223083 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Walsenburg, Colorado (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
16.85 miles SW
21.95 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Iron Horse - Walsenburg
1.70 miles E
Birco Inc
2.44 miles NE
Bearadise Cabins
(800)596-6221
13.08 miles SW
Log Haven Lodge
757 39.245262
13.30 miles SW
Rest Area On Co I-25 At Mile Marker 37 Unverified.
15.37 miles SE
Colorado
Walsenburg
Most Recently Reviewed
Lathrop State Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-09-29 20:02:46
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Walsenburg, Colorado
Camp Information
Sites
15
Date of Stay
June 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is basically a weedy, potholed gravel parking lot with full hookups, only 30amp. The sites are spacious and semi-level. It is conveniently right off I-25; you can hear road noise. There is a slight sewer type smell outside. There is plenty of room to park to check in at the motel next door. No amenities, the bathrooms are locked, with weeds growing in front of them. My aircard worked fine. Still needs a lot of TLC. The motel sign says Budget Host Motel, my receipt says Country Host Motel. I would have to be pretty desperate to stay here again. You get what you pay for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
On the plus side. Long pull through sites (90 ft) with a good turning radius and good spacing between sites. Large area for parking when checking in. Easy access from the freeway without overbearing noise. Price is good for the area, for full hookups. Check in is easy at adjacent Motel. Negatives. Located adjacent to a small sewer lagoon with mild lagoon smell. Only 30 amp. Needs some TLC. I would use this park again for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$17
I agree with the previous poster. This is an excellent place for an overnight stay. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful, and the office is open until 11:00 pm. Sites are level and long, some back-ins and 50 amp power is good. Views of the mountains are fantastic! We've never stayed at a Motel/RV campground before so we were pleasantly surprised by the welcome and the great facilities provided. Will definitely put Country Host Motel & RV Park on our "return" list. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Country Host Motel & RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
October 2010
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$23
This was a one night stop for us. The hosts were friendly and the site provided a quiet night's sleep. There are no top notch attractions nearby so I cannot rate this campground with an extended stay in mind. It is dry and dusty here, but that is quite likely normal for southeast Colorado. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
We planned to stay here but left after driving around and checking the place out. Generally, the previous reviewer has it right--this place feels like a dump, and in addition to road noise, there was noisy construction equipment on site. No one was in the office. Everything generally run down. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Although the owner is very friendly the camp itself is poorly maintained and feels like a dump. Right on the frontage road. Many sites taken by permanent residents. RV service is good and they have many parts which is why we stopped to begin with. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   7   9   9   10   10   7   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$27
Very nice state park with lots of amenities. Fee was 20 for camping and 7 for day use. Checkin was at a nice visitor center, complete with a small museum. The RV campground was on the other side of the dam, and past the golf course. We really enjoyed walking around the lake on the 3-4 mile paved bicycle path---an easy walk with pretty views! Our site had some small trees for shade, and a large rock outcropping. Each loop also had its own restroom and shower (bring quarters!) facility. If it had laundry facilities, it'd be a 10. We'll be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
This is a lovely, small state park. The nightly rate is $20 for electric site, plus we gladly paid an additional $7 for a Colorado State Park pass we needed to get in. I never mind contributing to the upkeep of such a nice place. Easy pull-through site, paved, fairly level, surrounded by Piñon pine and sage. Heavenly. We will be back if ever in the are again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
We stopped here after a long day from Kansas enroute to the Great Sand Dunes. It's foothill country, close to the mountains... so still pretty warm during the day, but cool at night. Only a couple miles from Walsenberg, and right across the street from the new hospital. Lake looked nice, especially for water sports/fishing. Campground pretty nice. Most spaces well apart from each other. Not terribly level. Pull throughs a little short in loop A. Lots of Pinon Pine, which are relatively short.. so satellite was fine. Verizon 3G/4G 3 bars. Didn't use showers, but they take quarters. Price includes entrance fee of $5. We'd stay here again.. nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Lathrop State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com