215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Arco, Idaho (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
25.20 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Carrolls Travel Plaza
Arco
0.43 miles NW
Idaho
Arco
Most Recently Reviewed
Craters of the Moon / Arco KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-07-22 00:55:53
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Arco, Idaho
Camp Information
Sites
57
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   8   9   1   4   8   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
We were lucky to get a site with satellite access. Some sites are not satellite friendly. We were unlucky in that we reserved a 50 amp site and got a 30 amp. I was not going to move the rig and risk loosing our satellite service. The sites and roads are all gravel and the manager made a strong point about not parking on the grass with the RV or car. The problem with this is that the sites are only about 8 feet wide so you have to line up very carefully and your slides will go over the grass. They need to scrape the grass back to make the parking sites wider. Many of the guests are "camping" and cook over a fire and sit out late at night talking. The bottom line is that this is a fairly decent campground and could have been a lot worse. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Our gravel pull-through site was just long enough for our 40 foot motor home and tow dolly but more than wide enough to park our car. Our site was mildly unlevel, mostly front to back. An older campground but clean and reasonably well maintained. Friendly office staff. There were a number of trees that could block satellite at many sites but none in the way at our site. Adequate Wi-Fi. Good Verizon signal. Good cable, mostly local channels. Some light traffic noise during the day but quiet at night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$45
This an older but decent KOA close to town and not too far from the national monument. Gravel sites are level, good grassy space between sites. Arco is a town of about 900 people with an interesting history but not a lot of services. There are a couple of gas stations, a couple of restaurants and not much else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Craters of the Moon / Arco KOA
Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   10   7   10   10   9   10   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  question  question  question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Your only chance to camp on the moon. Unique environment, camping in the lave flows. The rangers did interesting nightly programs in the campground amphitheater. This is a small/remote park. Don't expect to be able to do shopping once you arrive. Come with your holding tanks empty, because there is no dump station either (though nearby towns have free ones). Big rigs / trailers need to be very careful. It's a tight campground and the big rocks are unforgiving. Saw a travel trailer dragged over a boulder as the campers were driving through looking at spots. There were a few big rigs, but parking/positioning them is not for amateurs here. We enjoyed the unique setting so much that we stayed an extra night. We camped here in a Truck Camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$10
Nice campground at entrance to the park. No services available. No hot water or showers. Very little shade, but there are some sites with a single tree that can provide some shade. I was in #11 - nice pull thru - relatively close to the recycle area. Flies were a bit pesky, so if you are outside you will need a good swatter or spray. Great campground to see the park with. Allow at least 1 and half day to see all of the park. Make sure you get your cave permit before you leave the visitor center. Caves are easy hikes and worth it. Campground was very quiet and the two nights I was there only about 20% full. Would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
In my top "3" campgrounds, this place rocks (no pun intended)! A beautiful, eerie and yet serene campground, each site is clean and provides a view of the lava works. Super friendly rangers; take advantage of the various activities posted on boards throughout the campground. The hikes are fantastic and bicycling is perfect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Craters of the Moon National Monument/Lava Flow Campground
Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   6   9   10   10   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
What a gem! Owners have only had the park for 3 weeks, and are doing a terrific job! Sites were clean and neat, and owner was very receptive to trimming some branches as we pulled through our site. He is in the process of trimming all trees. Sprint cell service was on roaming, so no wifi hotspot, but park has free wifi. Unfortunately, our site was in the back of the park, and we were not able to log on. Park also has café that serves the BEST BBQ ribs outside of Kansas City! Don't miss them!! And sweet potato pancakes for breakfast were fabulous! Don't miss this place. A real oasis in the Idaho dessert! We will definitely be back when we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$37
There are new owners. The site was very clean as well as all the facilities there. Site we stayed in was level. The personnel and owners were very friendly. They serve a pancake with two eggs for two people per stay in the morning. Very good. They have a dinner menu for a fee. We had smoked BBQ pork ribs, smoked baked potatoes, salad and bread. It was so good. We will be back when we are in the area. There was no pool and some of the outside needs renovating, as in putting golf, horse shoes and grass. The new owners have only been there a short time and are working on getting all to par. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
New owners took over a few days prior to our arrival. The rates have increased 37% since our last stay three years ago. The wifi was disabled for a few days due to "too many people using". The free breakfast has been reduced in portion size two times in the last few days. New owners say they will be putting in a horse section. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Mountain View RV Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com