214552 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Everglades National Park, Florida (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
5.88 miles S
24.94 miles SE
28.12 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
R&T Petroleum
Homestead
1.87 miles SE
Aquarius Mobile Home & Rv Sls
Homestead
2.70 miles SE
Mutineer
2.99 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
33501 S Dixie Hwy
3.62 miles SE
Coral Castle
4.06 miles NE
Homestead Air Reserve Bas
5.85 miles E
Monkey Jungle Corp
7.39 miles NE
Everglades National Park
7.66 miles SW
K & K Trailer Supplies
8.33 miles NE
Biscayne National Park
9.98 miles E
Gold Coast Railroad Mus
12.39 miles NE
Metro Zoo
12.41 miles NE
Costco 3053867210
14.90 miles NE
Wal-Mart
15885 Sw 88Th Ave
15.41 miles NE
Fleming
15.64 miles NE
Captains Tavern
18.18 miles NE
Wah Shing
18.24 miles NE
Dadeland Mall
18.52 miles NE
Two Chefs
19.35 miles NE
Florida
Everglades National Park
Most Recently Reviewed
Flamingo Campground (NPS Campground)
Latest Review Submited On
2014-05-04 22:08:41
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Everglades National Park, Florida
Camp Information
Sites
234
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   8   8   10   10   7   6   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$15
National Park Senior Rate for electric site. Large, level sites. Good sites for one or more nights visiting the Everglades. It was off-season so self-registration was in effect. Can get very buggy at night. It was the middle of April and deer flies were out during the day. Took the Florida Bay boat tour (no bugs out there)for an enjoyable ride with the dolphins. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$15
Beautiful, spacious campground! Clean bath house and easy access to site. We were in a pull-through site. The Flamingo Visitor's Center is a must stop. Also the Back Country boat ride was worth the price. The guide and boat captain were most informative. The only negative were the mosquitoes in January? We spent three nights and the rate is the Senior rate for the National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$16
Price reflects the Sr. rate. This is a difficult campground to rate. Most of the points are for the Everglades themselves. THINGS TO KNOW BEFORE YOU GO! If you want to eat it or use it, take it with you. Flamingo is 38 miles from the southern park entrance and even further from any store, service station or supplies. This is south Florida so it is muggy, buggy and hot most of the year. The water although safe to drink is salty. There is no internet, over the air TV and few phone providers reach here. There are extensive hiking, biking, paddling, fishing and boating opportunities as well as ranger lead programs and activities. If the campground were located elsewhere it would be only so-so. Most of the sites are dry camping only and many for tents only. Loop T will accommodate even the largest RV but only 41 of the sites have electric hook-ups, none have water. There are both dump and water fill stations in the campground. The bath houses in Loop T have cold water only (cold showers!). You can drive to the other loops and look for the bath houses with solar panels for a hot shower. Sites are level and spacious but the grass needed mowing and the dumpster overflowed allowing the buzzards to make a nasty mess while we were there. NOTE: We did not see this, but there are warnings posted about black buzzards eating the rubber around windows, wipers, etc. on your cars. They do provide loaner tarps and bungees for you to use. Am I glad we went? Yes. Would I go again? Probably not. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Flamingo Campground (NPS Campground)
Camp Information
Sites
108
Date of Stay
January 2013
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   10   7   7   7   8   10   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  no  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$16
A basic but beautiful park with spacious sites. Park is in a forest. Abundance of birds provides a nice background sound. Would give 10 points if it had showers. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$8
Very poor TV & Verizon phone & data. Rate is with Golden Age pass. No reservations. Water and dump available. Most sites are full sun. Park closes in summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$8
$8 is Golden Age rate. Nice big and wide campsites. Big rig access is limited. Most of the paved pads are about 30' deep, some have plenty of room behind the curb stop. So backing in up to a 38' MH and having room to drop jacks is no problem. There are also a couple of pull throughs which are wide spots in the road. They will take longer units. A water line runs to each bath and there is a threaded water spigots on each of the loops. We could have reached one from our site number 10. No problems with bugs during the day, but watch out for the little ants. BEWARE, know your snakes and watch out as they are in the CG. Diamondback, Cottonmouth and Pythons were seen during our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Long Pine Key Campground (NPS Campground)
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com