206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Durango, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
13.74 miles E
13.74 miles E
18.60 miles SE
26.93 miles SE
28.67 miles SE
28.67 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Fort Lewis College
0.59 miles SW
Lori'S Family Dining
1.71 miles W
Carver Brewing Co
2.19 miles SW
Red Snapper
2.26 miles SW
Durango & Silverton Narrow
2.39 miles SW
Ariano'S Italian Restau
2.41 miles SW
Franciso's
2.41 miles SW
Durango Area Chamber Res
3.34 miles SW
Santa Rita Park
Durango
3.46 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
1155 S Camino Del Rio
3.83 miles SW
Tarpley RV
4.15 miles SW
Trimble Hot Spr, Stratten Warm Spr 97
7.01 miles N
La Plata County Airport
7.49 miles SE
Tripp Hot Springs 111
7.63 miles N
Bar D Chuckwagon Suppers
7.74 miles NE
Pinkerton Hot Springs 90
11.52 miles NE
Tamarron Resort
14.43 miles N
Sky Ute Casino & Lodge
15.99 miles SE
Sky Ute 14826 Hwy. 172 No. Ignacio Co 81137 970-563-3000 (Located To Zip)
17.43 miles SE
Colorado
Durango
Most Recently Reviewed
Junction Creek Campground - USFS
Latest Review Submited On
2014-02-01 19:30:51
10 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Durango, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   7   10   8   5   9   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
We have stayed here every time we have come to Durango and are never disappointed. The Big Rig sites in the front are satellite friendly, level, good power. I noticed earlier reviews talking about the flooding and I think that they are being unfair. Flooding was everywhere in Colorado and Durango was not spared. The park was not responsible for rains that never seemed to stop. This is a clean, well run park and we have never had any issues with it. It is the nicest park in Durango and the closet park to Silverton (we will not take our 45' rig up that road). Personnel is friendly & helpful every time we are here. I cannot comment on restrooms & laundry as I do not use them. Of course, we will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
With a courteous staff and excellent location to town, Alpen Rose RV Park offers many options for quality RV camping. All sites are on gravel and somewhat close together. Clean laundry, pool area, and grass recreation volleyball courts help you feel at home. The fully fenced, off leash pet area is nearly one acre large!. The park offers a pet walking service in case you are wanting to take the Steam Train into Silverton for the day. We camped in the 30 amp section in a 37 ft rig, and although the site was very, very tight, two helpful staff employees offered eyes on the ground assistance. A beautiful park that we would happily camp at again when in the Durango area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$51
We were here during the heavy flooding, and we had water all around our coach. But you can't blame the park; they did their best to get us comfortable. All utilities worked fine, no problems. Our smart phone (Verizon) worked fine, but our Verizon Modem couldn't get a data access. Park Wi-Fi was poor and according to my security software dangerous and a known identity theft access point. Note that this a internet provider issue, not a park issue. We mostly went in town and used a coffee shop internet. Relatively expensive, but that is what you get in this area. We'll stay here again if we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Alpen Rose RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
July 2009
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
This is a bare bones campground. We arrived in Durango with no reservations. Called a couple of campgrounds and they were all full. We were told by one of the campgrounds that Cottonwood did have sites available. We called: and the they did. We arrived to be greeted by a very nice lady and her husband. They let us have our pick of the sites. The park is old, and dusty, but quiet. The only problem that I had was the price: extremely over priced. But beggars can't be choosers. We would probably not stay here again: only because of the price. it would be a nice stopping place at about $20 per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   6   6   10   7   7   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$39
We rarely stay at a KOA due to cost and our disinterest in most amenities, but this one looked like one of the cheapest RV parks in the Durango area. It's about 7 miles south of town, up a long grade, going by all the big box stores. The host was ready for us when we arrived and his partner drove us to our site, which was a nice back in with full hookups including cable. We ended up using our over-the-air antenna for the limited channels of interest to us. A person on neighboring property with a dirt motorcycle was a little worrisome but was not a problem. We stayed here to ride the Durango-Silverton train. We didn't try the internet as we had our Verizon card. The rate shown includes sales tax and is the single night rate. We stayed two days and would stay here again were we in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
This is the best KOA I have stayed at so far. Plenty of shade and privacy with a nice view of the mountains from our site. Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. I will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Our first visit to this campground and it won't be our last. The staff and owners are exceptional, the grounds are immaculate. We had our grandkids with us and they loved the pool, mini golf and especially the panning for gold. The lady who was in charge of the panning is a real jewel herself! Be sure to get a pizza, too! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Durango KOA
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$54



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   9   6   8   8   6   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$54
