223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Howard, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
4.36 miles SE
10.90 miles SE
13.74 miles NW
14.37 miles NW
18.22 miles SW
24.23 miles S
25.19 miles NW
29.01 miles SE
30.72 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Swissvale Warm Springs 82
4.79 miles NW
Wellsville Warm Spring 91
5.80 miles NW
Rpi- Co Cutty'S Resort Hayden Creek 3428 Hayden Creek Rd Coaldale Fcfs
6.39 miles SE
Country Bounty
11.56 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
7865 W Hwy 50
11.66 miles NW
City Park
Salida
11.71 miles NW
Colorado
Howard
Most Recently Reviewed
Arkansas Headwaters Recreation Area, Rincon Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-24 02:54:16
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Howard, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
7
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2014
$16
The rate is $16 if you have the Colorado State Parks Annual Pass;otherwise, you will also have to pay the $7 per day entrance fee bringing it to $23 per night! The seven sites are right along the Arkansas River in a red-rock canyon, but it is also right along Highway 50. The river and canyon are beautiful, the highway not so nice. It has a lot of traffic, including noisy, heavy truck traffic and it is right next to the campground. The sites are well laid out with gravel for roads and parking. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring and tent pad. The numbering is strange; as you enter sites 1 through 5 are to your left. Sites 6 & 7 are to your left and through a pretty big dip that a larger RV might have a problem with. There are vault toilets. There is no dump station, fresh water fill, or trash pickup. So that is very expensive for a nice place to park along side the highway. You can think a very nice rest area along a highway. There are no park hosts. The campground is about 9 miles outside of the cute city of Salida, but we did not feel OK about leaving our rig to go into town. We were the only campers there and there was really no official presence. We would not stay here again. There is a BLM boon docking site closer to town that feels more secure. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This is a really cute park. It's got about 20 spots, all spread out, (#1-4 are by far the best, try for those), cabins, hotel, etc. Easy hookups, in the right place and more importantly out of the way when you are getting backed in. Not all spots are big rig capable, but certainly a good percentage of them are. (We camped here in a 45' motorhome.) It's on the river side of the highway, most spots are within 50' of the river and none are really further away than 150'. They have a cowboy singalong with BBQ on Saturday nights. (We did not attend, but they had a good turnout.) It's confusing as to which place it is when you initially pull in, but its becomes pretty obvious. Super nice people, very clean campground, restrooms were very clean, showers were decently clean. Great place to walk your dogs along the river on both sides. If you get up early in the morning and walk a bit, you can see the elk coming down to drink at the river. It needs a store. Doesn't have to be huge, but needs silly snacks, camping stuff, etc. I was told that they were leasing out a building to a restaurant operator in August and would have a restaurant operating soon. You should verify. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
We stayed here last August for a month and came back this year to spend the summer! Along the Arkansas river, in the country. Great hosts, very friendly. They put on a Cowboy dinner, complete with a wagon ride and cowboy singing and line dancing. Not fancy, but comfortable, quiet and relaxing. Also have motel rooms and 3 cabins. Close to Salida and many attractions. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$14
The owners here are the best we have ever met. He bent over backwards to accommodate us for a pull through that they do not have, normally. Since they were not full, we actually took up 2 spaces. Sites 1-4 are along the river and it was a great night's stay. This RV Park is not the best but hookups were great and if you stay in 1-4, you will like it. We were here only 1 night. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Bandera's Bunkhouse
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
I did not see any tent sites, but they do have a hotel attached. It's not a very big park, maybe 20 to 30 RV spots, about half big rig capable. Tricky though, you had to work at some, but everyone got in. Most motorhomes had to disconnect their towed vehicle down below then drive it up. There were two 36 foot plus 5th wheels on site also, it is possible. Nice and well trimmed trees throughout so you can get some nice shade. Super super super nice manager, came by at least once a day, see if we needed anything, trying very hard. The website is AWFUL. Truly bad. The sewer and electric are where you expect, but the water hookups are at one end of each site. You need 50 to 75 feet of hose to get to it so be prepared. The site goes up a hill, so you get a view no matter what and are not just staring at your neighbor. However, it means you don't have lots of space side to side to put tables out. But they willingly brought picnic tables around to put in front/behind of your rig and you used the parking area as your flat spot. it worked fine. 50 amp service, Wi-Fi is hit or miss. It worked one night then didn't work the 2nd night after a teenager showed up next to us. The attached restaurant has a really good breakfast (huge portions, huge!) and a reasonable dinner. There is no store. There