214879 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Old Town, Florida (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
0.68 miles NW
16.72 miles NW
17.37 miles E
17.50 miles E
18.05 miles SE
20.77 miles S
30.53 miles NE
32.29 miles NE
37.94 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Suwannee River Hideaway Cg
(352)542-7800
9.22 miles SE
Yellow Jacket Cg Sr
(352)542-8365
11.96 miles SE
Florida
Old Town
Most Recently Reviewed
Old Town Campground 'N Retreat
Latest Review Submited On
2014-06-25 21:16:42
6 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Old Town, Florida
Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   10   8   9   10   8   10   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
This campground is 2 years old. The sites are huge, long, and all pull-throughs. Utilities were fine, Wi-Fi worked good, and the pool was clean and covered with a screen. Owners are ready to help with anything and invited us to a hot dog and marshmallow roast. Cedar Key is 30 minutes away and a fun place to visit. The only drawback is the dusty road base inside the park but there was little traffic while we were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$13
We stayed here for a month in early spring. The park is very spacious, with lots of room between sites and many tall oaks providing some shade. Grounds are well kept and bathhouse was cleaned about once a week during our stay. Cable TV is optional for an extra $10, but channels were limited. The park has Wi-Fi, but it's not fast, and the owners use software to block movie downloads, which often affected other non movie-related sites. Owners are polite, but not very customer-centric. Toilet paper, paper towels were frequently empty, and we had to go "hunting" for our mail. (The mailboxes were rarely utilized). I commented on the Wi-Fi once, and was told to drive to the Carl's Jr. down the road. Park is about 10 minutes from basic shopping and a public boat launch into the Suwannee River. Very quiet stay, with only occasional traffic noise. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$31
This park is located in a grove of water oaks and there are enough to make it very nice but not too many. The owners are very nice. The sites are very big. After seeing some of the other parks in the area, we decided to make this our base and drive to the areas we wanted to visit. The size of sites, the visual appeal, and friendly people made it a great base for our visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Lucky Charm RV Park
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   8   8   7   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
Staying here was a pleasant experience. The owner provides a wealth of information and can be found easily for any questions. There are miles and miles of great bike trails nearby. The campground is very clean and extremely quiet, a feature we really enjoy. There are several tall pine trees providing some dappled shade. The people are friendly the sites allow for plenty of room. The rate we paid reflects an Escapees discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$28
This is just a wee place on the property of the landowner and host. It is a great place to spend the weekend just to chill out in your coach, but it doesn't have a lot to offer other than a completely wonderful host who is more than attentive and so friendly. We met some very nice folks here. Although I wouldn't call it a destination, it is definitely worth an overnight--laid back, pet friendly, a few fulltimers. It has a very small library in the office, and some bathrooms and laundry area, but that is about all. Heard all kinds of wildlife at night! Lovely area! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$37
This park was very quiet. The owners are very friendly and take pride in their camp. It is not a destination RV Resort but is conveniently located near the many springs. Also very close to the Nature Coast Bicycle Trail. The water pressure was sufficient and the power was very good. Cable and WiFi worked very well. I would recommend this to anyone planning on exploring the area. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Old Town Campground 'N Retreat
Camp Information
Sites
don't know
Date of Stay
February 2013
Latest Rate
$20


Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
question
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
This beachfront campground is administered by Dixie County within the Lower Suwanee National Wildlife Refuge. This is a breathtakingly beautiful place on a white sand beach, but apparently it is heavily used for local partying on the weekends, and as a result there is trash everywhere. We picked up multiple bags of trash during our 4 day stay. There is a bathroom with flush toilets and 1 shower that has hot water: not very clean. There is no potable water, WiFi, or cell phone reception. There is a dumpsite and a brand new fishing pier. Come with a good stock of water and groceries, because the nearest shopping is at least a 30 minute drive. The only noises here are the wild hogs rooting in the bush, and the tide splashing up on the beach. The fee quoted is for non-county residents; residents pay $10. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   1   10   8   7   10   9   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$17
