224202 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Okeechobee, Florida (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
35.46 miles NE
38.40 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Okeechobee County Tourism
5.78 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
2101 S Parrott Ave
7.12 miles S
Fijian Rv
(863)763-6200
11.12 miles SE
Florida
Okeechobee
Most Recently Reviewed
Water's Edge Motor Coach & RV Resort
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-25 00:20:09
9 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Okeechobee, Florida
Camp Information
Sites
687
Date of Stay
February 2011
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
This is not a campground or an RV park. It is a 55+ retirement community that consists of about 700 individually owned sites. Most of these sites contain modular homes, park models, or RVs that are permanently parked with attached screened rooms or other additions. I estimate that less than 100 sites are vacant and only 45 of these are listed as available for rent. Each available site is rented by its owner and the price is negotiated through them. All sites have electric meters and electricity may be paid by either the landlord or the renter. I paid $500 a month and electricity was included. Information about the available sites on the park’s website (http://aoaks.net/id17.html) contains the site number, owner’s name, phone number, and maybe an email address. No other information is given. This makes shopping around for the best price difficult as each owner must be contacted about the price and whether electricity is included. The park is well-maintained with nicely manicured lawns. The streets are paved with concrete or asphalt and in good condition. Each empty site has cable TV and a large concrete pad which is angled for easier access, although some of the streets are one-way single lane and a carport across the street can make it difficult to maneuver a large RV into a site. The park is gated which provides some security, and access through the gate is provided via a magnetic card that is issued at the office after a $25 refundable deposit. There is nice pool and a large clubhouse that hosts various activities. Wi-Fi is available at the clubhouse. Verizon cell phone service is very poor – the signal fades in and out. I am able to use an external antenna with my air card so I had a decent Internet connection. There are about 5 bath houses throughout the park and each one contains a small laundry (2 washers, 2 dryers) and there are two larger laundries at the clubhouse and the office building. Children are allowed but this is a retirement community - average age is in the 70s - and there isn't much for children to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
Very nice well kept park, all roads are paved with cement as is the RV pads. Great screened pool and hot tub, large club house with Wi-Fi hot spot, mostly friendly people, RV sites are rented by owners and not the park, check out the association paper for sites available (on ancient oaks web page)in the classified section, nearby Wal-Mart and grocery stores, approx 15min away. We would have given it a 10 but the water here contains Sulphur. Monthly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   4   10   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
This park has a mixture of residents and transients. It is nice that they have boat docks for everyone at no additional cost. There is a new pool which will be open by spring. The water quality is poor and has taste, odor and color. You will want to buy potable water. It seems to be the norm for the area. The park sits next to the very busy road and traffic starts before 6 a.m. on weekdays. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$21
Probably one of the nicest attribute of this park were the cement patios(alas no picnic tables provided, we had to get a folding table). The proximity of a very busy road made it hard to sleep. I did not care for the yellow color of the water (came through even with general filter). Management was very friendly and helpful, residents and longtime snowbirds welcoming. I saw several 40' motorhomes parked there during our stay but see how a 40' 5th wheel would be very hard to fit. Laundry rooms and showers need serious updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$29
Well, we tried but a 40 ft fifth wheel just won't fit in this park. The manger was very nice and returned our money. This park is old but well kept up. Smaller rigs would be OK here. There is fishing right at the river. Wish we could have fit in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Gracious RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   6   6   8   10   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$12
There is only one pull through and it was used primarily by tent and trailer campers during our 4-day stay. Super clean restroom/bath house. Don't understand logic of only 30amp in main CG which has the only bathhouse. This section is the "big rig side". The equestrian side has mainly tents and smaller class b/c and trailers. Found this state park nice, restful, and beautiful. Trails were great for walking not biking. Road in/outside was horrible on suspension and very dirty/dusty. However, we love the tranquility and solitude of this park. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$16
Wonderfully relaxing place to spend a few days. Camp Hosts were friendly and very helpful. Make swamp buggy tours reservations before you arrive; they get booked up very fast. Star gazing at night is incredible; no city lights to interfere. Wild life (birds, turkeys, etc.) all around. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$8
This is our fourth time in this park. We love the prairie and the solitude. We always stay in the equestrian sites. Make sure to do all your shopping before you arrive. The closest grocery store is a long way away. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Kissimmee Prairie Preserve State Park
Camp Information
Sites
750
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   10   8   7   10   10   7   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$39
We stayed for two months. Great resort with lots of things to do. KOA Staff and snowbirds are very friendly. Would have given a 10 rating except that many of the sites have shared services. We only had 30-amp service during our stay because the KOA WorkKamper behind us was using the 50-amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$63
Very well maintained park, great employees, but still an overpriced KOA. They charge extra for wi-fi and TV and that's after paying $60+ / night. Also the electric service on the sites that share a pedestal have only 1 50 amp and 1 30 amp service available, so if the site behind you is using the 50 amp, you only get the remaining 30 amp. Also there is only 1 sewer on these sites so a long hose (20') is needed. It's an older park but very well maintained. Could definitely use a makeover, especially the old bathrooms and buildings. It stays pretty full in the winter and is mostly empty in the summer. Very dog friendly. Most sites are fairly level, but a lot of them require a lot of leveling. Reasonable food and drinks available in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$57
