214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Munson, Florida (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
11.45 miles S
16.28 miles SE
19.27 miles SE
21.93 miles SW
24.80 miles SW
33.26 miles SE
34.67 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Adventures Unlimited
850-623-6197
10.35 miles SW
Eagles Landing
13.21 miles SE
River'S Edge Rv
(850)537-2267
15.06 miles SE
Rivers Edge
15.29 miles SE
Naval Air Station - Whit
15.42 miles SW
Florida
Munson
Most Recently Reviewed
Bear Lake
Latest Review Submited On
2014-05-02 02:22:02
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Munson, Florida
Camp Information
Sites
40
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
This mostly lakeside campground is operated by Blackwater River State Forest, part of the Florida Forest Service. It is located about three miles east of Munson, where SR 4 intersects CR 191,or eight miles west of Baker. Although the scenery of the area is nice, the campground attempts to cram a quart into a cup with regard to RV spaces. Asphalt roads had speed bumps greet you, and one bump is so large that our truck scraped (highly unusual). Most of the campground (32 sites) is on a paved loop with W&E (including 50 amp service), while 8 sites are near the boat ramp and have water spigots available, exclusively for tenters. In the W&E sites, many of the hookups are on the wrong side of the camper, so every time we exited the RV, there was the electric box and water spigot to greet us. The hookups were fine, but the location was poorly designed. Dump station was a bit leafy and muddy, but worked fine. Sites are crammed together, and privacy is hard to come by. Sites were level to slightly sloping back. Leveling was easy with the hitch, no blocks needed under the tires. Some sites were dirt, some were asphalt, some were ground up asphalt that had reconstituted itself, complete with ground up highway reflector buttons. You pay at an unmanned pay kiosk, that was easy, and rules were posted. But, no one enforces rules. Dogs were sometimes loose, or put on 20 foot leashes, allowing them to come way over into our campsite, where we kept our dogs on a six foot leash. No one but us picked up dog poo. Cars, cars, everywhere, no limits to cars or boat trailers at the sites. Combined with the small site space between RV's, and the place looked more like a parking lot. Yet, there was an overflow lot that was void of cars. People were parking in part of our campsite and never thought a thing of it. Camp host drove through on the motor cart, but never stopped, and enforced nothing. You could tell the host had been there a while given the amount of "stuff" around that camper. Bicycle trail was in terrible condition, actually impassable and trail blaze trees had been harvested. Hiking trail system was nice, pretty. Prohibitions separating hikers from bicycles were posted, but no one enforced. Never saw a county law enforcement vehicle or state forest personnel the entire weekend. DTV coverage on the batwing included strong CBS, NBC, ABC, PBS, and some indie signals. CSpire/Sprint coverage was 0 bars/0 data. No swimming in this lake, but it is allowed at neighboring Krul Lake Recreation Area two miles west. Most campers here are interested in fishing and kayaking in the lake. Only trolling motors allowed. The fish were biting. Lots of bear warnings, but there were no bears here, and you could tell it was a non-issue because the dumpsters had no bear-proof latching. People were quite friendly. Based upon the many sites we have visited around the U.S. and Canada, this CG rates just barely average, primarily because of the small sites and tremendous numbers of vehicles and boat trailers. We will camp in Blackwater River State Forest again, but will opt for other campgrounds, not Bear Lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This is a first-come-first-serve campground, with paved roads to the campground sites. Most of sites are pitched making it difficult to level out our RV. The bath house could use renovation. There is no site privacy; however, there is great area for an activity such as a family reunion that includes a kitchen and huge screened in gazebo that can be reserved for an event. There are a number of well marked trails, a nice boat ramp, and a pier for fishing. They even have off-road bicycle trails and a beautiful suspension bridge. We have returned to this campground several times, but have learned to arrive early and to be very selective in our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$15
This place was great! The showers in the restroom were huge and clean. You don't feel closed in. The sites were shady but the ones on the water were the best. I really never saw the camp host but all was good. You can have fires, they provide the pit. The sites were paved in the pull-throughs and gravel in the rest. I love the dock and there was tons of room for the kids to ride there bikes. We will definitely go back! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
This Blackwater River State Forest campground specializes in being a campground for the equestrian community. It is a combination campground and horse stable facility. It is accessed via paved and unpaved roads. The campground is level and mostly sunny and grassy with unpaved sites. Reservations are required for campsites and horse stalls (850-957-6161). Very woodsy, and miles of equestrian trails. Also nearby is the put-in site for canoeing on the upper/middle reaches of Big Coldwater Creek, so this is a great base camp for paddling the river, if you can find a way to bring your kayak or canoe back upstream. Nearest store and fuel is about 8 miles away, some come prepared. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   4   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
Operated by Blackwater River State Forest, this campground focuses upon the freshwater swimming and wading opportunities available at Krul (often called "Munson") Lake. Campsites are generally level in a beautiful pine forest setting, well separated in most cases, and are paved or clay mixed with gravel in a grassy environment. Bathhouses were quite clean. Campsites are mostly further apart, compared to nearby Bear Lake CG, where everything is crowded and not private. Roads paved throughout. There are two loops within the campground. Access is one mile east of Munson at the junction of SR 4 and CR 191. A staffed pay booth greets you to collect day use or overnight fees. The swimming area is clean and life-guarded. Algal mats are around, but not in the swim area due to the amount of swimming. A large dock allows access completely across an arm of the lake. Interestingly, there is a long boardwalk trail with a replica grist mill (not in operation) and a beautiful suspension bridge over Sweetwater Creek (beautiful sandy bottomed river). There is also a replica sawmill, again not in operation at the time of our visit. No fishing at this lake. CSpire/Sprint phone service was 0 bars/0 data. DTV coverage included CBS, NBC, ABC, PBS, and some indies. A small store is a mile away (very limited supplies), but there is no gasoline for about 10 miles in any direction. This is our campground of choice for Blackwater River State Forest, and we will come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
We have camped at Krul for 20 years and we were very disappointed with the condition of the campground. I spent the better part of a day picking up cigarette butts and assorted trash: not only from our site but the park in general. A nearby site partied until after midnight. We were only a few sites from the host! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
My family and I have been to this State Park for camping and picnics for many years and we love it! Our last trip was the 1st week of March, 2009. We got to the park before it filled up, thankfully! There are many things for the kids to do here. Trails that run over to Bear Lake,(The partly covered walkways are a treat!) swimming and plenty of room for bike riding. You can't fish at this lake but you can at Bear, just make sure and bring your water bottle with you for the hike over. This is purely a summer time swimming hole. The water is cooler as it's filled by two springs. The camp sites are spacious with gravel lots in the area we were in. The middle of the campground does have a few paved lots. The restrooms are clean but have no locks on the doors. The shower rooms could have been cleaner and the shower heads in proper working order, but they still worked well enough. The best treat of this trip for us was waking up to a beautiful view of Lake Krul and seeing two Bald Eagles fishing from the trees! An amazing experience! We will return again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Krul Lake State Recreation Area
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com