We really enjoyed our stay at this park. The park is all gravel and minor leveling was necessary on our riverfront site. The view of mountains and water was amazing, and the river was up due to the recent rains. The gravel roads held up very well considering the amount of rain received. The bathrooms were very clean. Staff was friendly, helpful and responsive. The park is very quiet at night and well off the highway. We had strong Verizon signal and had no problem with satellite TV reception. The park also has cable TV with many channels and a great picture. Although we did not use the heated pool, it is beautifully landscaped and maintained. Park is convenient to visit Silverton and Ouray as well as Durango. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Staying here on the river. Not very level and had to use several blocks just to get level. In fact, quite a few rigs here have had to get their front ends off the ground to get level. Staff friendly, gravel sites with good electricity. Free WiFi but gets slow in evening as everybody is on it. Our site was only 40 feet long by 12 feet wide. Won't stay here again when passing thru. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$80
Park is in a very nice location. The sites on the river were awesome but expensive and very close together. Our neighbors sewer was very close to our picnic table. They charge $5.00 per pet that you bring and I don't know why, there is no place for them to go. The check in process was very good. The office staff are cheerful and friendly. Our site was fairly level and all utilities worked fine. WI-FI was weak, but Verizon signal was good. About half of the TV channels were fuzzy, but the view and location were out of this world and we will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Durango Riverside Resort & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
November 2012
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   9   4   3   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
November 2012
$1
Pulled in on Thanksgiving Day; no one was around. Phone didn't even work; tried to call and got disconnected. The other reviewers are right, it's pretty much of a dump with long-termers that looked like oil field workers. As it's the only park in town open during the winter, I went on to the next town. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
We have stayed at Durango RV park for four different summer vacations from 2001 to 2010, and it's always good to return to a safe familiar place. It's like our home away from home. We tow our Jeep and take full advantage of the trails and views within our daily range. We have enjoyed the scenery on US-550 dozens of times to Silverton and Ouray and if you're really brave, don't miss the Alpine loop. If you're really really brave, test your Jeep's endurance and driving skills from Telluride over Imogene Pass to Ouray. Enjoy the scenic trails in LaPlata Canyon. Visit the Telluride hydro plant and the Ames or Ouray hydro plants. At the end of the day, have dinner at the Silverton Brown Bear or the dozens of restaurants in Durango. Durango RV Park has lots with trees and shade and a mountain view where you can see the weather conditions all the way to Engineer Mountain. Your camp site is a private and quiet place where you can enjoy your lawn chairs with no bugs and no smoke from campfires. Enjoy the hummingbirds, flowers, farm, mining and industrial antiques at an old-iron lover's paradise. Easy access to shopping at Aztec, Farmington, Cortez, Durango, Bayfield or Ignatio. It's in the middle of it all with low monthly rates, friendly hosts, an easy path to DirecTV or Dish Network, DSL phone connections, laundry and mail. If you are into skiing or other winter fun, they are open all year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
This is more of workers park with many permanent type trailers. Folks where friendly and no bathrooms at the time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Durango Year Round RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$19
If you are looking for a cushy park with lots of amenities, this is not the place for you. We didn't have reservations, but the park holds a few sites for first come first serve. We found a spot that our RV would fit in although there were no utilities. You can run a generator between 8am and 10pm. The weather is nice and cool and the park is so quiet. We slept with the windows open and the weather was perfect for it. Would definitely stay here again. If you want a spot on the lake, with power, be sure to go to the website and reserve it well in advance because they stay pretty booked up in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Very nice dry camping campground. NO WATER connections for any type of hose, so no re-filling or topping off RV water tanks. Very clean and very well maintained. Only downside is if you are not comfortable with narrow roads, as they are indeed narrow if your are in a large motorhome as we were. We stayed one night while passing through and would stay again if needed place to stop and were prepared to dry camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$9
Rate reflects Senior Pass. This is a very nice quiet campground in the San Juan National Forest. Haviland Lake is great for trout fishing. Site was large enough to get our 36 foot fifth-wheel in, clean site with fire ring & picnic table. We had 50 amp electric & had no problems. Vault toilets were clean, there are no showers. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Haviland Lake, San Juan National Forest
Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
This is one of the nicest Forest Service campgrounds we've ever stayed in. The volunteers are wonderful. It's nice and quiet, and we were blessed with sightings of deer and brown bear from our breakfast room table on more than on occasion. Can't recommend this campground highly enough. Will always choose this campground over the more expensive and less camper friendly places in Durango. (Been stopping in the Durango area for the past 35 years) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