Wow. We had a ball. Activities abound for all ages all day and evening. There was abundant staff everywhere and genuinely friendly. This place is more resort than campground, but the campsites (especially those that back up to the 9-hole golf course with beautiful bird watching) are as relaxing as they come. The kids pool was fun; the adult pool relaxing and quiet. The kids had a "dance" on Saturday night, complete with pizza. The adult bar, with live DJ (and sometimes live music) was like an old neighborhood bar full of "full-timers" that didn't make us "visitors" feel unwelcome at all. So many little details are managed that make the overall experience very nice. Things like plenty of well manicured healthy grass throughout and trash that would seemingly disappear any time of day you set it out make you realize someone with a hospitality background must be working behind the scenes. Golf carts are available to rent for exploring the campground; golf (and putt-putt) to play; large grassy sites with concrete pads; big shade trees; wildlife (lots of sandhill cranes), two swimming pools; kids playground; dog playground; nightlife with a bar on site. There just isn't anything missing here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Okeechobee KOA
Camp Information
Sites
166
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   10   10   10   8   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
Stayed before and enjoy this location. But at the retail resort price it should have cable TV and WiFi. It was the rainy season so my grass site was mushy and I left deep ruts. The patio was paved, so we did not track it into the camper. The lake has a lot of shoreline water grass, so fishing with lures was a problem. Large laundry and library. Nice location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
We stayed there for the special 3 night stay with a tour of the facility and boat ride included. The place is new, clean, and well maintained. There are many and different activities available, and the rentals are always invited. The sites are spacious, with good electrical, water, and sewer connections. The sites all have paved patio. Many also have pavers for the camper; although, some are grass. Excellent place to stay, and would also be good place to own. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$75
Stayed here with a promotional 3 day special and paid extra for additional days. Park is very clean with a lot of expansion in progress. I only give this park a 7 based on the value for the normal daily rate of $75. We were parked on grass and our RV left deep ruts as we parked on the soft surface. There was no picnic table, fire ring, or grill. You are given one hour per day of free internet but we never could keep it online. ATT cell service was very weak at this location. For the $75 per night price, this park didn't offer what you would expect. Will not stay here again for this price. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Silver Palms RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
They gave us the Passport America rate. Not fancy but the people are friendly. Over-55 park with a nice clean laundry room. Not many amenities but very peaceful. We have been there twice and will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2009
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
A family owned park on the north side of town; most parks in Okeechobee are on the crowded south side. But still we were only about 5 miles from all stores and grocery. We just stayed for 3 days, park was empty this time of year. Large site with 50 amp electric; ours had a pad, but most do not. No showers or restrooms either. Access to Taylor creek with a fish cleaning station. Owner says it fills up in the winter, but price is same year round 20 per night in January for full hook up. I will be coming back We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   7   8   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2014
$17
This is a small gated RV Resort 10 miles outside of town that's beautifully landscaped. There's a nicely decorated clubhouse and a lovely saltwater pool, a Cheekie hut on the canal, boat launch, and fish cleaning station. The sites are all level pavers with palm trees and shrubs on both sides for privacy. There's shuffleboard, horseshoes, and pétanque; as well as, a community fire pit with wood provided nearby. The Management is helpful and friendly and the monthly rates are very reasonable. There is no laundromat and no community showers but all sites are 30/50 amp and full hook up. We stayed in a roadside lot and while there was some road noise, we weren't bothered by it at all. This is the nicest park for the price in the Okeechobee area. We truly enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Price reflects monthly rate and electric. This newer small park is paved and gated on the canal around Lake Okeechobee. We were parked directly across from the office where we had excellent WiFi signal most of the time. The Tiki hut on the water was nice as were the camp hosts. The water comes out of the tap brown so we bought bottled water for drinking and cooking and used color catchers in the wash. One of our dogs, as was our nephew's dog, was attacked by fire ants while being walked As previously mentioned, the pool is not heated. It's a good distance into town. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$55
The park is very nice but right on the highway. A bit noisy. Signage is poor and easily missed. This is a problem on the 2 lane highway turning a big rig around. For the price, there should be cable TV and a reliable WiFi network. The operators were very friendly, but did not advise us about the security gate before we arrived. The grounds were clean and tidy. There are no waterfront sites. There are water view sites. The water they mention is the canal outside Lake Okeechobee proper. It is a clean, attractive, and upscale campground for brief stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Water's Edge Motor Coach & RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
210
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   6   6   1   3   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$42
Very nice, clean, paved. We were short term (7days) so on a igrass pull thru site. Grass was green and full. Fairly quiet, lots of lighting, excellent laundromat, and completely fenced. There were many permanent campers on the river, along with an activity building. There is a boat launch and dock. It was a GREAT spot to view local birds. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2013
$45
We did not like this park for the following reasons: The park was densely packed with RVs and cottages. There was very little space between each camper/cottage; there was very little shade, mostly wide open space; our site did not have a picnic table or fire pit or grill; our site was very near the main route that passes by the "resort", and traffic noise was constant all night. This resort has many year round type people, and not only did we feel they were semi-unfriendly, but we were a little nervous about leaving our chairs and grill out all night. For the price we paid, we felt we were packed in like sardines with little amenities for us. We don't care about horseshoes or boat docks and boats if we do not have a boat. We would have been happier with basics like a simple table at our site. We do not recommend this resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We had a great site on the water, so we really enjoyed our stay. The people were really nice and the pool area looked clean and refreshing. It does have a lot of full timers and if you aren't on the water you are basically in a grass field. We will go back, if we can get the same site. It was awesome to watch all the birds and we had a bunny visit as well. We were disappointed that we didn't have cable, we were under the impression it was available. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Zachary Taylor RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com