206648 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Lake City, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
21.08 miles NW
21.84 miles NW
23.91 miles SW
24.63 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Lakeview Scanticon Resort
2.81 miles SE
Colorado
Lake City
Most Recently Reviewed
Elkhorn RV Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2013-07-28 14:37:11
7 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Lake City, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   9   9   8   9   8   10   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
This is a great RV park. Plenty of space between sites, friendly atmosphere and right next to a lake. Wish it was closer to where we live. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Beautiful setting with most sites in the trees as well as a few sites in an open parking lot area where you can use a satellite dish. It is a wide and level gravel road for 4 miles to reach the campground. Very clean laundry with 4 washers and 4 dryers. The owners are very friendly, we rented a jeep to drive the gorgeous Alpine Loop. We also caught 3 delicious trout in the lake which cost us $7 to fish. Would definitely stay here again and stay longer. Cell phones do not work here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
The park is located on the Alpine loop, dirt road for 4 miles to park on winding mountain road past lake San Cristobol. Very narrow drive around park to site, very difficult with larger camper. Sites difficult to get into and close together. No cell signal for any phone service, only spot is 4 miles back down dirt road to paved road. Wi-Fi great, only available at lodge, but works great. Lake city is a very small town, and only has a general type store, very expensive, and very limited. Closest store 45 minutes away. That was all the negatives, the positives: views were amazing, well worth all the negative. Easy access to alpine 4x4 loop. Fishing in private ponds were great, we fished pretty much everyday. and came home with tons of trout. Lake San Cristobol is beautiful! The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The teenage girls who were very upset and crying the first day we were there because of the no cell service and the remoteness, are already wanting to return! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Castle Lakes Campground Resort
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   9   8   9   9   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
We camped on a grassy site. Very nice owners, free coffee in the morning, campfire in the evening. Very clean toilets and hot showers. This was our third time camping over here, always feel very welcome. We do recommend this campground, the atmosphere is great! We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$33
We called a few days before our intended arrival only to find that the CG would not be open till a few days after we were passing through. The weather was still unseasonably cold so the water was not turned on but if we wanted we could come but no water, no sewer. No problem for us. We always travel prepared for at least a couple days of unexpected dry camping. We enjoyed a stay of being the only people there & got an excellent rate because all services were not available from the very accomodating owner. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Owners are very accommodating to your needs, have really nice warm shower and laundry rooms, marshmallow bonfires at night, and propane grills available for you to cook on. A very laid back atmosphere and a good value. Very ATV friendly. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Display older reviews for Elkhorn RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   8   10   9   8   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
The park was clean and owners were very friendly. The donut breakfast and pot luck dinner was nice. Lots of 4-wheeling. We did not like how crowded everything was. We were so close to our neighbors that we could not open our awning and had to park our car so close to the camper that we could not open the door all the way. Our site was a gravel parking lot. We will look for other arrangements next time in Lake City. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
This CG is in a beautiful setting, though you cannot see the river from there as it says on their website. That aside there are plenty of +++ like the nice owners, social atmosphere, good utilities (except the cable signal is very bad), level sites, good facilities, convenient location and cool elevation. On the other hand, this is one tight place. Our site, for a 40 footer, should have been for a 35 footer MAX. No place to park our toad except for on our porch. In all fairness, most of the other sites were OK in that regard. But still the sites are mostly very close. A select few are very nice and spacious but were occupied by "yearly returnees". Overall, thumbs up and we'd come back but only if we could get one of the better sites and that would mean booking way ahead on the calendar. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$42
Nice park with fantastic, clean bathrooms. There is a pavillion where you can grill or just sit. Nice owners who work to make your stay nice. Only downside was there were a lot of mosquitoes when we were there. Still a great place, though. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Highlander RV Campground
Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
January 2009
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$37