is a laundromat, and they own property on the river side, you just have to walk about 200 feet down and across the highway (not a big deal) to the river to fish. The public bathrooms were mostly clean, the showers were tiny and short and tiles were missing on the floor. Real nice new playground on very level ground. Plenty of room to park extra vehicles down below. Gravel roads, and I was really worried about mud, but it rained hard for over an hour one day and within 30 minutes the entire place was dry again. Lots of road base on the roads, no worry about mud. Some sites are more level than others, bring blocks. Fee reflects 10 percent discount for new customers. (plus you get 10 percent off your meals at the restaurant) and it's easily $10 to $15 cheaper than most in the area. Very quiet, especially as the traffic winds down on the highway at dusk. Lots of trails go up the hills you can go explore and let the dogs loose. I tried this campground because of the earlier review. I wanted to give a new business a chance. They just need better (more) management and attention to detail to finish the updating to improve their score We camped here in a 45 foot rig and would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
I think most folks will be surprised to see all the improvements that have been made in this park! It had not been kept up in years past, but, the new owners (transplanted Texans!)have managed to make it pleasant and affordable! Good spacing between sites with 50amp service (I'm camped here in a 26 ft travel trailer) and room for slide outs. While not on the river, they do have river access and a cabin for rent right on the river. They do offer a lot of discounts and are thinking for lowering their rates even further to help build the park back up! Pet friendly, kid friendly and very nice owners! I plan on staying all summer since they do not charge for electricity! Clean restrooms with showers and yummy home style cooking at the cafe with discounts for campers! Although I wouldn't call it a "resort" by RV standards, it is a darn good bargain for the area! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   7   10   10   10   10   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$45
I would have given this campground a 10 except the water and electric hookup for our site #7 was on the wrong side. However, I loved the site as it had more space compared to other sites and it was a waterfront site. Staff friendly and helpful. As others have mentioned there are many seasonal campers and locals who leave their campers. Wi-Fi was great! My Verizon PC Card did not work there except for one night. AT&T cell coverage good. We were able to get Satellite TV at the site. The only downside is location, as it's a 20 to 25 minute drive to Salida. Compared to other campgrounds in the area it's the best we found. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
Quiet park, pretty setting among mountains and set along the Arkansas River. Sites and interior roads all dirt and many are unlevel front to back, but it was nice to have a little cement pad with patio table. No Verizon cell, no cable. Wi-Fi was OK for checking email. Fishing access in the park is limited to one spot; banks are steep and most of river is inaccessible. There’s nothing much in Howard and in this area but it’s 20 minutes to Salida along the winding but pretty Hwy 50 where there are amenities and shopping. There are many permanents but all have nice rigs, their sites are tidy and the park is clean. There is one bathroom for women and one for men with shower, sink, toilet in one room so it can be used by one person at a time, but always very clean. It’s not for us, but would definitely recommend this park for those looking for a peaceful spot in a beautiful area of the country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
Great park and quiet off from Hwy 50. Lots of folks come there and stay for 5 months. Friendly and campground is clean. They have campfires with smores on weekends. Sometimes the rec hall has events. We found it a good location for driving to Salida and Royal Gorge and Canon City. No Verizon but there is ATT at the campground. We had no problems parking. Plenty of space between rigs and has cement pad with grass. We would stay here again. They are new owners and are working very hard to please. WiFi worked great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Pleasant Valley RV Park of Howard
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
question
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is a small, basic park located about 15 miles from Salida. There are about 12 sites for RVs and a separate area for tents. Roads and sites are packed dirt. Sites were fairly level. Maneuvering into the sites was a little tricky, but do-able. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. There are two washers and three dryers that were reasonably priced. Verizon aircard and cell phone do not work in this area but work in the city of Salida. The owners take pride in their small campground and you can see it in the flowers beds that separate some of the sites. Even though the park is located right off the highway, it was quiet at night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
I can't believe no one's rated this place yet! I think I've found a hidden jewel and I'm not real sure I want the word to get out. How many places do you stay in that actually has a stream running right down the middle of it? The grounds are being constantly kept up. And the owner's wife can usually be found planting bulbs. If you want a peaceful, quiet, well kept campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com