206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Arco, Idaho (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
25.20 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Carrolls Travel Plaza
Arco
0.43 miles NW
Idaho
Arco
Most Recently Reviewed
Craters of the Moon National Monument/Lava Flow Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-06 18:33:41
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Arco, Idaho
Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$43



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   1   4   8   7   10   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$43
Nice quiet KOA with large sites. Our corner Site #D0 was a full hook-up with WI-FI and tons of cable channels. Level, long and very wide on both sides. The entire campground is very clean and well taken care of. All sites are spread out with shade trees and plenty of grassy areas. No traffic noises, thus very pleasant for relaxing. The manager was very helpful and he and his family seem to work very hard to keep everything in tip-top shape. Arco is a small town, kind of off the beaten path, but only about 20 miles from Craters of the Moon National Monument. Also, if you have time, there is the Atomic Museum which is a national historic landmark. We stayed here for 2 days in our motorhome, and if ever back this way, would stay here again. Suggest you get a big rig site with all of the hook-ups. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
We drove all day with this campground as our destination on or way to Oregon. We did NOT actually stay is this campground for the following reason: Upon our arrival (after calling to make sure they had open spots and looking over their website thoroughly) we were rudely told that they do not accept German Shepherds or Rottweilers. We have two very well trained Shepherds. You would think they could at least list this information on their website. This was the first time we have run into breed restrictions on German Shepherds, and we were very surprised. As far as the campground itself, it looked ok. It's sort of in the middle of a residential area in a dumpy little town, but it seemed clean and well kept from what I saw. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
We have been here a few times in the past, but decided give them another chance. We stayed here one weeknight in mid-August. We had a fairly level, full hook up, pull-through with 50+ channel cable TV and at site WI-FI that worked ok. This time, unlike last, we got a satellite friendly site as requested. Many of the 20 or so full hook up sites are not satellite friendly. The rest of the RV sites are water and electricity. There are also about a dozen tent sites and some cabins. Most RV sites are pull-throughs. Roads and sites are gravel. There are some trees between the full hook up sites, but the water and electricity sites are mostly in the open. My biggest issue on this visit was that, even though we had a reservation, the site we were assigned was being watered when we arrived. The office person who checked us in ran over and turned off the sprinkler as we approached the site. The entire rear, driver's side of the pad and site were soaked leaving mud and puddles where one does most of the setup connecting of the utilities. My shoes got wet and muddy while setting up because of this situation. A slightly lesser offense by the staff was letting people have campfires at this specific time. The nation's worst wildfire is raging just 50 miles to the west and the air is full of the smell and smoke. The sensible thing to do would have been to ban fires temporarily. The folks here just keep making dumb mistakes in the way they run the park. This is a decent park that needs to be run smarter We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Craters of the Moon / Arco KOA
Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   10   7   10   10   9   10   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Your only chance to camp on the moon. Unique environment, camping in the lave flows. The rangers did interesting nightly programs in the campground amphitheater. This is a small/remote park. Don't expect to be able to do shopping once you arrive. Come with your holding tanks empty, because there is no dump station either (though nearby towns have free ones). Big rigs / trailers need to be very careful. It's a tight campground and the big rocks are unforgiving. Saw a travel trailer dragged over a boulder as the campers were driving through looking at spots. There were a few big rigs, but parking/positioning them is not for amateurs here. We enjoyed the unique setting so much that we stayed an extra night. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
Nice campground at entrance to the park. No services available. No hot water or showers. Very little shade, but there are some sites with a single tree that can provide some shade. I was in #11 - nice pull thru - relatively close to the recycle area. Flies were a bit pesky, so if you are outside you will need a good swatter or spray. Great campground to see the park with. Allow at least 1 and half day to see all of the park. Make sure you get your cave permit before you leave the visitor center. Caves are easy hikes and worth it. Campground was very quiet and the two nights I was there only about 20% full. Would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
In my top "3" campgrounds, this place rocks (no pun intended)! A beautiful, eerie and yet serene campground, each site is clean and provides a view of the lava works. Super friendly rangers; take advantage of the various activities posted on boards throughout the campground. The hikes are fantastic and bicycling is perfect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Craters of the Moon National Monument/Lava Flow Campground
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   9   9   8   8   7   6   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
We stayed here on a Saturday night and found that their "free Pancake breakfast" as advertised was not available on Sunday. We opted for eating dinner in their cafe which is in the front of the RV Park where you check in. We had barbecued ribs, smoked baked potato, corn and cake for dessert--all for $18. There was no cable TV, but we were able to pick up lots of channels with our antenna. We had a full hookup with electric, water, and sewer. The park is very clean with lots of green grass and plenty of mature trees. It is in a very rustic setting. I would recommend this park to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Friendly and helpful staff. Free cooked breakfast every morning - eggs, pancakes and coffee. All sites are level pull throughs on gravel. Every site has some grass, a tree and a picnic table. WiFi worked great, but dropped out often. Most sites can receive satellite. We toured Craters of the Moon and the Atomic Museum. Rate is with Good Sam discount. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Rate includes GS discount. Great park to visit Craters of the Moon NP and EBR-1. Nicely maintained level sites with plenty of grassy space between them. Friendly staff and free breakfast each morning for campers. Nice little Cafe for other meals. Great Wi-Fi at site and several local TV channels available. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mountain View RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com