User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby makanda, Illinois (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
12.27 miles NW
13.18 miles SE
14.30 miles NE
18.14 miles NE
19.08 miles NE
21.86 miles SE
25.86 miles N
28.99 miles NE
29.31 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Booby's
6.09 miles NW
Mary Lou'S Grill
6.41 miles NW
Southern Illinois Univer
6.44 miles NW
Southern Illinois Airpor
6.55 miles N
Tres Hombres
6.62 miles NW
Super Wal-Mart
1450 E Main St
7.45 miles NE
Pomona Winery
8.36 miles W
Pomona Natural Bridge
8.47 miles W
Alto Vineyards
8.82 miles SW
Kamper'S Supply
9.42 miles NE
Von Jacob Vineyards
10.85 miles SW
Super Wal-Mart
300 Leigh Ave
12.21 miles S
Wal-Mart
550 E Industrial Park Rd #11
12.66 miles NW
Ferne Clyffe State Park
Goreville
13.44 miles SE
Wal-Mart
1713 South Park Ave
13.91 miles NE
Illinois
makanda
Most Recently Reviewed
Little Grassy Lake Campground and Marina
Latest Review Submited On
2011-05-22 21:02:02
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
makanda, Illinois
Camp Information
Sites
8
Date of Stay
May 2010
Latest Rate
$12



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
This use to be a great campground: everything but 8 tent sites have been removed. The 8 sites are not level either. It is too bad, I loved this place. We camped here in a Tent.
Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
July 2010
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
I have been camping here for the past 4 years mostly at the tent sites. Giant city is only 20 miles from where I live and my kids love hiking here. The grounds are very nice and clean, the people are friendly, and the showers were clean also. They do have water if you get a spot near a pump and have a Y joint. This was my first time here with a RV and I have to say for $20 a night you don't get much. The last time I was here back in Oct 2009 it was $15 a night. I love the area but I think for now on, we are just going to have to do the day trips here as $20 a night for only power is a lot of money. I can spend $15 more and get full hook ups at other places. I give it a 7 because of the price, but a 10+ for how pretty this area is and how much history is in one park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
I had always camped at Giant City in a tent and this was my first trip there in a camper. The sites were not that level and the boiler for hot water in the showers went out. I have always had a positive experience with Giant City and it is in a gorgeous part of the country. I will go back and give it another shot and hopefully the bathroom facility is fixed and will be open. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$15
We enjoyed camping here. The camp host was very friendly and helpful. The sites are gravel but level. We liked the fact that you get to pick your own site. The sites are all shaded, and it is very quite and peaceful. The shower house was very clean and heated. Giant City Park is very beautiful with a lot of interesting rock formations and trails to hike on. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Giant City Campground
Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
May 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Shady sites; many near lake view, quiet. Only complaint is that bathrooms are separate from showers and showers have no electrical outlets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
The boat rentals have been upgraded and work a lot better tha the old boats. Great fishing. Caught a 8 lb Bass and a 13 lb Catfish. Great tie with the kids. Beach was also nice. The water is very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
It is a nice family campground on Little Grassy Lake inside the Carb Orchard refuge. The staff and offerings were great. Nice camp store, and boat rentals on site. Will go back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com