A nice NF CG just a few miles west of Durango. If you don't like dirt roads or some washboard then stay away. But if you can get past that and like a quiet spot in the woods but close to town this is a great hidden gem. It is about 5 miles outside of town and the pavement ends about 2 miles before the CG. They are supposed to scrape the road twice a year but the hosts said that they hadn't done it this year as of June... (no surprise as the washboard was pretty bad in spots) There is one loop with electric sites. Most are heavy treed but you can still get satellite from some. The vault toilets were spotless and the host were very engaged and super friendly. They stopped by each night to check up on us and inform us as to the fire restrictions. I thought my wife was not going to like it due to the dirt roads but it turned out to be one of her favorites and we wound up staying a week making day trips to Mesa Verde, Telluride and Silverton. I give it a 10 for location. I took away points due to the dirt roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   9   10   9   7   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We stayed here for five nights and had a wonderful time. We usually like to stay at state parks and this is the most park-like commercial RV park we've ever stayed at. The owners are very friendly and the park is kept up very well and is very quiet and peaceful. It's located in a beautiful canyon just 10 minutes from town. We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Durango. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
This is one of the nicest campgrounds we have stayed at in our yearly vacations to Durango since 1972. It is clean, quiet and professionally run. Even though it is surrounded by mountains satellite TV is easily obtained even with a small portable 18 inch dish. Wi-Fi is available but during the evenings when all campers are in camp it is slower than the old dial up internet. Better Wi-Fi and/or cable TV would make this RV park perfect. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Real nice campground with new owners. The owners and camp host were real nice and helpful. Some sites along the creek are a little close. The campground is along a creek bottom with trees. Out of town but just a short trip to town. No TV reception but satellite is possible. No AT&T cell service except by the camp store. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Lightner Creek Campground
Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   6   8   6   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$40
What a great campground and very friendly and helpful front desk. Would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
OMG!! This was a fun park; the train goes right through the campground--twice in the morning (8:15 and 9:00) and twice in the evening. Folks gather to wave to the returning trains. The FREE trolley right at the front entrance into town was super. We had a back-in site that was plenty big and right under a huge tree with lots of shade. Friends came and had a pull in site right next to us. Sites were gravel and very level. We saw lots of large rigs on the next lower level and though close, they all had slides out and room to walk between. (But as someone said, if you wanted private sites, this is not for you.) Staff was very friendly and helpful. I did have several issues that caused me to downgrade from a possible 10: first, they have NO recycling at the campground, even though they do it in town. It's not that difficult and as campers we should be encouraging environmentally friendly policies. Second, all the rest rooms/showers have cypher locks on the outside door. I just don't see the need, if you have a diligent staff. Finally, though I got on the internet OK, it was slow and did drop on a number of occasions. But we would definitely come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Stayed here 3 nights visiting the Durango & Silverton Railroad. Trains pass through the campground and this feature was why we chose to stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for United Campground of Durango
Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   2   6   2   6   7   5   4   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  no  no  no  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  no  no  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
This is a lovely, quiet, smaller RV park. The mgr, Bob, was very nice and helpful. The spaces are nice and wide for full slide and awning extension, level, with gravel pads and grass between each site. There is a nice laundry room. Half the sites are OK for satellite reception. There are no shower facilities, but if you are fully self contained, this is a nice place. WiFi worked great. Hot springs across the street at half price. Grocery store, small strip center five minute walk. Camped here in a 42ft Country Coach with jeep. Will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2013
$38
Wow! What a rip-off! My experience here was so disappointing, I joined the forum. The spaces are SUPER close. They didn't plow the snow in the park, thus the snow was packed into ice. There are no showers or bathrooms. If I didn't need the electric heat, I would have boondocked. The couple good things about Westerly is that it's open in the winter, and the wifi is pretty good. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$41
We pulled into Durango in late November and this park was pretty much the only game in town, as the rest of the parks had closed their doors for the season. Weather was gorgeous so they all shut slightly early if you ask me. In any event, this is really a no-frills park. It did have Wi-Fi which worked well. Park, at this time of the year, was filled with mostly longer-term folks with ample spots for people staying short time. Site was level and long enough for our 40' coach and tow car. Mineral spa across the street which you get a 50% coupon for being a guest at Westerly. We did use it, which was nice. Close to road and train so a bit of road noise but not bad at night. Friendly park host. Neighbors were a bit noisy late at night as well. Market and hardware store right across street (within walking distance), and close to golf course. This is okay for an overnight stay, but we felt the price was too steep for what was received, which was basically a parking slab with a Wi-Fi signal. Charged $1 for the dog as well - and I'm sure he didn't use any of their non-existent amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Westerly RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com