206877 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bloomington, Indiana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
14.32 miles NE
15.15 miles NW
18.02 miles NE
21.01 miles S
28.15 miles NW
-Other Nearby Points-
Bloomington
0.75 miles SW
Le Petit Cafe
0.76 miles NW
Colorado Steakhouse
1.27 miles NW
Grisanti's
1.55 miles SE
Wal-Mart
3201 W State Hwy 45
3.33 miles SW
Sams Club 3205 W State Hwy 45 (Located To Street)
3.33 miles SW
Fairfax Beach
9.09 miles S
Indiana
Bloomington
Most Recently Reviewed
Lake Monroe Village
Latest Review Submited On
2013-10-11 07:27:47
3 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bloomington, Indiana
Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   6   10   10   8   9   4   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Two outdoor pools. One zero entry for the kids, and another rectangular pool for kids and adults. Also have a small indoor pool for the rainy days. Nice clubhouse, game room and jumping pillow. The kids love the planned activities. Labor Day weekend, they had a DJ, activity tent, and plenty of action. The only drawback for me was the campground is all gravel. Other than that, the sites were spacious and clean. The wooded sites are mainly reserved for the seasonal campers. Would go back if the opportunity presents it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$53
Our rate included a 10% military auxiliary discount. The park was very clean with great facilities. As another review I read said, it had probably the cleanest bathrooms and showers I have seen at a campground. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
We loved how clean and well kept this campground was. We stayed for two nights while visiting a friend. They offered great kids activities: pool, mini golf, crafts, etc. The bathrooms were very clean though a negative was the timed shower that operated like a bathroom sink where you push the button to get an allotted amount of water. Button was tough to push and only offered a minute or two of water--no temperature control either. The biggest issue we had with this campground was the total lack of shade; kind of like camping in a parking lot. During the July heat wave, this was very unpleasant and we felt like we couldn't possibly just hang out and enjoy our campsite. It was however a really lovely place and in the right weather or with a great awning on your RV it would be fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Display older reviews for Jellystone / Lake Monroe
Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$56



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   8   2   8   6   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$56
Close to Bloomington and IU campus for a visit. Nice setting with good walking/hiking trails and plenty of open space, very clean and sites had choice of gravel or concrete pads with an upcharge for concrete. All facilities were spotless and although the campground is mainly set up for seasonal owners/renters they went out of the way to make us feel welcome at an Oktoberfest party in the pavilion one night. Only downside is price is a little high for this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Nice park for families with plenty of activities for all. On the Labor Day weekend the full timers had a golf cart parade and tossed candy to the children. Fun and a nice touch. We had a corner paved lot with plenty of room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$46
Main campground area is clean and family oriented. Wi-Fi only half worked. I couldn't connect to most of the towers in range, but ultimately found one that worked. No cable TV makes this pretty pricey at $46 a night ($43 plus $3 more for our 3rd child). Three pools include a kiddy pool outside, what I'll call an “everyone pool” outside, and a smaller indoor pool. There's a well stocked camp store, and small game room. There's a mini golf on site, but don't expect much. It's pretty rough, but the addition of the new bounce pillow made it all fun with the kids regardless. Campground seems to take reservations of any sized coach, but doesn't, and hasn't, put much thought into getting them into a site. We admittedly stayed here in a large 5th wheel, but it was extremely painful to negotiate the 8' wide narrow drives with a tree or a rock at every corner of the park: only 3' off the drives. We dragged going down the drives. Add to that newly planted trees on either side of the site drives, and it's really tough even for small trailers to get in and out. We arrived after hours, and couldn't get in our assigned site. We ended up moving to another spot in the park without permission, and we were never questioned about it while here. You could probably stay here for free without them knowing. Someone clearly hasn't thought much about getting into and out of this place with a truck and a trailer. There's a back lot area for tenting. We checked it out, and there are several dumping areas for misc junk and building materials. I have no idea what that is about, except a good home for critters. While the kids had a good time, we probably will not go back. It's simply too much money for what it is, and way way too tight even for small rigs. Move the trees back off the road Lake Monroe! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Display older reviews for Lake Monroe Village
Camp Information
Sites
227
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   8   5   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Nice campground, but lots of traffic with all of the people pulling boats and campers. The restrooms are older, but were kept clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
Nice state park. Staff seems decent. Some sites wooded and some out in the open. You have your pick. No water at sites, but a few spigots here and there. Probably ought to be a few more so they aren't quite so far apart. Most roads were good; however, I was a little surprised with the main road running through the campground. There were a few craters that need to be addressed pretty bad. Bathrooms and showers were clean, but dated. Probably pretty active during the main season, but VERY quiet for our stay. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Stayed at site 174. Site was fairly clean, appeared to have been recently mowed. Quiet during week, but a little noisy on weekend. Did not mind as folks did not get unruly. Had very nice neighbors. Got rained on a couple different days, but we're in a drought, so rain is good. Watched the Perseid meteor shower with several people and the park Naturalist. Enjoyed our stay and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Paynetown State Recreation Area
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com