221563 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Okeechobee, Florida (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
35.46 miles NE
38.40 miles NE
-Other Nearby Points-
Okeechobee County Tourism
5.78 miles SE
Super Wal-Mart
2101 S Parrott Ave
7.12 miles S
Fijian Rv
(863)763-6200
11.12 miles SE
Florida
Okeechobee
Most Recently Reviewed
Summer Breeze RV Park
Latest Review Submited On
2014-05-30 23:32:44
9 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Okeechobee, Florida
Camp Information
Sites
687
Date of Stay
February 2011
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
This is not a campground or an RV park. It is a 55+ retirement community that consists of about 700 individually owned sites. Most of these sites contain modular homes, park models, or RVs that are permanently parked with attached screened rooms or other additions. I estimate that less than 100 sites are vacant and only 45 of these are listed as available for rent. Each available site is rented by its owner and the price is negotiated through them. All sites have electric meters and electricity may be paid by either the landlord or the renter. I paid $500 a month and electricity was included. Information about the available sites on the park’s website (http://aoaks.net/id17.html) contains the site number, owner’s name, phone number, and maybe an email address. No other information is given. This makes shopping around for the best price difficult as each owner must be contacted about the price and whether electricity is included. The park is well-maintained with nicely manicured lawns. The streets are paved with concrete or asphalt and in good condition. Each empty site has cable TV and a large concrete pad which is angled for easier access, although some of the streets are one-way single lane and a carport across the street can make it difficult to maneuver a large RV into a site. The park is gated which provides some security, and access through the gate is provided via a magnetic card that is issued at the office after a $25 refundable deposit. There is nice pool and a large clubhouse that hosts various activities. Wi-Fi is available at the clubhouse. Verizon cell phone service is very poor – the signal fades in and out. I am able to use an external antenna with my air card so I had a decent Internet connection. There are about 5 bath houses throughout the park and each one contains a small laundry (2 washers, 2 dryers) and there are two larger laundries at the clubhouse and the office building. Children are allowed but this is a retirement community - average age is in the 70s - and there isn't much for children to do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$15
Very nice well kept park, all roads are paved with cement as is the RV pads. Great screened pool and hot tub, large club house with Wi-Fi hot spot, mostly friendly people, RV sites are rented by owners and not the park, check out the association paper for sites available (on ancient oaks web page)in the classified section, nearby Wal-Mart and grocery stores, approx 15min away. We would have given it a 10 but the water here contains Sulphur. Monthly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
77
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   4   10   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
This park has a mixture of residents and transients. It is nice that they have boat docks for everyone at no additional cost. There is a new pool which will be open by spring. The water quality is poor and has taste, odor and color. You will want to buy potable water. It seems to be the norm for the area. The park sits next to the very busy road and traffic starts before 6 a.m. on weekdays. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$21
Probably one of the nicest attribute of this park were the cement patios(alas no picnic tables provided, we had to get a folding table). The proximity of a very busy road made it hard to sleep. I did not care for the yellow color of the water (came through even with general filter). Management was very friendly and helpful, residents and longtime snowbirds welcoming. I saw several 40' motorhomes parked there during our stay but see how a 40' 5th wheel would be very hard to fit. Laundry rooms and showers need serious updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$29
Well, we tried but a 40 ft fifth wheel just won't fit in this park. The manger was very nice and returned our money. This park is old but well kept up. Smaller rigs would be OK here. There is fishing right at the river. Wish we could have fit in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Gracious RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   6   6   8   10   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$12
There is only one pull through and it was used primarily by tent and trailer campers during our 4-day stay. Super clean restroom/bath house. Don't understand logic of only 30amp in main CG which has the only bathhouse. This section is the "big rig side". The equestrian side has mainly tents and smaller class b/c and trailers. Found this state park nice, restful, and beautiful. Trails were great for walking not biking. Road in/outside was horrible on suspension and very dirty/dusty. However, we love the tranquility and solitude of this park. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$16
Wonderfully relaxing place to spend a few days. Camp Hosts were friendly and very helpful. Make swamp buggy tours reservations before you arrive; they get booked up very fast. Star gazing at night is incredible; no city lights to interfere. Wild life (birds, turkeys, etc.) all around. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$8
This is our fourth time in this park. We love the prairie and the solitude. We always stay in the equestrian sites. Make sure to do all your shopping before you arrive. The closest grocery store is a long way away. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Kissimmee Prairie Preserve State Park
Camp Information
Sites
750
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   10   8   7   10   10   7   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$39
We stayed for two months. Great resort with lots of things to do. KOA Staff and snowbirds are very friendly. Would have given a 10 rating except that many of the sites have shared services. We only had 30-amp service during our stay because the KOA WorkKamper behind us was using the 50-amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$63
