206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Rifle, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.90 miles SW
13.11 miles E
22.62 miles SW
32.65 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Rest Area On Co I-70 At Mile Marker 190 Unverified.
1.06 miles SE
Harvey Gap State Park
6.83 miles NE
Colorado
Rifle
Most Recently Reviewed
Rifle Gap State Park - Lakeview Loop
Latest Review Submited On
2013-08-14 07:59:03
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Rifle, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   7   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
There are only 13 RV sites and 7 tent sites, so we felt the need to book online, which costs $10. Then you have to pay a $7 day use fee, which makes it a bit expensive at $39 altogether. The place is very attractive with grass and trees and the sites are very spacious, 8 pull through loops and four back ins. There is no TV (or internet, but didn't expect that) and the restrooms are just vault toilets. The trail to the waterfall continues on past a cave and up to the top of the falls, worth the walk. We also did the squirrel trail. It's a 12 mile drive after you turn off the I-70 but worth it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
This S.P. is immaculate! Grass was mowed and cared for better than most peoples lawns. Sites were level, tables good, electric was fine. This is NOT a party park so you will get a good nights' sleep. We will go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
This is a beautiful state park, green lush vegetation. All of the utilities worked great. There are no showers here and you have to share the water faucet with your neighbor. There are a number of trails in the park with one going to the falls. The bathrooms (2) are heavily used due to the heavy stream of people coming in to the park to use their day facilities and trails, one being the trail (short) to the falls. The bathrooms are clean but really smell bad. Just up above the fish hatchery which is on hwy 325 the one you drove up on (the kids can feed the fish) is a beautiful 2 mile drive that goes through a slot type canyon with sheer walls with lots of vegetation with a creek that runs along the road. This drive is not to be missed, it’s gorgeous!! The town of Rifle owns the property and there are numerous picnic tables along the 2 miles. There is a fee to use the area if you park to picnic or use their trail to the Ice Cave. While on this drive you’ll see rock climbers along the way. The road is hard packed dirt and is in very good condition, you don’t need a 4x4. The dump station is located at Rifle Gap State Park and is easy to get in and out of. If it wasn’t for all the foot and car traffic we would come back, but we really enjoyed the drive above the hatchery and the falls. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Rifle Falls State Park
Camp Information
Sites
46
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   4   10   9   9   8   8   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Beautiful area, only about 5 or 6 miles from town. Campsites were large, not close together, many with beautiful views of the surrounding area or of the lake. Peaceful, relaxing area, clean, very well-kept. Restrooms were clean, well maintained; and showers are available with "quarters", but plenty of change machines available. Electric, sewer, and water hook ups all worked fine, but water wasn't very drinkable. We had plenty of bottled water, so it wasn't a problem. Also, note that we couldn't get any cell phone reception with AT&T, but we could drive 3 or so miles back into town and get reception just fine. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$21
This campground has wonderful flat, blacktop sites. We had full hookups. Very nice, seemingly new and clean restrooms. Only drawback is that there is no shade in this campground. The only shade available is in the tent only campground sites. We paid $21 with CO Aspen Leaf Pass (Senior). This would rate a 10 if there were shaded sites. Our site did have a shelter over the picnic table. If boating and fishing are what you are looking for, check this park out in the cooler months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Campground was adequate. The fee was not justified, however. There's a transaction fee to make reservations plus Colorado state park entrance fee that was $7 more per day. The lake was down, and park service can't help that or the fact that it's just dry and the drinking water is slightly tan and mineral-laden. We have a Colorado park pass, which must be glued to your front windshield. Permanently. We're from another state and will only use the pass for two weeks this year. But we're stuck with the blooming decal forever!!! Other states give card pass which must be accompanied by photo ID. That's a better method. I realize this practice is not the policy for Rifle St Park. Still, I would not return there . It was not even close to getting value for cost. I've stayed in three star hotels thru Priceline for same nightly rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Rifle Gap State Park - Lakeview Loop
Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   9   8   9   8   7   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
Rifle Gap has multiple loops. We stayed in Sage, which is basic only with no hookups. The rate includes a $7 a day park fee. Full hookup sites are $8 more. We had Sage all to ourselves and just dumped and filled in the morning at the dump station. Very large, level, pull thru sites, with decent separation. We overnighted here and would repeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Very nice campground. Only 11 sites in this loop and all have a view of the reservoir. The host and handicapped sites have sewer, the rest do not. The bathrooms were spotless and the water/elec worked great. The rate reflects the $7/day fee the State charges but we bought the yearly pass. The correct GPS coordinates to get here are: 39.633395,-107.743748. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Cottonwood campground is one of five campgrounds in this state park. This loop only has eight sites, including the host. It is very quiet. We had 50A electric and water hookups. The toilet was very clean. This park is in a beautiful setting along a large reservoir. The best loops for our 40' motorhome would be Cottonwood, Lakeview and Cedar. Sage and Pinon are for tents and small RVs. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Rifle Gap State Park / Cottonwood Camp Ground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com