223541 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Gunnison, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
23.66 miles SW
26.34 miles NE
27.96 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Blue Mesa Rec Ranch
(970)641-0492
2.13 miles SW
Rpi- Co Blue Mesa Rec Ranch (Wh) 27601 W Hwy 50 Gunnison
2.36 miles SW
Blue Mesa Recreational Ranch-27601 W Hwy 50
3.57 miles SW
Whr Aor Rod+ Rpip C2C Pa Gunnison Co - Blue Mesa 5/1-10/15
3.77 miles SW
Elk Creek Cg
Gunnison
5.43 miles SW
AOR0042
7.48 miles NE
Gunnison-Cs
8.44 miles NE
Gunnison County Airport
8.63 miles NE
Wal-Mart
900 N Main St
9.14 miles NE
Western State College Of
9.47 miles NE
Curecanti National Recrea
11.55 miles SW
Colorado
Gunnison
Most Recently Reviewed
Tall Texan Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-17 04:53:18
8 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Gunnison, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   6   10   9   1   10   9   10   3   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
We were checking out RV Parks in the area for a future stay when we visited Blue Mesa Point. This place is very run down and unkempt, it looks more like an abandoned campground. It does have a view of the lake, but it is not that close. It is nothing like they advertise. I cannot understand how anyone could give it more than a 2 at best. We would never stay at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
We stayed at this park for 3 nights and it was great. The area is very nice and the park was clean and the people were very friendly. We had no problems parking there with our bus. Had a great time We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
We camped here with our friends who camped in a tent.  We both have kids under 5 and really enjoyed the large meadows and trails.  The owners told us about the Jr. Ranger program at the Black Canyon of the Gunnison and Curecanti.  The owner has a big lovable black lab, which has given all of our kids puppy fever. We also rented a boat at Lake Fork Marina which is about 2 minutes from this campground.  We stayed for 3 days and it was not enough time to see everything there is to see in this area.  This was definitely the most family friendly and open park we've been too do far on our trip. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Blue Mesa Point
Camp Information
Sites
350
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   4   9   8   10   4   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$0
We stayed here for 5 days on a promo tour of the ranch. When we checked in we were given site #88. We drove to the site and quickly figured out that we couldn't back into the site. It was long enough, but the road (paved) leading to it was just too narrow for us newbies (as the person giving backup instructions to driver, I suck) to use. We went down the road and snagged #79 instead. As a side note, the sites are all (or mostly) back-ins. If you're good with that then go for it. If you're not all the comfortable with the maneuvering then beware. The ranch is nice, it's peaceful, and this time of year no kids (nice). They have pools (indoor and outdoor). We tried them both, and on the best day we were there really enjoyed the outdoor "adults only" pool. The key is to be a member here. We liked the place, just didn't know if we'd use it all that often. We're not big fishers, ATVers or boaters, so just not our style of RVing. Other then that the staff is friendly, though somewhat absent, but that's OK, we really didn't need them for much. The area is lousy for cell service, you almost need to drive down to Gunnison (9 miles?) to get coverage (or go out in the middle of the lake.) The Wi-Fi (while improving) is still very spotty and unreliable. We got a pontoon boat for a day and had the BEST DAY ever on the lake! It's very pretty/peaceful out there. We enjoyed our stay, and we'll be back (if we can, as we didn't buy in to the membership). Our stay was free, as a promotion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$10
One of the few parks we would give a 10! I will admit we were here after Labor Day and the "rug rats" were gone but, boy, is it peaceful! They are putting in a new Wi-Fi system and it is improving. Poor AT&T. Sites are nicely spaced and do require some leveling, but that goes with the territory. The peacefulness makes up for it! We plan to return. Rate reflects Coast-to-Coast member rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2014
$10
We stayed at Blue Mesa Ranch twice within a month. The first time they gave us a site on the west side of the park. The power was down to 103 volts at times! We asked to move east a couple of rows and the power was fine. They charge $2.00 per day for "cable TV" turns out it is air tv 4 channels! We used our own antenna which received the same channels for free. We asked to extend our stay 5 days and were told they would be full..well they had over 60 open spaces. May or may not return! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Blue Mesa Ranch
Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   6   6   4   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Very basic forest service campground. New concrete sites and beautiful view of the lake. Very quiet and DARK. Stayed one night, and would stay again in a minute. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
Great stopover location while touring Colorado Rockies. Convenient to Black Canyon of the Gunnison River. D-loop has 50-amp service (no sewer or water), but all sites were reserved during weekend. A-loop had numerous unreserved sites, but there are no hookups. Shade trees are scarce. Federal senior rates apply. We would come back here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
A nice clean, well kept campground. Could use more shade, but that will come with more time for the few trees here to mature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Elk Creek Campground (NFS)
Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   8   6   10   10   9   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
Nice grass. The owner works hard on the grass. Not a lot of grass in this neck of the woods. Some sites are small. The premiums are nice, and worth the $. Nice laundry. Close to town, and the airport. Very near the airport. Can be dusty, but the owners work hard to keep it down. Good little store. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
This is one of the few KOAs that we like as they are very friendly and helpful, with nice facilities. Park is grassy, off hiway, spacious, and clean. Owners are extremely pet friendly. We had a large back-in with no one on either side so it made for a quiet stay. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Really nice park. Only problem was that the sites were set up facing each other and were close together. Other than that it was well maintained, with clean bathrooms and laundry facilities. Would probably stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Gunnison KOA
Camp Information
Sites
67
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   10   8   8   8   6   4   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
