223575 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Makanda, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.27 miles NW
13.18 miles SE
14.30 miles NE
18.14 miles NE
19.08 miles NE
21.86 miles SE
25.86 miles N
28.99 miles NE
29.31 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Booby's
6.09 miles NW
Mary Lou'S Grill
6.41 miles NW
Southern Illinois Univer
6.44 miles NW
Southern Illinois Airpor
6.55 miles N
Tres Hombres
6.62 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1450 E Main St
7.45 miles NE
Pomona Winery
8.36 miles W
Pomona Natural Bridge
8.47 miles W
Alto Vineyards
8.82 miles SW
Kamper'S Supply
9.42 miles NE
Von Jacob Vineyards
10.85 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
300 Leigh Ave
12.21 miles S
Wal-Mart
550 E Industrial Park Rd #11
12.66 miles NW
Ferne Clyffe State Park
Goreville
13.44 miles SE
Wal-Mart
1713 South Park Ave
13.91 miles NE
Illinois
Makanda
Most Recently Reviewed
Little Grassy Lake Campground and Marina
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-15 23:51:28
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Makanda, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
8
Date of Stay
May 2010
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
This use to be a great campground: everything but 8 tent sites have been removed. The 8 sites are not level either. It is too bad, I loved this place. We camped here in a Tent.
Camp Information
Sites
85
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   7   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
We stayed one night, campground about 10 miles from I-55. Lots of shaded sites, with some big enough for 40' RVs. Bathrooms were clean and showers hot. Sites were marked well and 10 had 50 amp! Lots of things to do in the area, hiking, fishing, site seeing ! They have 25 first come first served sites also! Great area to relax, very quiet and not any road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
We enjoyed our midweek stay at Giant City State Park. The grounds were clean and well kept, and the restrooms and showers were also nice. As it was April, and somewhat rainy, there were only about 4 other rigs there, so we didn't need a reservation and we could choose our own site. There was no host there, but a very friendly ranger stopped by between 5 and 6 to collect our money. There is no screening between sites, but they are all shady. If you want more privacy, get one on the edge of the campground that backs to the woods. In addition to the 85 RV sites there were maybe 12 walk in tent sites. There was one restroom building for the campground, but 2 other "vault toilets". There are water spigots in several locations. The park has very good hiking, and the campground is the trail head for the 12 mile long Red Cedar Trail. This trail also connects with a 12 mile long horse trail that can be hiked. In general, there are lots of trails out there, and a short one leads from site 20 to a fishing pond. Also, just down the campground road is a launching ramp to the Little Grassy Lake, part of the Crab Orchard National Wildlife Refuge. We will definitely come back and bring our kayaks. No review would be complete without mentioning the CCC built lodge in the park that serves a dynamite family style fried chicken dinner. (The lodge is not close to the campground,-- about 2 miles.) $20 was for an RV site, tent sites were cheaper, and there may be a discount for Illinois residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
I have been camping here for the past 4 years mostly at the tent sites. Giant city is only 20 miles from where I live and my kids love hiking here. The grounds are very nice and clean, the people are friendly, and the showers were clean also. They do have water if you get a spot near a pump and have a Y joint. This was my first time here with a RV and I have to say for $20 a night you don't get much. The last time I was here back in Oct 2009 it was $15 a night. I love the area but I think for now on, we are just going to have to do the day trips here as $20 a night for only power is a lot of money. I can spend $15 more and get full hook ups at other places. I give it a 7 because of the price, but a 10+ for how pretty this area is and how much history is in one park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Giant City Campground
Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$15
As others have stated before, you need a VERY long cord to reach most electric boxes. We had to move sites because our cord didn't reach. They do have boat rentals and a small beach. Sites are not that level. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$13
Rate reflects a Passport America rate. We enjoyed our stay here very much and greatly appreciated the warm welcome by the staff. They gave us good directions and helped us find a site which worked well for our rig. GPS is not accurate so be sure to call for directions. Most sites have nice views of the lake. Rental kayaks, bikes, and boats are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Little Grassy Lake Campground and Marina (LGLCM) is located about 7 miles south of Carbondale inside Crab Orchard National Wildlife Refuge. It's also close to Giant City State park's lodge and hiking trails. The road through the park is black-top. The park is very secluded and was quiet during the week. There are many shady sites. LGLCM advertises 14 full hookups. Think I counted 5 full hookup sites with fairly level cement slabs in the Lake View area on top of a hill where our site was. The other full hookup sites in Lake View were gravel. All had a good view of the lake and marina below. Each site had a picnic table and fire ring. Some lake view sites were a long, long way from the electric boxes, so best to have double cables. The Trailers Rest and Circle View RV areas were water and electric only and all looked to be gravel sites. Our full hookup cost $30. LGLCM's bathrooms are separate from the showers, but in the same building. Being in park, they were kept OK clean, a few cobwebs, I'd wear my flipflops to shower. They have a small store at the marina where you register, has RV supplies, ice, firewood, fishing licenses, etc. LGLCM have a very nice marina with boat rentals. Pontoon and jon boats, canoes and kayaks. There's also has a small sandy beach away from the marina, no lifeguard, they charge to swim there. The people that ran it were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Little Grassy Lake Campground and Marina
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com