206703 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Silverton, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
17.19 miles N
19.07 miles NW
23.91 miles NE
24.43 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Handlebars
0.06 miles NE
Silver Summit Rv
(800)352-1637
0.44 miles SW
Cosmopolitan
11.86 miles NW
Floradora
11.88 miles NW
Telluride Ski And Golf C
12.53 miles NW
Ouray Hot Springs 156
14.46 miles N
Buen Tiempo
14.52 miles N
Cecilia's
14.60 miles N
Colorado
Silverton
Most Recently Reviewed
A & B RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2013-09-14 18:09:12
5 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Silverton, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
17
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Top reasons to stay at A&B: 1) location. Located in the center of town. Sure, Silverton is small, but just 1 - 2 blocks away are restaurants, Montagna's Distillery and shops. 2) friendly folks. I have stayed here before and always feel good with these folks. My stay was somewhat open-ended and I had only booked 3 days with them but ended up staying 8 days (and my rate was adjusted to the weekly rate) but no problems! The park is not fancy but the views are great! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Lovely location with downtown Silverton a step away, and the mountains surrounding you. Showers and restrooms great, but Wi-Fi terrible and basically didn't work. Great reception at the local library but not on site. Nice little site but probably overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
A&B is the smallest RV park in Silverton and the closest one to town (and is usually booked up months in advance by seasonal RVers.) Like *every* campground in Silverton, the sites are very close together, gravel, and offer little shade (not usually a requirement since you are at 9,300' here.) I got quite the laugh at a recent review for Silver Summit RV Park where they complained about the gravel, close sites, no trees, etc. If you want that stuff, then stay at Centennial RV Park south of Montrose - you will *not* find those amenities in Silverton. The owners of A&B, are some of the friendliest and most helpful folks you will ever meet. The laundry is very nice (and popular) according to my wife, and the park has a dump for those boon docking in the area. The Wi-Fi usually didn't work very well and it was very slow. If you have an air card, there is AT&T 3G available in Silverton. Our site was not level side to side and I was at the end of my 9 inches of jack travel. I hate to drag out my blocks to put under the jacks, so we lived with being a little off-camber for a couple of weeks. Silverton dining tips - the very best restaurant in town is Handlebars (we've been to Silverton many times over the past few years). We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
Beautiful setting, but no utility amenities, except for one fresh water drinking faucet located beside office which can be used to fill drinking containers, or your RV fresh water tank, if you have your own hose. This is dry camping at its finest, as long as your rig is no more than 23 feet in length, otherwise, you are limited to a man-made parking lot that was cut right out of the middle of a very large hill - unless you want to pay $45 per night for one of four "premium" RV sites upon another hill overlooking the lake (yet they did not appear to be worth the cost at all). Because the basic big rig parking area is cut out of the middle of a very large hill, and the camping parking area is within the cut out, you have no view except of the hill side in front of and behind you UNLESS you are on one of the ends. On their website, this parking area is referred to as located "within a unique geological formation". That misleading description sounds appealing, but the bottom line is that this park has great dry camping IF your rig is no longer than 23' in length. Otherwise, you will be basically stuck in an after-thought parking area with no view and not close to or even really part of the real campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18+
Breathtaking campground. Trout fishing within a few feet of all the sites. Fantastic views! Quiet! You can choose a site in the woods or choose lake front, depends on your size rig. (we had a 23 ft travel trailer: lake front.) The two guys who run the cg were very hospitable. No electric, site water or dump. They do have potable water where you can fill your camper. It is 6 miles from Silverton and numerous jeep trails and dump station. Right off the "Million Dollar Hwy" (550) south of Silverton. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
This is a City of Silverton owned park. This park is almost at top of continental divide at 10,515 ft. It has some of the prettiest most breath taking views you will ever see. We stayed here in July, and all the mountains surrounding the lake were covered with snow. The sites were all very nice and clean. Since there are no hook-ups, we ran our generator and filled up with water at the check-in station. All of the sites have a great view of the lake. The site we stayed in backed right up to the water, we were about 15' from the water. The temperature is very cool here being up in the mountains, one day the high was 53 degrees and we were here in July. I think some would consider this a primitive camp site, however I have stayed at worse camp sites with hook ups. Each site has a fire pit and picnic table, the sites are all covered with gravel with zero dust. We all road bikes, fished, and hiked. I highly recommend that if you are in the area, try to at least camp here one night, might be the most beautiful campsite you will ever stay at. The mountains reflect off the water, the air is crisp and clean, and the nights are silent and peaceful. If we are ever in the area again, we will certainly stay here again. One word of caution, the rules say generator use from 8am to 8pm. We ran our generator earlier and later than those times without a problem. HOWEVER and this is a big HOWEVER, we have a very quiet Yamaha. I spoke with the guy who lives on site and runs the place, and he said no problem with this as our generator was so quiet. He did say that he does have a problem with those who have those loud contractor type generators. So if you have a loud generator, 8am-8pm. The guy who runs everything was a really nice guy, but I would not recommend pushing your luck with him either. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   8   9   9   9   2   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
