224108 User submitted reviews online!!
Nearby Bluffton, Indiana (Air Miles)
-Cities With RV Parks-
9.91 miles SE
19.49 miles NW
22.09 miles SW
23.10 miles SE
23.38 miles N
23.64 miles NW
25.44 miles NE
28.13 miles SW
-Other Nearby Points-
Super Wal-Mart
2100 N Main St
4.09 miles NW
Indiana
Bluffton
Most Recently Reviewed
Bluffton/Fort Wayne South KOA
Latest Review Submited On
2014-08-28 17:06:40
2 Park(s) Reviewed Near
Bluffton, Indiana
Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   8   10   10   10   10   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
We first stayed here two years ago when the owners were then relatively new. While it was nice then, we had hopes for continued improvement. It is still a nice campground but did not see much improvement and some back-sliding. We like shady sites and while there are a lot of trees they are not filled out so do not give as much shade as expected. The roads and sites are gravel with many large stones making them rough. We saw evidence of lack of daily maintenance. For example, broken water balloons on the sidewalk never swept up during our five-day stay, and the pool was somewhat dirty and litter filled. The Wi-Fi was slow with less than good connection even right at the office. On the plus side the bathrooms and showers were always very clean; the showers are some of the best we have ever experienced in a campground. The TV reception was adequate. The campground is quiet. On our last night there we had a rainstorm. While the campground is flat, some sites had a lot of water standing in them - including ours - and others not. We will likely use this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$32
This is a nice quiet park just on the outskirts of Bluffton. The roads and sites are gravel, reasonably level and many of the sites are nicely to very shaded. The sites are placed with lots of grassy space between. Each site has a picnic table and fire ring. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There are a couple of dog walks and a new fenced dog area will be ready for the 2015 season. The ATT and Verizon signals are very strong (5 bars), you can see the towers across the farm field. Even though the KOA flyer lists television stations, on our site, we could not pick up any channels due to the trees blocking signals. The park wifi is free, but slow and easily disconnects. There is NO cable TV at the park as some reviewers have indicated. The park workampers host a pancake breakfast every Sunday. Bluffton has all of the basics; groceries, hardware stores and restaurants. For big rigs, the directions on the park website are problematic. Do NOT follow the directions to use Wabash/Bond streets, but take IN 124 around town so as to approach the park on Lancaster St. from the west. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$39
Great campground slightly off the beaten path (I-69) but worth the extra miles. Very quiet park large pull through sites. Near small city with several locations to eat. Shaded sites with a lot of space between them. Activities on the weekends for children. We will use this park again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Display older reviews for Bluffton/Fort Wayne South KOA
Camp Information
Sites
124
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   8   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  no  yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
We enjoyed a long weekend at Ouabache. There had been some heavy rain lately and several of the sites had standing water or thick mud so chose carefully. That being said the campground was nice and restrooms cleaned daily. Lots of park activities including bison habitat and pool. There is an admission fee for the pool, but it has a fun water slide and diving boards. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$29
We stayed 3 nights at this campground on our latest trip and have stayed here once a year for the last 3 years. Overall of park is nice with the major drawbacks being the showerhouses. Campground patrolled very often by DNR and Sheriff. There were severe storms one night we stayed, and the DNR alerted all campers with the designated alarm (honking horn on truck as they drove through the campground per the posted guidelines at the shower house). They then went from site to site to verbally alert all occupants. The shower house was functional but the showers had a lot a mold and mildew on the walls, shower curtain and floor. The floor throughout the building looked like it had not been scrubbed in quite a while. They closed the bathrooms at 8 a.m. each morning (busiest time of the day) for about an hour for "cleaning" which seemed really just for restocking supplies. It costs $7 for an out-of-state car to enter the park in addition to the camping fees. The pool is nice but is an additional $2 per person. You are not permitted to take in any pool toys or flotation devices including arm floaties or swim vests. They now offer for sale large bundles of wood for $5 each at the campground. Ice is available for purchase at the campground entrance. New this year located at the swimming pool, is a camp store with limited supplies. The trails are nice and the kids enjoy seeing the bison. Most sites have a lot of shade by large trees. Campground A is paved but B has stone drives and pads. Sites are large and the playground in Area A is nice and centrally located. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We'd heard about Indiana's lakes and how nice they are, but Kunkel Lake at Ouabache State Park had nothing to recommend it. No swimming, filled with algae... ugh. We did rent some paddle boats with our kids, ages 8 and 6, and after a half hour, we were done. Our campsite (#16) was nice, as we camped on a dry weekend, but you could see where there was standing water on others. The pool was very nice, with a water slide. It was very hot the weekend we were there, so we didn't do much hiking, but did take a short walk to see the bison -- very cool. The best thing about the park: Large campsites and lots of playgrounds for the kids. The worst thing: Dirty bathrooms, no enforcement of quiet time, and the fact that you're charged for everything. On top of your camping fee, there is a per-car fee to enter the park and a $2 per-person fee for the pool. We camped here in a Tent.
Display older reviews for Ouabache State Park
Advertisement
RSS Feed
Visit Counter
RVParkReviews.com