218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Leadville, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.23 miles S
14.23 miles S
14.23 miles S
20.60 miles NE
25.37 miles NE
26.85 miles N
-Other Nearby Points-
National Mining Hall Of
0.28 miles NE
Ski Cooper
0.46 miles NE
High Country - Leadville
0.53 miles SE
Colorado
Leadville
Most Recently Reviewed
Sugar Loafin' RV Campground & Cabins
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-27 00:56:45
8 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Leadville, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2006
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
question
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$14
Absolutely beautiful park, one of the most scenic I've been to in Colorado. Camped in July, mid 30's at night and low 70's during the day. Very spacious sites. Highly recommend a lakeside site. Located in a shaded lodgepole forest, along Turquoise Lake. Elevation is 10,000 feet. Entrance road is narrow but had no problems towing my 25 ft 5th wheel. Limited water available, no electric or sewer hookups but there is a dump station at the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
July 2011
Latest Rate
$7



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$7
Beautiful park. There is a walking trail to the lake. Sites are large and shaded. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   2   6   7   3   5   9   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Let me start by saying, “Don’t judge a book by its cover”. The website looked great and it’s pretty much the only RV park in town. The owner took my reservation over the phone and I wasn’t confident about it. We showed up and my first reaction was, “Oh my God! Where else can we stay?” The place looked like a dump and the RVs were packed in like sardines. The owner wasn’t there, so my hubby called his cell phone and he told us he had reserved site #12, which was accessible from the main road. We pulled in and things changed… We were setup and level within minutes – fastest and easiest setup we’ve ever had. We shared a common space with our neighbor on one side and our half had a picnic table, grill, and grass. We put out the fence for the dogs and met the neighbors, who were very nice. We didn’t feel constrained at all. The RV park is one block from the main historical street in town and we walked everywhere. We were there over 4th of July weekend and were able to walk to the parade. We had an unbelievable, unobstructed view of the fireworks from our campsite that night. The laundry facilities were clean and worked great ($1.00 for washer, .75 for dryer). We stayed here for one week and got a weekly rate. Our cable didn’t work, so they called out a repairman within hours and didn’t charge us extra for cable (normally $2/day extra unless monthly). We did not pay for Wifi as we have a hotspot, so I can't comment on wifi reliability. The owner was awesome and really cares about the tenants having a good stay. We were allowed to wash our RV and even park our truck in the vacant lot next to us once the neighbors left. Even though this RV park is listed an NOT family friendly, we felt welcome and saw another family there as well. Gorgeous views of Rocky Mountains, including several 14ers (mountains over 14,000 feet high) and only one hour from beautiful Aspen. Leadville is the highest city in the USA at almost 10,200 feet elevation; however, we did not experience altitude sickness, only got a bit winded when walking downtown. We would definitely stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Well first of all this is LEADVILLE!! It is not Vegas or Denver or a National Park. This place is just fine for Leadville standards! We were able to get a spot for one night, pulled directly into our site from the wide street behind it and unhooked our car. The amenities are rough, it is not an RV RESORT, by any means. But the power is good, city water and a sewer connection is all we needed. Our son lives in town, so we find it convenient to walk to all the spots in town and his home. This morning we backed the 40' rig back into the wide street, just as we had come in, hooked up our car and there was no issue. The manager is very nice and will do what he can to make sure you are comfortable. Yes, there are a good many permanent residents. We found this place to be perfectly fine for our needs and would not hesitate to stay there for longer than just an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
What a hole. The park is right in town, run down and populated by residents in run down, old campers. It's also dirty and they don't empty the dumpsters nearly often enough so there is trash spilling everywhere. The spaces are very close together so hearing your neighbors conversations is not a problem if you are so inclined. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Leadville RV Corral
Camp Information
Sites
27
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
Even in 45 degree rainy weather, this is a beautiful place. Small, scenic, and quiet. Odd, though, that we never met the camp host or "checked in" or anything remotely official, but we paid our honor system $6 for firewood, claimed our reserved site (while our friends claimed and paid for an empty site that did not have a reservation sign on it). We even had 1 bar of AT&T service, which was a surprise. We wished there had been better signage for trails, but given the steady rain, I guess it all worked out.... Sure wish that the reservation fee wasn't 50% of the nightly camping fee--that is such a ripoff ($18 site, $9 reservation fee). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$9
For anyone planning to use any of the Turquoise Recreational Area Camp sites: The water pipes froze this winter. Both Molly Brown and Printer Boy dumps are closed. There is no place to fill fresh water tanks. So fill up before you arrive. May Queen has working fresh water but you can not hitch a hose to them. There is no running water in any of the other campgrounds. Even given the fact we had to fill our tank from gallon jugs, this is still a great forest service campground. Beautiful views, good hiking and fishing and friendly, helpful host. We go here every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$9
This wonderful NFS campground was a great place to escape the heatwave. There are multiple campgrounds in this recreational area but May Queen is the newest and the most RV friendly. There are no hook ups. Water is available at the Molly Brown dump station. There is a second dump station at Printer Boy but it was closed. The sites are large. We set up our screen room to keep the biting flies at bay. All the campgrounds in this Rec Area are popular. Reservations are recommended. Hiking and fishing are the main activities. The only campground in the area that can handle large RVs is Tabor. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for May Queen Campground
Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$9
Price reflects senior discount, sites normally $18. No hookups, but unthreaded water spigots are scattered throughout the campground. Flush toilets and sinks in the bathrooms, no showers. Camp host said the campground will be converted to pit toilets only next year, which is unfortunate. Oh well. Sites are very well spaced and almost all are level. There were plenty of nice vacant sites to choose from mid-week, but almost every site was reserved for the weekend, so plan accordingly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