We stayed here for the 2nd time in the last 2 years. The pad sites are a little tight but very long. We had very good 50 amp and great water. The wife loves watching the trains come and go, and they love motorcycles Jeeps and 4 wheelers here. Will be back next year for the RMAR rally. Oh and the owners found a spare set of my motorhome keys and sent them to us, great caring folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
Fantastic campground. The owners were very pleasant, he backed my TT in for me. Located next to the Durango-Silverton train tracks, so you can get some great pics of the train as it comes and goes. Bath/showers were cleaned well each morning. We will definitely return the next time we are in Silverton. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
The 21 rate reflects a monthly rate, not nightly. Sites semi graveled, but each year they put in more gravel and sites are better. Drainage can be a problem in heavy rain. GREAT owners who'll bend over backwards to accommodate you. Close to town and all the Silverton area activities. Would stay here again. WiFi was iffy first week or so then got better and was reasonable although not fast, but cell tower is right next to park so we got good ATT and Verizon service. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Red Mountain Motel, RV Park & Cabins
Camp Information
Sites
39
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   3   5   10   5   9   1   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
This is our second year of staying here. The owners are so nice and always take the time to make your stay a pleasant one. There are a few trees scattered about and grass growing in most of the RV spaces. This park also offers Cabin rentals, Laundromat and showers. We loved the idea that this park is located on the far east of town but is still within walking (1/2 mile) distance of the downtown area. We chose this park because of the direct access to all off road riding. We have a 40' fifth wheel toy-hauler and needed somewhere we could unload the quads and ride directly from the park. This is the only RV Park in Silverton that allows that. The trail riding in this area is amazing and the summer weather temps are perfect. I would avoid this area during the holidays because the trails can get very congested. We will definitely come back to this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
Obviously, very beautiful surroundings, but as has been said that can be seen from anywhere in town. We came in a few minutes after closing, but the manager walked right over and opened the office for us. There normal rate was $32, but they honored our Passport American membership so the base rate was $16 + children, taxes. Sites are a little bit close together; once we got our rear slide out there was barely enough room for me to go around the back between a next door motorhome, but that was fine. They say the water pressure is EXTREMELY HIGH, but it has EXTREMELY LOW water VOLUME. It come bursting on, but then slow to a trickle - that could use some help (I would have given it a 9 if not for that). The staff was very friendly. The laundry room was very clean, neat, and modern units installed. The bathrooms were very clean. Would DEFINITELY stay again and recommend. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$48
Park is very over-priced for the amenities provided. Had a semi-level gravel pad. There was an extra charge for children older than 2. Views were tremendous, but appear from any place in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Silver Summit RV Park and Campground
Camp Information
Sites
47
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   8   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$39
Everything is easy here. We had no trouble making reservations, checking in or getting set up. Our site was gravel, but level. Restrooms are spotless, as well as well stocked. The little store has a little bit of everything a camper might need. I really enjoyed interacting with the owners. They made sure check-in was painless and quick. Silverton Lakes is the first campground I call when I need reservations! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Agree with positive reviews for this campground. Its actually called the Silverton Lakes Campground. Stayed in back in spot in a small travel trailer. This is the ONLY RV park in Silverton you can ride your ATV to the trails without trailering out of town. Clean restrooms and laundry area. There is a small campground store and a place to wash dishes. Quiet area even with atv's heading out. Great views and nice area to explore. Very nice staff. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Silverton Lakes is an older campground that is being rehabilitated - The owner also owns one of the newer RV parks downtown.- The sites are quite large -- there are many 40 foot+ RVs here and there is room for them, for their tow vehicles, for their 4 wheel drive vehicles, as well as for slide outs, awnings, get together sites, etc. . There are many pull through sites and they all seem to be fairly level. There is also a very nice separate area for tents. We are sitting on the floor of the valley at 9300 feet, surrounded by peaks that rise to 12,000 and 13,000. It is beautiful. This campground is extremely convenient to staging areas for Off Road Vehicles. It is also convenient to the town activities of Silverton. There is cable TV, but no Internet at the sites. Verizon, however, is very strong, so the Verizon Mi-Fi works well. The park is quite pet friendly and our cat loves it! The landscaping is being improved daily. There are small trees and some grass at most sites. We came for a night and stayed for a week. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Silverton Lakes Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com