This campground has been sold and renamed Elkhorn RV Resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Nice quiet campground against the bluffs a couple blocks from downtown. There is a nice covered deck overlooking a grassy yard to sit and sip your complimentary coffee and quick breads in the morning. They have a group fire pit, laundry and cabins for your non-Rving relatives. Owners are a warm, friendly couple ready to share their town. No website but they do have Email tbears@lakecity.net Excellent location to explore surrounding mountains by foot or jeep. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
July 2008
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$14
This is a primitive campground just at the start of the road up to Cinnamon Pass. You are at over 9500 feet at this campground. The only facilities are pit toilets. We stayed here in our motor home and it was a challenge getting it level. But we did with some patience. There were mostly tent and trailers there but a few of the sites can accommodate a big rig. Just make sure your water is topped off and the holding tanks are empty. We enjoyed our stay. It was relatively quiet and the sites were spaced well apart. With surrounding mountains and spectacular views this is a great place to spend a few days. It is still close enough to Lake City to run into town for a meal or to make an ice run. If you love 4-wheeling you'll love this part of Colorado. And this campground provides as much as you can expect in location and relaxation. Don't forget your jeep when you come. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
29
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   8   9   9   10   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Park was nearly full, so we were lucky to have gotten one of the last sites, which was roomy enough compared to other parks in the area, especially those in town, that shoehorn you in. Clean bathrooms, attentive staff. Only used it as a base camp while we were off to experience the sights during the day, so no comment on the "RV park experience." Only drawback is they only take cash or check, no credit cards. Tough if you want to reserve a space while you are on the road a few days out. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
We had a terrible site! It was supposed to be 50' and wide but was a shared driveway with the next site and barely had room to park our truck. Site and road was rocky (not gravel) and tough to walk on without twisting your ankle. Waist high weeds were about 6' from our door side so we had little space to sit in. Mosquito's were thick because of the weeds. Owner charged us $31.00 at check in and handed us a brochure about the park. When I read it, it said all sites were $28.00. Next morning, I went to office and asked her about it and she said we had a "premium" site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
A great park. Beautiful scenery, deer walking through the park in the morning, chipmunks and birds everywhere. Some sites on the river/stream, but difficult access to water. Quite a few long-term campers, but all were very friendly and sociable. The sites were level, campground clean, neat. Wi-Fi available with a small charge. Clean bathrooms. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Woodlake Park
Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
August 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
High on the southern 'cliffs' overlooking Lake San Cristobal, this "no frills" campground offers excellent views and that often-elusive "peace and quiet!" Providing a convenient "base" for sight-seeing, fishing, or "four wheeling" any of the areas spectacular four wheel drive roads, Wupperman Campground is an excellent alternative to commercial campgrounds. We camped here many years ago when out two sons were young and the "remote-nest" of Wupperman gave them more of a true outdoor experience than they would have. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
This county campground is spread out in various spots along the south side of gorgeous Lake San Cristobel. I stayed at the loop that was right on the waterfront, but other loops were perched higher on a bluff. No hookups and only pit toilets, but there was 1 dump station. Picnic tables had seen better days and it didn't appear that cleaning fire pits was one of the host's duties. But, despite all this, it is one of the most scenic camp sites I've ever stayed at! I launched my kayak literally 20 feet from the RV and the lake was calm and peaceful: only a few small fishing boats and another kayaker on the water. My dog enjoyed swimming from our site as well. I was able to get both ATT and Verizon cell service here, but not 3G so don't expect lots of speed. Overall, a lovely spot to stay a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$15
This is a bare bones campground run by the Hinsdale county just outside of Lake City on beautiful Lake San Cristobal. We camped here for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. We caught trout everyday and had a great spot on the Lake. There is water to fill your camper and a dump station, and a very friendly camp host who are just the best. This is a beautiful part of Colorado the lake is located along the Alpine loop, and Lake City is a nice little mountain town. There is a great bakery on the way into town, and if you like fudge they make it homemade at the Sportsman's outdoor shop. Lake City is a bit of a challenge to get to but really worth the drive. The campground has spots right on the lake, or on a bluff overlooking the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com