224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Utica, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
15.50 miles SE
18.61 miles NE
18.64 miles NE
20.06 miles SE
20.46 miles SE
23.38 miles S
26.40 miles NE
27.16 miles NE
28.25 miles NW
30.77 miles SE
-Other Nearby Points-
Hickory Hollow
(815)667-4996
1.56 miles SW
Flying J
I-80 X77
5.37 miles SW
Matthiessen State Park
6.25 miles SW
Uptown Grill
6.55 miles SW
Tiki Truck Stop
I-80 X75
6.62 miles SW
Wal-Marti-80:75 1651 38Th St (Located To Block)
7.04 miles SW
The Maples
7.37 miles SW
Monte'S Riverside Inn
7.76 miles SE
Red Door Inn
8.06 miles SW
Wal-Mart
2901 N Columbus
8.40 miles E
Illinois
Utica
Most Recently Reviewed
LaSalle / Peru KOAHickory Hollow Campground
Latest Review Submited On
2014-10-23 04:15:572014-10-23 04:08:25
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Utica, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   6   10   8   8   10   4   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
This park offers many amenities such as a pool, play area which would be important for a family vacation. But, for just a quick overnight, it was a bit pricey. We were parked in a "pull-through" which, in reality, was just a part of the road that had a hookup provided. Spaces were close. If my neighbor had his slide out, I would've been able to borrow the salt and pepper through our window. The young man who checked us in was efficient and friendly and walked us out to our space. The Wi-Fi was very weak, even from our space near the office. We would stay here again because apparently there is very little else in the area. Our RV is 40' long. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
What a nice small KOA, wonderful family run with very clean campground. The small creek that runs through offers fishing, the pool was very nice and we are likely to return. Staff was available to answer questions and helped with a concern we had. Sites are close together which is a drawback but the only one. Wifi is poor but hey it's camping! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
It's not surprising that the reviews are so varied since its a small park but has 3 separate areas. The area by the office is right by a high speed county road and the sites are extremely narrow - most will not allow slides to open. The area behind the office is grassed with several large trees, but the ground level is very close to the water table and very soggy when we were there. Even more of a concern is that the pull-through sites are for two units, both facing the same way, so if its busy, you can get trapped. Some tent campsites are along the edge of this area, others are on the other side of the creek on higher ground and seem quite good. The Wi-Fi is very weak, even close to the office; most web sites will not open. I will not be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for LaSalle / Peru KOA
Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   10   9   8   9   9   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$35
Large park but comes up a little short on bathrooms and showers as well as other amenities. 1 pool for the size but overall a clean park. Was not given the wifi password on arrival so we did not use it. Staff was friendly but there are other CG choices in the area that were better for us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$34
This is a very well maintained campground with helpful and friendly staff at check in. Good access from 1-80. Interior roads are gravel. We had a concrete pad which was long level and pull-through, but most of the sites are gravel. Big rig access was good. Fairly quiet but there was some road noise. Some privacy, shade trees, plenty of grass, barbecue, fire ring, picnic table, and plenty of space for our towed so no need to unhook if you are there for just one night. The grounds were very pretty and very well maintained, there is also a lovely pool. The bathrooms were clean and modern, and the laundry was clean but a little too small for the size of the campground. Pet friendly with lots of places to walk your pet. Wi-Fi and cell were good. Food stores, good restaurants and plenty of sightseeing are close by. The downtown historic district in Utica is well worth a visit, lovely old shops and houses, well loved and cared for. We would stay here again.  We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$19
Easy off of I-80 at exit 81. Near Starved Rock State park and the town of Peru where there are many stores for shopping. Very nice campground and very nice people in the office. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Hickory Hollow Campground
Camp Information
Sites
133
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   6   9   7   8   8   10   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2014
$25
This park is suffering from a lack of cash. The grounds are not mowed more than once a month. The water pump was broken requiring you to fill tank at host site. Dump station filthy with feces and toilet paper all over and back wash hose broken requiring you to use fresh water pump. Very unsanitary. No ranger at gate shack ever. No security noticed during our 5 days there. Beautiful park but campground almost unusable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Starved Rock truly is an amazing place, which is why we wanted to camp here. The campground is very close to the park and hiking trails, so that was good. The vast majority of the loop our site was on was heavily wooded. Only a few sites near the entrance of the loop were full sun. We were in sites 61 & 63, which were full sun. There were many tent campers here. There was one major, major issue that is the reason I'm giving this campground such a poor rating. The bathrooms were deplorable. The loop was very large, and had flush toilets/showers near the front, and outhouses in the middle and back. There were WAY too many people using the flush toilets and showers, and things got really gross, really fast. Urinals overflowed in the men's room onto the floor. By Sunday morning, none of the three toilets in the women's restroom were operational. The playground was mediocre. We will never camp here again because of the bathroom situation. We had no choice but to pack up and leave first thing Sunday morning. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$25
Wonderful campground! We've always enjoyed spacious, level campsites in the shade when camping here. Decent bathrooms and showers, which were clean. Easy-to-follow directions with everything very well marked; easy dumping and water station. Great walking/hiking with well-marked trails through trees and along the river; beautiful canyons, waterfalls through sandstone cliffs. Wonderful Visitor Center and beautiful old Lodge if guests need lodging and/or you want to dine out. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Starved Rock State Park
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com