Very well maintained park, great employees, but still an overpriced KOA. They charge extra for wi-fi and TV and that's after paying $60+ / night. Also the electric service on the sites that share a pedestal have only 1 50 amp and 1 30 amp service available, so if the site behind you is using the 50 amp, you only get the remaining 30 amp. Also there is only 1 sewer on these sites so a long hose (20') is needed. It's an older park but very well maintained. Could definitely use a makeover, especially the old bathrooms and buildings. It stays pretty full in the winter and is mostly empty in the summer. Very dog friendly. Most sites are fairly level, but a lot of them require a lot of leveling. Reasonable food and drinks available in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$57
Wow. We had a ball. Activities abound for all ages all day and evening. There was abundant staff everywhere and genuinely friendly. This place is more resort than campground, but the campsites (especially those that back up to the 9-hole golf course with beautiful bird watching) are as relaxing as they come. The kids pool was fun; the adult pool relaxing and quiet. The kids had a "dance" on Saturday night, complete with pizza. The adult bar, with live DJ (and sometimes live music) was like an old neighborhood bar full of "full-timers" that didn't make us "visitors" feel unwelcome at all. So many little details are managed that make the overall experience very nice. Things like plenty of well manicured healthy grass throughout and trash that would seemingly disappear any time of day you set it out make you realize someone with a hospitality background must be working behind the scenes. Golf carts are available to rent for exploring the campground; golf (and putt-putt) to play; large grassy sites with concrete pads; big shade trees; wildlife (lots of sandhill cranes), two swimming pools; kids playground; dog playground; nightlife with a bar on site. There just isn't anything missing here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Okeechobee KOA
Camp Information
Sites
166
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   10   10   8   7   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$33
We stayed there for the special 3 night stay with a tour of the facility and boat ride included. The place is new, clean, and well maintained. There are many and different activities available, and the rentals are always invited. The sites are spacious, with good electrical, water, and sewer connections. The sites all have paved patio. Many also have pavers for the camper; although, some are grass. Excellent place to stay, and would also be good place to own. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$75
Stayed here with a promotional 3 day special and paid extra for additional days. Park is very clean with a lot of expansion in progress. I only give this park a 7 based on the value for the normal daily rate of $75. We were parked on grass and our RV left deep ruts as we parked on the soft surface. There was no picnic table, fire ring, or grill. You are given one hour per day of free internet but we never could keep it online. ATT cell service was very weak at this location. For the $75 per night price, this park didn't offer what you would expect. Will not stay here again for this price. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
We stayed here on a "Stay & Play" package special which included 3 nights, meet & greet party plus dinner & dance. A boat tour was also offered. What a beautiful park - first class facilities. Lots are available for purchase and many have been personalized. Most parks of this caliber are restricted to Class A's, but this park currently welcomes 5th wheels, trailers, etc. All facilities were clean, beautiful, lots of activities were offered and park is located in town so convenient and easy to walk to several restaurants, etc. We would definitely like to return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Silver Palms RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
They gave us the Passport America rate. Not fancy but the people are friendly. Over-55 park with a nice clean laundry room. Not many amenities but very peaceful. We have been there twice and will go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
September 2009
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
question
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
question
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
A family owned park on the north side of town; most parks in Okeechobee are on the crowded south side. But still we were only about 5 miles from all stores and grocery. We just stayed for 3 days, park was empty this time of year. Large site with 50 amp electric; ours had a pad, but most do not. No showers or restrooms either. Access to Taylor creek with a fish cleaning station. Owner says it fills up in the winter, but price is same year round 20 per night in January for full hook up. I will be coming back We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Camp Information
Sites
30
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   8   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
Price reflects monthly rate and electric. This newer small park is paved and gated on the canal around Lake Okeechobee. We were parked directly across from the office where we had excellent WiFi signal most of the time. The Tiki hut on the water was nice as were the camp hosts. The water comes out of the tap brown so we bought bottled water for drinking and cooking and used color catchers in the wash. One of our dogs, as was our nephew's dog, was attacked by fire ants while being walked As previously mentioned, the pool is not heated. It's a good distance into town. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$55
The park is very nice but right on the highway. A bit noisy. Signage is poor and easily missed. This is a problem on the 2 lane highway turning a big rig around. For the price, there should be cable TV and a reliable WiFi network. The operators were very friendly, but did not advise us about the security gate before we arrived. The grounds were clean and tidy. There are no waterfront sites. There are water view sites. The water they mention is the canal outside Lake Okeechobee proper. It is a clean, attractive, and upscale campground for brief stays. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$19