We stayed 3 days in Sept to see the colors changing. Our pull through site was long and level, the WiFi and TV were acceptable, the owners were friendly and helpful and the campground was clean and well cared for. We will stay again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
Paid $42.79 for two nights, Passport America rate with taxes. We had a nice long fairly level 50 amp full hook up site with good Wi-Fi. Our Verizon was at the very edge of its service area. TV was bad, no batwing, but cable had some over the air signals, but we did not get much. I ran the coax straight into the back of our front TV, had a couple of PBS type stations. If you fish, a great place to stop. But other than that, its just a pit stop along US-50. Overall, a decent place for a short stay. Very nice helpful folks here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
We camped here over the the 4th of July weekend. The location is close to the Stevens Creek launch point at Blue Mesa Reservoir. The pros: - Very close to the lake - Friendly staff - Clean restrooms - Well-stocked store The cons: - Showers are pay and require $2 for about 10 minutes worth of hot water. - The WiFi is not too bad, but they only give you a password for ONE device. Do not download a lot of data or they will cut you off. They have limited internet options due to their location and they will monitor you if you download too much content (such as watching a moving on Netflix) - Cell phone service very limited (Verizon) which may be good or bad depending on if you need the service or not - The sites were not very level (property is on the lower side of a hill) - When we were there, there were a lot of flying bugs (not biting, but annoying) and not something that the owners could control. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Gunnison Lakeside RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   5   9   10   10   10   8   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
Nice park. Shady, quiet when we were there. They used to have cable TV, but disconnected it the last time the cost went up. Lots of park models around the outside perimeter, so could be busy during the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Nice campground 3 miles west of Gunnison. Office manager very accommodating. Sites are close together but campers are very nice. Lots of seasonal campers but very well maintained park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$48
Park is OK but is way too pricey for an older park with mostly narrow back in sites, no pool, and Wi-Fi equivalent to dial up speed when it does connect (and I could see a Wi-Fi antenna from my rig's door). Price shown is for one of their very limited pull-throughs, which costs $5/night extra. Neither their web site or the prices posted outside the office show this premium for the pull-through. Published prices also do not include several dollars per night in additional taxes. The site was easy, long enough, and level. However, most of the sites are narrow, as was mine. My neighbor could almost touch my bedroom slide from his picnic table. Hosts were friendly, restrooms were clean if a bit dated, lots of shaded sites. However I will try one of the other parks in town the next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mesa Campground
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   8   9   9   7   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
What is important to us: We are full-timers in a 45 foot class A coach. We don't care about bathrooms, or amenities for kids. This is a great park, with really great work campers. Many of the regulars that stay here, are dog people, and the large fenced in dog park is a great place to meet other folks staying at the park, and a great place for dogs to play with each other. The spots are ample in size, and well maintained. The verizon 4G signal is strong, so Internet access is very good. Many of the sites are "buddy sites", so if you are coming here with friends, try to arrange to be together. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$18
Level crushed stone sites with buddy setup for units with nice patch of grass and a tree or two on entry side. Excellent water pressure. WiFi was fair and gets bogged down when park is busy. Good Verizon 4G coverage. Friendly staff with weekly pot lucks, talks and more. Very quiet dead-end street with horse pasture and woodlands around. Rate reflects monthly stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
Great RV park, close to town. The managers are very helpful, friendly and welcoming. Lots of social activities: potlucks every Sunday, a lecturer for social hour every Wednesday, a stitching/crafts afternoon every Monday. Nice dog park where people socialize as well as the dogs! Most of the sites around the perimeter have mature trees; the rest have a grassy areas, picnic tables and newly planted trees. The park is very clean and the clubhouse is as well. We camped here for six weeks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Palisades Senior RV Park (55+ park)
Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   9   7   8   8   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$39
This is a beautiful setting. The manager is a gracious host. We stayed two nights at end of season; just two others in rv park. Made for a nice feeling of seclusion. Previous reviewers had indicated wifi available only by managers home. This is what we were told upon checking. He placed us in site #6 which had great wifi. For sure ask for this site! I would have rated this a 10 except for the price. Our price with tax came to $42.32. Many rv camps discount at end of season; this one doesn't. A bit disappointed, but Gunnison is a special Colorado town. Paying full price with wifi potentially not being user friendly within one's camper is an issue that was noted by other reviewers. Cable worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$41
A very nice quiet park. Some seasonal RVs, but not a problem. Many have beautiful flowers in pots that really are beautiful. Pull-through site was pretty level, with nice cement area for picnic table. Sites are about your average closeness. Walking distance to river and a nice bike path into town. The downside to this is the Wi-Fi. You have to be in the office/community room to get any Wi-Fi, or standing right outside. Was told the trees would interfere with the Wi-Fi. We were also disappointed to find this office/game room area was closing at 7:30 pm so we could not use the tables to play games or sit and use the Wi-Fi. The $41 a night reflects a 10 night stay and an extra $3 a day if you want 50 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$42
We stayed at this park in 2012 and were glad to return this year. Very nice park, very clean, level spaces and lots of grass, all spaces have a concrete pad. The spaces around the pond are very spacious and lovely. There is also a cottonwood area which is nice and shady but the spaces are a little tight in that area. Friendly staff, very quiet. This is will most likely continue to be our favorite place to stay when we come back to explore the Gunnison and Crested Butte area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Tall Texan Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com