220689 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Lake George, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
15.44 miles SE
20.89 miles SE
20.99 miles E
21.97 miles NW
26.22 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Florissant Fossil Beds N
11.30 miles SE
Colorado
Lake George
Most Recently Reviewed
Blue Mountain Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-05 13:05:58
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Lake George, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
This is a National Forest campground about 2 miles south of Lake George, CO. There are no hookups or dump stations. There is a hand pump water available near the campground host's spot. As far as dry camping locations go, this is one of the best that I have been to. The spots are well spread out. Nearly all spots but #20 have ample shade. There is a nice trail on the west side of the campground where you can hike up to see Eleven Mile Canyon. There are only one or two sights available that accommodate larger RV or trailers. Our spot was #19 which could accommodate our 30' Class C with no problem. You could easily put a 40' RV in the spot. If you are going to camp in a smaller trailer, there are a lot of slots that will accommodate you. The camp hosts were very nice and the vault toilets were very clean (probably the best I have ever used). Access to Eleven Mile canyon is about 1/2 mile north of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
April 2011
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$23
There are nine separate and distinct campgrounds in Eleven Mile State Park. This review is for North Shore Campground. Dry camping, no hookups. Pull through and back-in spaces. There are five loops, two of the loops are close to the marina, the other three loops are farther down. All loops have a good view of the marina or the reservoir. The rangers tell me that people prefer the "farther away" loops to be "away from it all." I stayed in Loop A, which directly overlooked the marina. Each spot has a very nice picnic table and fire ring. However, there isn't a lot of privacy between the sites. I highly recommend site 246 in the "C" loop. This site overlooks a small cove (kind of romantic!) and has the most privacy, but that's not saying much. There are also some good spots in Loops D and E that are right on the reservoir. None of the sites have any shade. Caution, it can get very windy here! There is one dump station (that serves all nine campgrounds within Eleven Mile), but there is no rinsing hose there. The toilets are all "vault" type. Verizon Air Card (4G) worked a little sluggish. Verizon cell phone and Verizon wireless land line (I have both) worked good here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
331
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   5   4   10   5   4   8   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Pros: Pretty lake view. Cons: Sites can be very uneven due to site pads washing out. Needed to leave early for a long drive home, and found a dump station gate locked at 7:15. Unbeknownst to us, the dump station gate is not unlocked till 8:00. Never came across this problem in all of my camping. There was no water to clean hoses at dump station either. Plan accordingly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
The views of the lake and surrounding area are great. However, the park needs some serious upgrading. The roads within the campground need to be repaved. In the section of the campground where we stayed there were no showers and the toilets were vault type. There are apparently some showers and flush toilets at the campground entrance which was about 1/2 a mile from our section of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is a state park on a beautiful reservoir, however, unless you have a site on the outside of the loops, you have very close neighbors. There is very little grass and no trees, just mostly dirt. The sites are not very level. When we camped here, the campground was full, with lots of kids and dogs. There is a weak Verizon signal and no available channels via the antenna. It is a remote area, without grocery stores or reasonable fuel. That said, it is a fishing/boating paradise with the "dream stream" just a short drive away. It would be a wonderful place in the off season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Eleven Mile State Park - Rocky Ridge Campground
Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$9
This campground is filled every weekend from Memorial Day until it closes the day after Labor Day. There is a friendly and helpful host. My high rating is for the tent sites--probably the best in the state, the scenery, the large camp sites and the hiking trails. This is a Forest Service campground. There are no hookups. There is a dump at a nearby campground. The RV sites are widely spaced, but there is no shade. Rigs over 35 feet will have a hard time fitting into a site. There are 360 degree spectacular views. Fill your water tank in advance. The only water on site is hand pumped. Reservations are available and required for weekends. The vault toilets are clean. There are no showers. This is a place for people who love camping and the outdoors. Man made amenities are in short supply here. The nightly rate is with a Golden Age pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$7.5
This is a forest service campground. There are no hookups. The 3 pull-thru sites are on the creek. However, they are really just wide spots in the road. That said they are private and pretty special. Most of the other RV sites are short and open with no shade. But they have wonderful scenery 360 degrees of it. All have picnic tables tables and fire rings. It is the tents sites that justify the high rating--they are actually a 10 plus. The hiking is also a 10. Wonderful trails!! Trail rides are available just down the rode. Horses are in good condition and gentle. To reach the camp ground take Hwy 24W make a right on CR 77 (less than a mile from Lake George). It is paved. Follow it for 13 miles. The last 7 miles have lots of pot holes. The campground is poorly marked so starting looking for it on the right when you pass the little white school house (looks like a church). Turn right at the end of the white fence just pass the old school. Roads in the campground are good. Tent people will need reservations for the 8 walk in sites. RVers probably can get in without reservations during the week. This campground is full every weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
This is the best park I have ever been to. The owners and managers are very friendly and helpful. It is clean, shady, and comfortable. The potluck dinner on Saturday night is fantastic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
This is not a fancy RV park by any means but it is the only one in the immediate area and a pleasant surprise to encounter. Sites are mostly grass or gravel and there are plenty of shade trees and a large open grassy area. Restrooms are clean and basic with a "summer camp" feeling-painted cement floors, cold water only for the hand basins and home made decorations. There is no laundry room, TV, Internet, or other amenities of that type. There is an on site host who was very helpful. The check-in was easy and the owner friendly and pleasant. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com