WEMCR is small park with 30 spaces. No expense was spared in the development of this lavish park. All sites are paved and measure about 70' x 30' overall. Anyone who has stayed in parks in the Okee area, know that the water is less then perfect. This park has carbon filtering at each site. The water did have color, but no odor or taste. However, we bought our drinking water at dispenser machines, and ice by the bag so we could turn off our ice maker. The landscaping is beautiful. Every lot has a hedge of tall palm trees and some waxy variegated leaf shrubs growing out of a blanket of mulch. If you choose your lot wisely, you will have shade on your unit most of the day. We chose a NW facing site for our coach and had no direct sun on our windshield and was shaded all day by a row of 6 palms on our south side. Our site was roadside and the traffic was very loud with the vibrations of heavy semis being felt. We experienced no issues with the 50 amp power. We bought an antenna for our laptop but still had trouble receiving the Wi-Fi. We did not use the pool as the water was 70 degrees when we arrived in November. We stayed 60 days and never used the pool area. There is a chickee (shelter) next to the canal. The cushions and chairs are not clean. There is no fish cleaning station which is too bad, as people fished and regularly caught fish. The shallow boat ramp is better suited to very small boats though with care a larger boat can be launched. The clubhouse is very appealing but seems to be more of an office then a clubhouse. It opens at 9a.m. 6 days a week. Closes when the lady goes to lunch or leaves the park, then reopens in the afternoon til 3 or 4pm. The host did not plan any social events during the time we stayed. The 'clubhouse' (office) was decorated for the holidays, but was locked with the 'closed' sign displayed the afternoon before Christmas, Christmas day and the morning after Christmas. This does not seem like a real amenity as it is opened and closed with business hours and no one goes there to hang out or have get togethers. Probably because it is more of an office with the desk at the front door and all the records of past visitors in boxes on the floor. It could be improved by putting the desk into an office and locking peoples private information up for security. We would have loved to had free access to this beautiful lobby. Under some mossy oaks on a well mowed lawn lay the bocci ball, horseshoe pits, and shuffleboard. Once again, the items needed to play these things are kept in the office/clubhouse. You will need to go there during the open hours to get the items, then take the things across the park to use them, then back over to the office to return them. Just too much trouble. No one played any of these things during the 2 months we were there. There is a community fire pit, but the park does not provide wood like other parks with this amenity. There was never a fire. Most of the social activity was spontaneous in the afternoon at the chickee. Fishing, then sharing a brief happy hour before the mosquitos showed up and sent everyone to their RVs. (because the office/clubhouse is closed and locked). You may find some special pricing on their web site and get a discount. The managers/management company may just give you a discount that you are unaware of and do not ask for. A number of people rec'd extra special pricing without asking for it. You don't know what you will get, maybe half off of a premium pad with your Good Sam card for a whole week (instead of just 3 days), or free additional adults for the length of your stay. We didn't get that lucky, instead we were charged $200 because we decided not to stay the 2 additional months that we originally blocked. We did ask not to be penalized but were told that we had signed an acknowledgement. If there had been a heated pool and a welcoming clubhouse with fun activities planned and we could actually use the amenities advertised it could have been much better. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Water's Edge Motor Coach & RV Resort
Camp Information
Sites
210
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
question
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   3   6   6   1   3   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$42
Very nice, clean, paved. We were short term (7days) so on a igrass pull thru site. Grass was green and full. Fairly quiet, lots of lighting, excellent laundromat, and completely fenced. There were many permanent campers on the river, along with an activity building. There is a boat launch and dock. It was a GREAT spot to view local birds. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2013
$45
We did not like this park for the following reasons: The park was densely packed with RVs and cottages. There was very little space between each camper/cottage; there was very little shade, mostly wide open space; our site did not have a picnic table or fire pit or grill; our site was very near the main route that passes by the "resort", and traffic noise was constant all night. This resort has many year round type people, and not only did we feel they were semi-unfriendly, but we were a little nervous about leaving our chairs and grill out all night. For the price we paid, we felt we were packed in like sardines with little amenities for us. We don't care about horseshoes or boat docks and boats if we do not have a boat. We would have been happier with basics like a simple table at our site. We do not recommend this resort. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We had a great site on the water, so we really enjoyed our stay. The people were really nice and the pool area looked clean and refreshing. It does have a lot of full timers and if you aren't on the water you are basically in a grass field. We will go back, if we can get the same site. It was awesome to watch all the birds and we had a bunny visit as well. We were disappointed that we didn't have cable, we were under the impression it was available. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Zachary Taylor RV Resort
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com