206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Whittington, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
8.96 miles SW
10.61 miles S
11.42 miles N
20.63 miles SW
23.04 miles S
25.16 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Southern Illinois Artisa
5.06 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
I-57 Exit 71
Rend Lake Plaza/Central St
10.36 miles SW
Truck Centers 8007862545
10.90 miles NW
"Elks - Dry, New Listing, 1107 Jordon St, 618-244-4885"
11.28 miles N
Super Wal-Mart
I-57 Exit 95
110 Davidson Ave
11.43 miles NW
Illinois
Whittington
Most Recently Reviewed
Gun Creek COE
Latest Review Submited On
2014-02-16 03:40:13
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Whittington, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   2   10   10   10   10   10   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  question  yes  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This campground is only a minute from I-57 and is a great place to stop over while traveling. It is also a great warm season family and fisherman's campground. Right on Rend Lake. Some of the sites are not very level but many are. There are areas with full hookups. There is some traffic noise but not bad. Deer wander through at times. It is not open year around. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$8
This is a very nice Corps of Engineer campground. It is easy off and easy on from I-57. Nightly rate reflects Senior Pass discount. We stayed one night on the way to Marengo, IL. Most sites are electric only with water hydrants scattered throughout the camping loops. They do have some full hookups as follows: Eagle Loop sites 60 thru 63. Bluejay Loop sites 11,13, & 15 as well as 18 thru 41. Many sites require serious leveling (front to back and side to side). Others are very nice with little or no leveling required. Restroom and shower facilities are new, clean and well maintained. The grass could have been mowed but it was okay. We would definitely stay here again either overnight or longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$12
This park was closed for a period last year while they installed new roads and full hook ups in part of the park. There are new bathhouses with family showers that combine tollets and showers. It is very convienent for a night stop over. Some of the sites are in need of leveling so I gave it a lower rating. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Gun Creek COE
Camp Information
Sites
243
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   9   9   9   10   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
With some advance planning, this campground is very nice. One needs a full water tank and empty sewer and gray to start. 50 amp is the norm. The sites are great, some on water, all in shade. Length is no issue. There is a motel-like inn and a restaurant on the property, and I could see using this park for a family reunion: some folks camping, others in rooms. The lake is scenic and large. I'm not sure about boat rentals, etc. Check out the website. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This is a really nice campground. There are 5 loops, only 1 (Bay Area) can be reserved (via Reserveamerica.gov). The camp hosts are located within Shady Loop and Lake View loops. One host is on duty at any given time. The interior roads and sites are on asphalt and are very wide. Almost all of the sites are around 60 feet long. A 40 foot motorhome with a tow can easily fit into most of the sites. Most of the sites are fairly level and there is lots of room between each site. All sites have electricity: most have 30/15 amp service. There are sites scattered around the park that have 50/30 amp service. Water is available at the dump station and there are a few water spigots in each loop. You would need a very long hose to access them. There is only one sewer at the dump station for the entire park. The bathroom/showers are the typical state park facilities. They are usable but not very appealing. We chose not to use them. There is also a nice bike path circling the campground. Be aware that there is no signage on the bike path. Verizon air card and cell phone service worked well here. We would definitely come back here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is a beautiful park. It's too bad they don't take reservations, but it's very large and I saw no sites I would be disappointed with. The sites are very well-spaced, with many mature shade trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Wayne Fitzgerrell Recreation Area
Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
December 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   8   10   10   10   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$32
Very nice, clean and quiet campground. Wi-Fi was excellent and fast, helped by the fact that there were only about 5 campers there during our 2 day stay. We really appreciated the fenced dog run. Our dogs loved it! The bath houses and laundry were spotlessly clean. The owners were very nice and even gave us a dozen fresh eggs from the chickens they keep. They were well appreciated and tasty. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
Very well kept campground. Owners are very friendly and professional. We were given fresh eggs from their chicken coop upon check in. Camp sites are very well groomed and level. Wi-Fi was excellent. Very limited satellite sites available due to very large oak trees and no cable. Washrooms and showers were spotless. Wood scuptures on site were very unique. Our dog loved the place. Will definitely stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Only gave this park a 9 because they charged us extra for the kids. Not sure why places do this; it's not like they take up more room, and our kids are older. Be aware that if you stay here in October you will experience raining acorns because the park is filled with oak trees. The owners share their eggs and fresh vegetables in season. Also note that the shower attached to the registration building is the one to use. The other bath house is older and the showers are timed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Whittington Woods Campground
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com