flush), some sites with electric (you pay $5 per night extra for them), no sites with full hookups, dump station but the fresh water was not working, fresh water available around the loops. This is a FS campground but it is run by the RMRC concessionaires. Most of the sites are very long and can accommodate large rigs but most will need a little leveling. You can reserve through "reserve.gov" or recreation.gov but it is not a very busy campground except on weekends. It is 17 miles north of Dolores then another 5 miles on a FS road (paved). There is almost NO phone service but occasionally we could get a signal for the computer and could text on the phone. We love this place with its spectacular views of McPhee Lake and easy access to the boat ramp. It is quite open with very few trees and can get quite hot in the summer but in September it is comfortable. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
BE AWARE: There are some discrepancies on the prices as far as what the website says, what ReserveAmerica says, and what you find out when you get here. There are only 4 sites with full hook-ups and you have to pay $25/night for these. There are also about 16 electric only sites. When you make a reservation through ReserveAmerica, they only collect the basic fee; be prepared to pay for other services when you get here. This is a very nice, quiet park in beautiful SW Colorado. Even on a summer weekend the park was almost empty. The host was very helpful and sells firewood and ice. A short drive down the hill is the reservoir. About 6 miles away is a convenience store where you can pick up bait and a fishing license (It's the Phillips gas station). Dolores is small and Cortez is about 12 miles away, do try to come with all you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
This is the new McPhee Recreation Complex, run by the USDA Forest Service (not the old House Creek campground which is on the other side of the reservoir). The sites vary in size, but some are large enough for 40' MH. Boat ramp is a short drive from the campground. Campground has nice trails with incredible views over the reservoir (500 feet below) and some Colorado peaks. Only four full hookups, 16 with electric and some with water. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for McPhee/House Creek
Camp Information
Sites
97
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   10   9   10   9   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
Can't rate this campground a 10 because the roads and sites aren't paved, no pool, no hot tub, and terrible Wi-Fi. Reservations for a site are kind of hokey as some of the "buds" of the campground seem to get their same site year after year, but for the rest of us, these prime sites aren't available. Loved the relaxing river, the neighbors, the free firewood, the nice paths to walk your dog, and just generally sitting around your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
My oh my, nothing to dislike unless you're going to sit in your motorhome and expect to watch TV all day. The location trumps any need for electronic devices. All sites are shaded and meets our expectations. The riverbank sites are "to die for". Reserve early. A week and a half notice didn't get us one. Bring your kids, fishing poles, and cameras. You will miss an opportunity for full enjoyment if you don't stay at this CG. No negatives except the absence of cable TV and this CG will overpower you without it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
This is one of the best parks we have stayed at. The area is beautiful, the staff is friendly, hiking is just across the street, and the fishing is great. Bathroom/shower facilities are spotless, nice store with goods fishing tackle licenses, etc. On Saturday mornings they have great fresh baked cinnamon rolls. We had such a good time we already made our reservation for next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Priest Gulch Campground & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
18
Date of Stay
June 2011
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
Located up forest route 535 on a paved road this pretty campground has some sites with 30 amp power. Some sites are more out in the open and others are along side of the West Dolores River. We stayed in site #1 (non-electric) which was along the river and very private. It was a huge site with a picnic table and fire ring/grill. We loved this site and it was on the reservation system. The site faces south and we were able to get our dome satellite in. Didn’t see any mosquito's, just lots of butterflies and hummingbirds. The camp hosts, were friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. The bathrooms are located at the far end of the campground. Water is available with a threaded faucet and there is trash service. The closest dump station is Dolores River RV Park in the town of Dolores or Priest Gulch RV Park which is just off of hwy. 145, 35 miles north of Dolores. No cell service here. Great campground!! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com