Rate reflected Passport America rate for full hookups. This park was somewhat rustic but a pleasant change from the manicured sites we had been accustomed to. The park was clean and tidy with a pleasant small activity building. There were lots of paths and trails to walk and a paved bicycle trail was 4 miles away. The cable TV was marginal and we opted to use our antennae which provided a few more channels and a better picture. The water pressure was very low and we ended up using our RV water pump when showering. The park has 2 washing machines and 2 dryers. The dryer took 2 full cycles (on high) and the clothes were still damp so plan to wash on a day when the clothes can be hung out to dry. The pool was not heated. Wi-Fi was OK at the park hot spot. The staff were friendly and pleasant to deal with. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$26
This is a rustic park. In our case, rustic is good. Sites are not paved. Water, electric, sewer all worked as expected. Cable TV left something to be desired. Management was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2012
$55
The pool closed at 6 pm. The river was 1/4 of a mile through the woods to reach a floating dock that was about 4 ft wide and maybe 8 ft long. Nothing for the kids to do at all. We stayed one night We will not be back. This is a park for the older folks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Suwannee River Hideaway Campground
Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   2   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Bathhouse is disgusting. Not cleaned since we have been here. Mold in soap dispenser. Commode stopped up and not fixed. Horrible smell. Not handicapped accessible. Large person could not use bathroom or showers. The place is rather junky. Would not camp here again. The owners are very nice, but the place needs lots of TLC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2013
$38
The last review is correct. Office stunk of cigarettes. To many junky old units. It's a bad trailer park, stay away. People stare at you like you are invading their home. Very bad. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$10
This is an old-time Florida campground. It is bordered on both sides by canals from the Suwannee River. Many Live Oak trees with dripping moss. In fact, too many trees. Trees growing in the middle of campsites. Holes in the gazebo's roof which isn't getting fixed. No one is doing maintenance. No one is doing landscaping unless the camper wants to do it himself. Lots of permanent residents. A group of winter guests are holding on and trying to make the best of it. This park is in disrepair and it's a shame. The owners live on-site and are nice enough, but don't do anything. And don't bother asking them to do anything. This is a do-it-yourself park. Bathrooms are broken. One toilet may work. Dock is falling into canal. The only thing positive is that they have good satellite TV reception and good Verizon reception. We stayed 1 month and won't return. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$42



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   4   8   8   10   10   6   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$42
This is a well maintained campground that is ideal for nature lovers who want peace and quiet. It is off the beaten path. The dock is well maintained and has a boat/kayak launching area. The lots on the water are beautiful. The lots are large and many are shaded. This is a hidden gem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$42
This park is 10 miles from Old Town situated on the Swanee River. They have a mix of sites with live oaks all over. The roads are hard packed sand as are the sites. We arrived early afternoon to visit Manatee Springs State Park across the river. The campground rents pontoon boats in case you don't want to drive all the way around to the state park via Old Town. We rented a pontoon, headed up river to the park, docked at the state park and swam in the 72 degree springs. The cable tv was decent with about 20 channels, the hosts were friendly, and didn't hear about any of the rules the previous reviewer mentioned. I also didn't see but a few cabins, so I'm not sure what the reviewer was referring to about all the park models and long-term residents. Very nice showers and restrooms, all tile. The laundry was big and airy I think there were about 7 each of washers and dryers. A nice park, that served its purpose for us. A nice stop on the way home from Orlando. We would definitely come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2012
$41
I have been staying at this park for the past 5 years periodically throughout the year. Not sure if they have taken on new management or what is happening here. It is still a beautiful park and one of the prettiest I have ever stayed at traveling throughout the US, however, the personnel have changed drastically. Every time I go there it appears more and more permanent residence are moving in. Many now have large decks and have made it a home. The atmosphere is terrible and the campground manager, which is a big gentleman who wears a campground security shirt many of the days, makes you feel uncomfortable and uneasy. This in turn makes me wonder if going back for the river justifies my family feeling uneasy, especially since they feel they need a security man to patrol and make sure people know things are done his way or you may be removed from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Yellow Jacket Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com