My family of 5 (small children) camped here this past weekend and it was a very nice trip. The good. Shaded, spacious, quiet sites; the bathroom has flush toilets, 2 stalls, sink with running (cold) water and a mirror, and was very clean. The view of lake, great fishing with no bugs this weekend whatsoever (too cold). There were few people. I was surprised how many empty sites there were considering I'd read how popular this lake was. The bad: cold, cold, cold! Windy, windy, windy! (The wind comes and goes though, it was not consistent, rather an on and off situation.) The lake is not exactly next to the campsites (we were in site #11). You have to walk down a ways and some parts are rocky, not huge rocks, just a lot of medium sized rocks, but lots of sandy areas too. Too far and too hard to carry our paddle boat down to the lake. So that was a bummer and plus, it was probably too windy for us to manage the paddle boat. It rained (more like sprinkled) but wasn't too bad; but as we were leaving it had started snowing!! So, my suggestion is, be prepared for much colder weather than you imagined and really bundle up at night. I certainly expected the cold, but not to that extent. Our heater actually ran so hard that it exhausted our battery over 2 nights. We woke up the second morning with smoke coming out of our mouths! The clothes I had brought for my children to play outside and get dirty in, ended up being extra layers for sleeping (which only helped them not to freeze rather than made them hot) and I did not have hardly any clothes for them to wear outside (myself included). So, we are looking forward to going back next year when we can get a good reservation, but I will plan accordingly for the weather. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Definitely not big rig friendly, too many branches, narrow concrete runners, low water pressure, 30 amp spotty. Many hidden costs added to nights stay. Roads are full of ruts. Would not recommend anything over 40' come in here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
First, let's get to the identification of campgrounds issue. Silver Dollar campground, along with Molly Brown, Baby Doe, Father Dyer, the Printer Boy Group Campsite, and Mayqueen are ALL part of San Isabel National Forest's campgrounds at the Turquoise Lake Recreation Area west of Leadville. They are all managed by Rocky Mountain Recreation Company, which is a concessionaire of the National Forest. With the exception of Mayqueen campground, which is at the west end of Turquoise Lake, all other campgrounds, including Silver Dollar, are located on the east side of the lake. There are two dump stations. One is at the entrance to Molly Brown, the other at the entrance to Printer Boy Group campground. There is an additional $10 fee to use the dump station. Fresh water tanks can be loaded there. Tank up before going to the CG of your choice. All of these campground's, including Silver Dollar, are dry camping. Each site is back in, and some are pull in. This means if you want reserve or choose the wrong site, you will need to back in to your site at a 120 degree angle, and negotiate trees! Sites are unpaved, dusty in dry weather, and a bit muddy in wet, but firm on ground (you will not get stuck). We had no problems with leveling, but some sites could. Each site is spacious, and room between sites is extensive. Silver Dollar is completely forested, no water front views here, and likewise no wind problems. Wildlife was abundant, especially Gray Jays. On weekends, this and the other Turquoise Lake campgrounds are reserved well in advance on Reserve America.com, so plan ahead. Morning temperatures are crisp, even in July. Expect temps in the 40s. Mosquitoes were somewhat of a problem at times, but nothing unbearable. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   6   7   5   9   8   9   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
Very clean restrooms. The sites are a little tight, as others have noted. The season is very short and I guess they need to make their money while they can. Owner separates taxable site fees from non-taxable 'people' fees, so the total cost can be a little confusing. It all works out and the owner does it so campers pay less taxes. We did have to pay $6/night for an extra vehicle. Very helpful staff in the camp store. Fun golf course a mile away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
Had a so called pull- thru site. the TT next to us was so close that our sewer hose was under there slid out.Pull- thru sites were so tight that we had to ask our neighbor to move his truck so we could make our turn to pull out. Asked management if they could trim a few tree limbs that were rubbing against our unit. I was told they do not trim limbs. Other sites had limbs that were trimmed. All in all a very negative experience. In 25 years of RVing this park is in the top 5 worst we have stayed in. Save your money stay else were. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
The biggest negative is tightness of the sites. Big fifth wheels will have problems parking if the place is full. No Wi-Fi. Wired Internet service is in the rec room and it's fast. Mosquitoes can be a problem in June. The office staff was helpful when we needed to extend our stay one night. The location was right for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Sugar Loafin' RV Campground & Cabins
Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
This park is full almost every weekend and for good reason! The sites are well forested but close enough to Twin Lakes that we can portage our kayaks over the hill and into the water. The sites were big enough for us to have a big RV plus tent all in one place. The camp hosts are nice and laid back, even suggesting their favorite "spots" for hiking and paddling. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$8
The GPS states that White Star Campground is in the town of Granite, CO, just 15 miles south of Leadville. And what a hidden gem of a place to behold! Well spaced sites on level, gravel pads nestled among pines and Sagebrush. Lovely views of Twin Lakes. There are Boat/kayak rental available at the boat ramp and miles of hiking/biking/fishing opportunities to explore. We camped here in the Sage Loop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
Outstanding park with open, level sites surrounded by stunning views of Twin Lakes and Mt. Elbert. This is one of the most beautiful areas to fish, hike, bike or just plain relax! The restrooms were clean and the camp hosts are friendly and helpful. The sites are well spaced, on level gravel pads and the walk-in tent sites are a top pick with the best views in the park. Be sure to bring your own water and be prepared to pay $10 to dump. We camped here in a 37 foot rig and stayed in the Sage Loop and had no troubles at all. We did walk the other two smaller loops in the park and they were equally as nice. This park is truly in the town of Granite--about 16 miles south from Leadville and a stunning drive over Independence Pass to Aspen for a day trip or adventure. We would stay here again in a heartbeat! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Whitestar Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com